We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
132
284
139
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
284
139
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeong saik roadoutram parkhindu templesingle roomrooms are smallwet roomshop houseschinatown areacouple of nightsenjoyed my stayfantastic locationmrt stationhawkersmartphonemidnightminibaraustralia
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Hotels in Singapore are expensive and although we knew the rooms at 1929 would be small we felt that the price reflected that. I must say our room was a little smaller than we imagined but it was only for 3 nights and with careful placing of our suitcases we coped. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The toilet in the shower also worked better than you might imagine too. As mentioned by other reviewers, the air-conditioning is very noisy but was definitely very efficient.
Check-in was really quick and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was provided and was fairly basic but did the job. The lady in charge was excellent and has a fantastic memory. She very kindly provided us with a breakfast box for our last day when we had to leave before the restaurant opened.
Loved the location of the hotel, plenty of restaurants to walk to and near the transport system.
The patio area is pleasantly furnished but noisy( from the a/c unit I think). Try the complimentary ice cream...I recommend the jack-fruit variety.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ju-ju60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear ju-ju60,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are glad to hear that we were able to provide for all your needs during your time in Singapore.
We hope that we will be able to be of service to you again soon!

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights at a special rate they were offering while the hotel undergoes renovation.

The hotel is charming, and the staff courteous, always greeting me by name when I arrived back; and were gracious enough to allow me to shower ahead of my evening flight. Yes the room was small, but the space is used well, bedding is comfortable, and the wet room concept and sharing of shower/toilet, wasn't a problem. No problems with noisy a/c when I was there.

Location if good with two MRT stations within walking distance, as well as the attractions and restaurants of ChinaTown.

I can't comment on breakfast as it was not being offered during the renovation.

If you hate nondescript skyscraper hotels, and prefer to stay somewhere with character in Sinagpore at a reasonable price, then I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the steeet side may be prone to noise from the adjacent Hindu temple, but they have better views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambus36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Cambus36,

Warm greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your generous recommendation.

We are truly pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us, and that the team were ever welcoming and were always on-hand to help you. We look forward to having you with us again!

Until then, take care and safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The hotel itself was nice. The room was smaller than I expected, but the price reflected the room. It was a last minute reservation and Hotel 1929 was the cheapest place that had decent accommodations. Everything was clean, and the bed was comfy; however, it is right next to a Hindu temple and they bang these drums or something and play these horns way early in the morning which i wasnt too fond of.
Like I said, good value, clean room, not the best location right next to that temple, but an easy walk to many of the nice Chinatown restaurants

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Michael A,

Hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We recognise that the neighbourhood can be rather lively, so we would be happy to offer and assist with a room change, should we have back-facing rooms available. That said, we are happy to note that you did enjoy the hotel overall and that you thought that the rooms were clean and of good value.

We hope to have you again when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Me & my husband was planning to stay for 2 nights initially for a weekend getaway but it turned out to be so disappointing and we had to shorten our stay to 1 night only.

We read reviews at Tripadvisor before making reservation and were fully aware that some people felt the size of the rooms was an issue. Actually it was fine with us even though we were a bit surprised when we saw the basin was just next to the bed. But we like the hotel's ambiance so the small room was not an issue to us. However, we did not expect air con would be an issue instead. The wind blowing noise from air con was so loud and accompanied with water dripping noise through out the night so that we couldn't sleep well at all!

We called reception the next day to report this issue to them and wanted to get a room change actually but she only said she would send room attendant to check on it. After checking, housekeeping mentioned she needs to get outside contractor to fix the problem. Didn't want to go thru all these troubles, my husband went down to check with receptionist if we can get a room change but was rejected. When my husband was telling her the wind blowing sound from air con was too loud, she just simply replied: "but that was normal" with no apology giving. On top of that the reason she rejected our request was only because "keys were all prepared" even though arriving guests were not physically checked in yet.

To us it was ridiculous, why should we bare with the issue just because your receptionist was too lazy to prepare another set of keys after the room change? It's actually not that difficult to arrange a simple room change right?
We then decided to shorten our stay and booked with Naumi Liora just opposite and the service there was great! And we had a good night sleep.

Honestly speaking, we understand Hotel 1929 is currently under renovation and inconvenience was expected. We were happy to book under their renovation promo at reasonable rate. But price is not an issue to us. Moreover, we did not pay to get ourselves tortured there. The staff was lack of flexibility and left us such a bad impression. Too bad it's actually a lovely hotel itself with nice location but we don't think we will be choosing it again unless the air con issue is solved.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicornlady0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear unicornlady0519,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Upon receiving your feedback about the noise coming from the air-conditioning unit, we consulted with our contractor about the issue. It was advised to us that the noise emitted by the air-con in your room is typical of its model and make. That said, we will definitely look into ways to minimise the noise given off by the unit. We apologize that the noise issue adversely affected your sleep.

As we were undergoing renovations during your stay, many of our rooms were blocked off. The limited inventory of rooms, coupled with the fact that all other available rooms were already reserved, meant that we were unable to make a room change for you. We truly regret this unfortunate situation, and also that this information was not communicated clearly to you.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that the issue has been rectified. We hope that you will not let this experience mar your impression of the hotel, and we also hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service to you again.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

So I stayed here almost 5 weeks over March and the staff at the hotel were brilliant and really got to know me. Nothing was too much trouble. I started in a single room which is pretty compact - I am 6'4" but you have everything you need and catered to a really high standard. Its sister hotel the Majestic is not too far away and well worth a visit to the gym facilities. Breakfast was a nod to both continental and the full english. The hotel has a lot of style and is very close to maxwell food court and other chinatown eateries. When my girlfriend arrived we moved into a double room, again compact however its not a hotel you want to spend the day in more a place to land.

Room Tip: There is a temple near by that will provide a wake up call - if you want a long lie in check where you are in relationship to the temple - Get a photograph it is incredible - The corner rooms have more space
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyduck240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Luckyduck240,

Warm hellos from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are so pleased to hear that the team was nothing but wonderful to you during your long stay with us, and that you thought that the rooms were well-provided. We hope to further impress you when you next return.

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews