We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, small room, just enough for 2 with 1 small suitecase”
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #127 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location, small room, just enough for 2 with 1 small suitecase”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spend a weekend in Singapore for our 1st wedding anniversary, I picked this hotel because I like the look of the building. It's kind of a Shanghainese mixed European style kind of building (turns out a lot of places look like that in Singapore), and I like this name Hotel 1929 proven that it got its history.

The hotel is located at Keong Saik Street, 5mins walk to Outram Park station ( MRT / subway) and 10-15mins to China Town station (both are Purple line) . It's on the same line with Harbourfront station, which is the station for you to go to Sentosa.

There's a street restaurant "Da Pai Dong" only few steps away from the hotel. I recommend you to have breakfast there instead in the hotel (although they do have breakfast provided in the hotel). The breakfast at the hotel is disappointing, it got basic food such as cereal, fruits and bacon, beans, eggs, bread etc. but I would not recommend the breakfast there as there are other exciting food around the area.

Our room (Superior double) is located at 3rd floor, it got 1 elevator in the hotel (at least you don't have to walk up). The toilet is in the shower room (so the toilet gets wet when you shower) The bathroom is tiny, if you have a bigger body shape , I do not recommend you to book the Superior room, you won't have enough space to turn around in the shower. They use small electric water heater, so don't keep the hot water running or else you could only wash off the shampoo in cold water.

If you have large suitcase , I do not recommend Superior room as well , luckily we only had a small one (Cabin size) , otherwise we don't know where to put our stuff.

Staff there are extremely friendly , they are kind and helpful. The place is tidy and clean and stylish. Although I like the hotel but I will try other hotels next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay6_travela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Kay6_travela,

Hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are pleased to have had you stay with us, and are happy that you had an enjoyable stay. Being in a conservation shophouse does have its constraints; mainly that space in the rooms can be rather tight. Perhaps the next time you are in town, you may like to try our sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, which is just on the next street. With bigger rooms and more facilities, we think that you may find the hotel more to your liking.

The team appreciates your compliments about their service commitment, and we are also glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location.

We hope to be of service to you again when you are back in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    259
    127
    40
    26
See reviews for
27
230
136
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights in May. Beautifully restored building right in the middle of Chinatown.
Cool quirky room with fantastic roof terrace & outside shower/bath! Ideal base for sightseeing.

It was great to be able to sit out on our terrace & experience the sounds & smells of Chinatown both night & day!

Staff were friendly & helpful & the hotel was beautifully clean & very trendy! Real boutique hotel.

We really enjoyed staying here as it had so much character & of course history - lovely change from some of the shiny, modern sky scraper hotels.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the room with the roof terrace - amazing & good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenGary891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear KarenGary891,

Greetings from the Hotel 1929 team!
Thank you for the fantastic review!

Housed in a conservation shophouse, the rooms do possess quite a bit of character. We are truly pleased to hear of your appreciation of the historic feel of our hotel, and that you had a blast staying in our Terrace Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was attending a conference at Nanyang Technological University but I wanted to be in the city and stay a few extra days. This hotel came up with a good location and price, so I recommended it to couple of colleagues, who also stayed there. The location is perfect - close to two MRT stations (Chinatown and Outram Park) and walkable to Chinatown and Clarke Quay (also City Hall if you don't mind a longer walk). It's also right around the corner from the most popular gay bars and club. The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful, the breakfast is very good and the rooms are well-appointed, if somewhat cramped (the only downside) - if you don't mind that, I highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Keong Saik Road - my colleague told me it gets a bit noisy at night sometim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seumas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Seumas66,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are pleased that you had a great time staying with us, and that we were able to provide for all your needs during your stay. It’s also good to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location; Keong Saik is indeed brimming with life from the many exciting shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Thank you for the recommendation, and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews and knew the rooms were small. But I never expected that they were going to be this small. All other reviews are absolutely correct about the rooms.

Overall, it's been a very pleasant experience. The rooms are quite clean, the breakfast has a decent spread and the service is great.

The location is excellent!! This is the best part of this hotel

You can't go wrong with this place for the price

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelfinAndOso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Travelling_Princess8,

Hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for the positive review.

With space very much a constraint in a conservation building, we do admit that the rooms are rather petite. We are happy that you had an overall good experience staying with us, and we certainly hope to have you back when you are next in town.

Until next time, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Can't really complain much for its tiny little set up but was a pleasant stay at this little boutique hotel transformed from an old building in Singapore. The traditional elements are the key to attract me from other typical 4 stars hotel priced at the same range. Walking distance to some old places adds a value for the stay. Not a bad choice at all if you want to try beyond regular.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear ahsang,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Hotel 1929 is most definitely not your conventional hotel; housed in a conservation shophouse, the rooms, whilst fitted with modern fixtures, are reminiscent of a historic Singapore. We are pleased to hear of your appreciation for our unique rooms and of the hotel’s central location.

We hope to have you back when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is a renovated building of former shops built in 1929. The neighbourhood is comprised of other such attractive renovations. The rooms are small bit quirky and stylish. We had room 405 which had a large private outdoor terrace with outdoor furniture, an old fashioned bath and a wonderful shower., which we used each day. There are many free perks included: a good breakfast, chilled juice and soft drinks, bottled water, biscuits, Nespresso machine in room with plenty of pods. Nothing was a problem to the staff, they were friendly and helpful. Omar in particular was great fun and personality plus. The locality is fantastic, in terms of underground, proximity to markets, restaurants etc. everything was spotlessly clean. One mark off only for the size of the rooms. If you are looking for stylish character, this is your place. Don't leave without having dinner at Embers, the adjoining restaurant. The sea bass is fantastic.

Room Tip: Splash out on a suite with a roof terrace. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear clairstrong,

Greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the design of the rooms and the amenities that were provided. We strive for all our guests to have a good time at the hotel, and it is truly fantastic to hear that Umar and the team contributed largely to your memorable stay at Hotel 1929.

We look forward to having you with us again when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights en route to Indonesia. I personally enjoy boutique hotels and the 1929 was no exception. On a street of row houses in Chinatown, it definitely had charm. The location was a great base to explore the entire city and the were plenty of things to do, as well as the Maxwell hawker center (Singapore style food court) within a few blocks walk. Our room was modern and stylish although small, for which we were prepared. If you're traveling with someone you don't know very well, this might not be the best option. Extra perks were the free cold water and the hot breakfast included in the rate. The staff was super nice and accommodating. I would definitely return here, as we'll as try their other properties.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lulubiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Lulubiscuit,

Hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time staying with us and that you especially loved the hotel’s central location. We are also happy to note that you appreciated the complimentary drinks that were provided and that the team were helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#104 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#111 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Hotel YAN
#56 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Hotel Kai
#114 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Property: Hotel 1929
Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing