We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern comfort in traditional Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #124 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Modern comfort in traditional Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here from 19 to 22 July 2011. I had room 212 - a 'superior' single room.

The hotel is in a traditional building which means space is at a premium - The proprietors have done a great job at fitting maximum facilities into the rooms (which are, quite frankly, tiny). Everything is modern, bright and new. Air conditioning is very good. Satellite TV. Mini fridge (with complimentary water/coke). No pool but there is an outdoor spa. FREE WIFI in the rooms - no passwords required.

Pros: Location is good - walking distance to Outram Park MTR, main area of Chinatown and the Duxton Hill restaurant precinct. Breakfast was good (eggs cooked to order). Staff were really pleasant and helpful.

Cons: Bathroom is mostly glass-walled - helps to open up the space but can be a bit off-putting... Limited floor space/storage.

Room Tip: Room 212 was much better configured than Room 213 (same type).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Services Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Warm hellos from the team at Hotel 1929!

Providing quality service to our guests is our utmost priority and we're glad you've enjoyed the amenities provided along with the convenience of the surrounding area. We ensure guest satisfaction and constantly check on their well-being during their stay with us. We hope to be of service to you once again but till then, safe travels!

Best Regards,
Teo Melissa Carey
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    257
    127
    39
    26
See reviews for
26
228
136
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Just one warning: in this hotel, it is not about room size. The rooms might be tiny but you don't spend a hole day in the room, right? For us, the size was not a problem, because the room was very clean, well equipped (TV, minibar with free water/coke/diet coke and cookies every day) and it is really nicely done, the colors are matching and the room had a great, modern style. We asked for a room with window when we made the booking and we got one.

The bed was very comfortable, the shower and the toilet are in one room, but they constructed the floor in a way that the toilet hardly gets wet if you shower.

The people at the reception - without exception - were very friendly and helpful, one of the receptionists even opened the door of the taxi for me. The breakfast was really good, they have a good choice and you can get eggs any style.

The location is excellent, it takes you around 5 minutes to walk to the next subway station. The only drawback is the relatively high price - but this is probably the same with every hotel in Singapore. If we visit Singapore again, we would definitely stay at this very charming, stylish hotel with its friendly staff. We recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DProbst_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Services Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Greetings from Hotel 1929!

We are please to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Housed in a conservations building, our rooms are indeed on the smaller side. However, we have ensured that they are configured in to accommodate all the basic & comfortable needs of our guests. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,
Teo Melissa Carey
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I feel a bit bad about having to write a critical review about this nice little hotel in the heart of Chinatown as there are a few absolute positives as well. First the positive: The staff in this hotel is warm and friendly and make you feel instantly at home. The lady at breakfast always remembered my breakfast preferences which is one of those nice little details that help make you feel at home (which is quite nice if you have to travel often for work). Furthermore, the hotel has some nice design features and overall the quality of the furniture is good. I liked the relatively modern design of the rooms. The bed was comfortable and the shower was nice. The shower however was virtually on top of the toilet which is more something one would expect in a youth hostel. The reason for this is that the rooms are absolutely tiny (superior rooms), so this is definitely not recommended for people that like big rooms. For me this is no problem and I actually even wished for a smaller room after the first night in a street-facing deluxe room (which were bigger, perhaps the size of a superior room in other hotels). I asked for the transfer though because the street facing rooms were incredibly noisy (room 209). It seems that the hotel only has single glazing (apart from the ancient outside shutters which give the building its colonial look and feel) which offers absolutely no noise isolation. I was able to overhear normal conversations out on the street and sat straight up in bed when the garbage collectors came by at 1am. Furthermore, you can hear music from karaoke bars down the street. As a business traveller this was not acceptable. The next day my secretary called the hotel and they were very forthcoming in finding a room at the back for me, so once again the service here is impeccable.
It would be a great little boutique hotel suitable for business travelers if they can sort out the lack of soundproofing in the rooms. 4 stars if not for the noise...

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starfield11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Warm greetings from Hotel 1929.

The team here at Hotel 1929 values your feedback and we're disappointed that your stay did not live up to expectations. Our guests' comfort is of utmost priority.

Housed in a conservations building, space is indeed a constraint and the rooms are pretty compact. Being in the Chinatown district, the streets too can be a little bustling at night. We would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane. Alternatively, we also do have another sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel on the next street and a quieter edge of Chinatown, which might provide a more viable option for your future stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future so we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

The rooms are incredibly small but this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Greetings from Hotel 1929! Thank you for dropping us a quick note. Although small, our rooms have been designed to accommodate the basic, modern neccesities found in a room. Alternatively, we do have 2 other sister properties, New Majestic Hotel which is just one street away and with bigger rooms,a gym and outdoor pool as well as Wanderlust Hotel located in Little India.

We hope to welcome you back so we may be of service to you once again.

regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is a great little hotel. Very conveneint to Chinatown and close to 2 MRT stations. I stayed for 7 nights and found the rooms cozy, well appointed, very clean and quiet. They are small, but this is Asia - if you want a large room you should holiday in USA! Staff were very freindly and helpful. English-style breakfast was a good start to the day. No hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends. Will definitely visit Singapore & this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear PaulTas, warm hellos from Hotel 1929! Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. The staff is pleased that you had a marvellous stay and they will always strive to excel and to ensure guests' satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so we can be of service to you once again.

Sincerely
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

One of the tiniest rooms we stayed in during our trip through Asia. But nevertheless one of the best experiences. Very clean and contemporary furnishings. This is what I call a boutique hotel. The balcony was small, but could fit two chairs, so we could even enjoy some sun there. Friendly staff, tasty breakfast. Good location, about a 10 minute walk from the nearest subway station. We'd go back anytime.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TT-Tripz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Warm greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your kind feedback. As the hotel is housed within a conservation shophouse, we do admit that the rooms are very compact. However, we have worked the space to the best of our ability, ensuring that all modern conveniences are met.

Perhaps on your next stay, you would like to check out our sister hotel, the New Majestic Hotel on the next street. With bigger rooms, a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities combined with the same modern design and architecture, we believe you might enjoy it more. Meanwhile, we wish you safe travels and hope to see you again soon.

Cheers!
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We arrived from Borneo having just climbed mt Kinabalu and on seeing the tiny standard room, decided to upgrade to the suite. It was a great, airy room with an outside bath, nespresso machine, wifi etc.

The breakfast was adequate and the two ladies that worked on reception in the afternoons were very charming. The only bad point was that the lift was broken for the first couple of days, meaning we had to carry our bags to the 4th fllo - not great with aching legs!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismema09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkwithwah, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Warm Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your compliments. We’re glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Our rooms are a tad on the smaller side as it is housed in a conservations building. However, making your stay comfortable is our utmost priority.

We duely apologise for the broken lift during the first few days you were there. We conduct regular maintenance checks to ensure that it is in working order. When this happens, our staff will be more than happy to assist you with the luggages to your room. Nontheless, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a better, greater experience.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#98 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#108 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Hotel Kai
#119 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Property: Hotel 1929
Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing