We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
132
284
139
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
284
139
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeong saik roadoutram parkhindu templesingle roomrooms are smallwet roomshop houseschinatown areacouple of nightsbars and restaurantsenjoyed my stayfantastic locationmrt stationhawkersmartphonemidnightminibar
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is very close to the metro station, so it very easy to use the public transport. It is nice and clean, but the rooms are very small (i think it is very common in almost all the hotels in singapore). It is ok, if you are alone in a double room, but if you are in 2 there is really no space, specially if you are colleagues on a busienss trip. Not to mention that the "bathroom" is a glass cabin, so from the bed you can see someone sitting on the toilet. Definetly not recommended for romantic trips.
I was alone in a double room and it was good enough and big enough for me, the only problem was that my window looked on the back of the building where are all the air condition motors so it was very noisy. The wellness center was closed for renovation (april 2012), i hope they have opened it by now.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EvaP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear EvaP333,

Hellos from the Hotel 1929 team!
Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Housed in a conservation shophouse, we recognize that some of our rooms can be rather compact. Perhaps next time, you may like to try our sister property, New Majestic Hotel, which is just one street over. Offering bigger rooms and more facilities, we reckon that you may find it better suited to your preference.

Hotel 1929 underwent a refurbishment earlier this year, and whilst we do not have a wellness centre, we have a lovely patio area for our guests’ enjoyment. We hope to impress you with the changes we have made, and we look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was my 3rd stay at the Hotel 1929.There had been some improvements since my last visit.They now provide water, soft drink and a few snacks in the reception area and these are complimentary.The room corridors have been carpeted and this has reduced the foot traffic noise.
The service is still of a high standard from the reception staff through to housekeeping.
Keep up the good work and I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room non road side if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stretford79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear stretford79,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your generous support and splendid compliments!

We are thrilled to have had you stay with us yet again, and we are simply delighted to hear that you were impressed with the team’s commitment to service excellence. The hotel underwent refurbishment earlier this year, and we are glad that you appreciated the changes that were made.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. And we loved it. The staff is very good. Also, we liked little treats like free soft drinks and busquits were avalible. Rooms have got everything what you expecting to have and breakfast was good too. Nice place in cool location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Luda K,

Warm greetings from the team at Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your brilliant feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that your recent stay with us was nothing less than perfect. It’s great to note that you loved the complimentary treats and drinks that are provided, and that you especially appreciated the hotel’s central location.

We hope to welcome you back when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed there only one night, but the hotel itself and the staff made a very good impression.
The front desk consierge is probably the most helpful person in the city;)
Food at the hotel restaurant also quite tasty, but great food is a singapore standard. kopi and kaya tost for breakfast makes the day start smoothly.

will definately stay there when we come back to singapore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KonradMuzykiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear KonradMuzykiewicz,

Warm hellos from Hotel 1929!
Thank you for your fantastic review.

We are delighted to hear that you had an awesome short stay with us, and that you were impressed with the team’s welcoming and amiable disposition. We look forward to being of service to you again soon! Till we meet again, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for one night and expected small room, so no surprise here. We do like the hotel design, overall room layout and efficient front desk. The bed is surprisingly comfortable, though the room might need better sound proofing to minimize noise from the street (had no effect on us, but might be an issue for some). Location is also perfect close to MRT (purple line, which is rather nice than the always crowded green line) while taxi is almost always easy to find. We did not try the food at the hotel as there are so many nice restaurants/ food stalls around the corner.

Room Tip: Always get room with window
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Olie92,

Hellos from the Hotel 1929 team!
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are happy that you had a fantastic stay with us, and that you found the hotel’s central location convenient for your travels about Singapore. We hope to have you with us again when you are next in town!

Until then, take care and safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews