We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
132
284
139
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
284
139
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeong saik roadoutram parkhindu templesingle roomrooms are smallwet roomshop houseschinatown areacouple of nightsenjoyed my stayfantastic locationmrt stationhawkersmartphonemidnightminibaraustralia
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were very much looking forward to saying at Hotel 1929, but were disappointed unfortunately. The room was far too small. The bathroom was a disgrace because the wc was not at all private. This meant one of us had to leave the room when the other needed to do a 'number two'! Breakfast was very basic. Service was friendly but a little short of the mark (ie no going that extra mile). Value for money poor. However, the free cold wayer and soft srinks in reception is a very nice touch. And the location in Kreta Ayer is a wonderful base for seeing Singapore and sampling delightful cuisine and night life and the hotel is right in the middle of this. I could help feeling the Naumi Liora hotel opposite 1929 would have been a better option. Sorry!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicetravels34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Nicetravels34,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Housed in a conservation building, space is indeed a constraint. Perhaps you may like to try our sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, which is just on the next street, instead. With bigger rooms and more facilities, you may find it more to your liking.

We strive to achieve service excellence, so it was concerning to hear that service fell short of going the extra mile. We have passed your feedback on to the relevant department. Rest assured that the issue will be addressed and rectified.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to impress you with our commitment to improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel in a "Junior Suite". The room has about 15 m2. That's the smallest hotel room I ever had. But how small are the standard rooms?? Over 200 Singapore dollars is definitely too much for the space and the quality.
A boutique hotel is something else. The rooms are clean, but not charming at all. No view and a lot of noise from the neighbourhood during the night. Staff is friendly, but not really helpful. They dont know the area. Restaurant hints, buses to go downtown, going-out hints - no clue.
Spent 100 dollars more and to to a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take the Junior Suite. I has a bathtub on top. But for what? It just reduces the amout of space.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pascal-tavernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear pascal-tavernier,

Hellos from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Housed in a conservation building, we admit that space is a constraint in our rooms. Perhaps you may like to give our sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, a try when you are next in Singapore. With bigger rooms and more facilities, you may find it more to your liking.

We also regret to hear that you encountered some issues with the service. Rest assured that your feedback will be addressed to the relevant department. Perhaps next time, we can get you in touch with our Guest Ambassador, who will be more than happy to organize a personalized Singapore itinerary for you.

We sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Singapore.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of the busy and buzzing Keong Saik road, surrounded by trendy restaurants and bars. This makes the sleeping hard without ear plugs on a weekend! The rooms are small, yes ... But that's pretty standard in boutique hotels in former shop houses. The 1929 is great value for money, the rooms are clean and the staff friendly, breakfast pretty good and the wifi is free. It's perfect for a quick stop over. Much like the other two Unlisted Collection hotel, is a good find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDivingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear TheDivingFoodie,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

It’s great to hear that you have stayed in all our Singapore hotels, and that you enjoyed yourself thoroughly in all of them.

With so many great restaurants and bars just a stone’s throw from the hotel, the streets can be bustling with life in the evenings. Should there be availability, we would be happy to offer and assist with a room move to a quieter room in the back of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back when you next return to Singapore!
In the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in a situation where a quick response was required. Although the rooms were a little small, they were clean and had everything that I required for an overnight stay and more importantly, the excellent, personalised service means that Hotel 1929 would be my first choice on my next trip to Singapore.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Fiona_Stuart,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for the kind compliments.

We are extremely pleased to hear that we were able to provide for all your needs during your short stay in Singapore. We certainly look forward to having you with us again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This little hotel is well located, near to Chinatown with night clubs close enough by to access on foot but not so close as to impact on a good night's sleep.

The drawcard with this hotel is the funky retro theme of the place, that will probably appeal more to younger travelers than older ones.

The room was beautifullly presented as per the photos on the web, but as might be expected in Singapore, space was at a premium. The room I booked was a single as I was travelling alone. The glass bathroom was almost designed as centrepiece of the room and I would imagine (and hope) that bathrooms in twin and double rooms offer somewhat more privacy.

The original window slats are still on the windows, but touch with caution as they seem rather fragile.

The Hindu temple opposite woke me up fairly early with rather boisterous music but I understand that my visit overlapped with the Deepavali festival, so that's just how it goes. I doubt it would regularly be an issue.

The hotel staff were some of the friendliest and most helpful Singaporeans I have met, and I have several Singaporean friends!

I do think that the room rates are a little steep compared to some of the other options in the neighbourhood.

Overall, this is a well run establishment and offers something a little different and unique for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asia_short_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear asia_short_tripper,

Hellos from the Hotel 1929 team!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

Housed in a conservation building, space is indeed quite a constraint. We are glad that you had a great stay with us nonetheless, and that you enjoyed the quaintness of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews