We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're not kidding when they said the rooms were small”
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #132 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews and knew the rooms were small. But I never expected that they were going to be this small. All other reviews are absolutely correct about the rooms.

Overall, it's been a very pleasant experience. The rooms are quite clean, the breakfast has a decent spread and the service is great.

The location is excellent!! This is the best part of this hotel

You can't go wrong with this place for the price

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelfinAndOso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Travelling_Princess8,

Hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for the positive review.

With space very much a constraint in a conservation building, we do admit that the rooms are rather petite. We are happy that you had an overall good experience staying with us, and we certainly hope to have you back when you are next in town.

Until next time, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Can't really complain much for its tiny little set up but was a pleasant stay at this little boutique hotel transformed from an old building in Singapore. The traditional elements are the key to attract me from other typical 4 stars hotel priced at the same range. Walking distance to some old places adds a value for the stay. Not a bad choice at all if you want to try beyond regular.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear ahsang,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Hotel 1929 is most definitely not your conventional hotel; housed in a conservation shophouse, the rooms, whilst fitted with modern fixtures, are reminiscent of a historic Singapore. We are pleased to hear of your appreciation for our unique rooms and of the hotel’s central location.

We hope to have you back when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is a renovated building of former shops built in 1929. The neighbourhood is comprised of other such attractive renovations. The rooms are small bit quirky and stylish. We had room 405 which had a large private outdoor terrace with outdoor furniture, an old fashioned bath and a wonderful shower., which we used each day. There are many free perks included: a good breakfast, chilled juice and soft drinks, bottled water, biscuits, Nespresso machine in room with plenty of pods. Nothing was a problem to the staff, they were friendly and helpful. Omar in particular was great fun and personality plus. The locality is fantastic, in terms of underground, proximity to markets, restaurants etc. everything was spotlessly clean. One mark off only for the size of the rooms. If you are looking for stylish character, this is your place. Don't leave without having dinner at Embers, the adjoining restaurant. The sea bass is fantastic.

Room Tip: Splash out on a suite with a roof terrace. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear clairstrong,

Greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the design of the rooms and the amenities that were provided. We strive for all our guests to have a good time at the hotel, and it is truly fantastic to hear that Umar and the team contributed largely to your memorable stay at Hotel 1929.

We look forward to having you with us again when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights en route to Indonesia. I personally enjoy boutique hotels and the 1929 was no exception. On a street of row houses in Chinatown, it definitely had charm. The location was a great base to explore the entire city and the were plenty of things to do, as well as the Maxwell hawker center (Singapore style food court) within a few blocks walk. Our room was modern and stylish although small, for which we were prepared. If you're traveling with someone you don't know very well, this might not be the best option. Extra perks were the free cold water and the hot breakfast included in the rate. The staff was super nice and accommodating. I would definitely return here, as we'll as try their other properties.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lulubiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Lulubiscuit,

Hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time staying with us and that you especially loved the hotel’s central location. We are also happy to note that you appreciated the complimentary drinks that were provided and that the team were helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Hotel 1929, part of the Unlisted Collection group, is an adorable and affordable boutique hotel on a centrally-located street near Chinatown. I joined by husband on a last-minute business trip and booked a "deluxe" room with Hotel 1929. Great if you're on a budget, not so great if you're on a business trip and sharing a room. The room was much smaller than I had expected and it faced Keong Saik Road, so it was quite noisy. I contacted the reservations office after the first night who worked with me and were able to book me a room in their sister hotel, New Majestic, which is basically around the corner. I paid the difference but no cancelation fee. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Rachelle L,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your kind comments.

With so many restaurants found along Keong Saik Road, we recognize that the streets can be bustling with activities at times. We are happy that we were able to accord and assist you with a room move to a quiet room in New Majestic Hotel. We are also pleased to note that the team were helpful in easing your move over to our sister hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotels soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were very much looking forward to saying at Hotel 1929, but were disappointed unfortunately. The room was far too small. The bathroom was a disgrace because the wc was not at all private. This meant one of us had to leave the room when the other needed to do a 'number two'! Breakfast was very basic. Service was friendly but a little short of the mark (ie no going that extra mile). Value for money poor. However, the free cold wayer and soft srinks in reception is a very nice touch. And the location in Kreta Ayer is a wonderful base for seeing Singapore and sampling delightful cuisine and night life and the hotel is right in the middle of this. I could help feeling the Naumi Liora hotel opposite 1929 would have been a better option. Sorry!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicetravels34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Nicetravels34,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Housed in a conservation building, space is indeed a constraint. Perhaps you may like to try our sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, which is just on the next street, instead. With bigger rooms and more facilities, you may find it more to your liking.

We strive to achieve service excellence, so it was concerning to hear that service fell short of going the extra mile. We have passed your feedback on to the relevant department. Rest assured that the issue will be addressed and rectified.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to impress you with our commitment to improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel in a "Junior Suite". The room has about 15 m2. That's the smallest hotel room I ever had. But how small are the standard rooms?? Over 200 Singapore dollars is definitely too much for the space and the quality.
A boutique hotel is something else. The rooms are clean, but not charming at all. No view and a lot of noise from the neighbourhood during the night. Staff is friendly, but not really helpful. They dont know the area. Restaurant hints, buses to go downtown, going-out hints - no clue.
Spent 100 dollars more and to to a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take the Junior Suite. I has a bathtub on top. But for what? It just reduces the amout of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pascal-tavernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear pascal-tavernier,

Hellos from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. Housed in a conservation building, we admit that space is a constraint in our rooms. Perhaps you may like to give our sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, a try when you are next in Singapore. With bigger rooms and more facilities, you may find it more to your liking.

We also regret to hear that you encountered some issues with the service. Rest assured that your feedback will be addressed to the relevant department. Perhaps next time, we can get you in touch with our Guest Ambassador, who will be more than happy to organize a personalized Singapore itinerary for you.

We sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Singapore.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#104 of 319 in Singapore
986 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#135 of 319 in Singapore
99 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#95 of 319 in Singapore
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#138 of 319 in Singapore
271 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#284 of 319 in Singapore
209 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing