We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, big heart!”
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #130 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights here travelling from Australia to the UK with 2 suitcases and 4 large bags. The rooms are small (as we had seen on the website before we booked) but we had no problems with all our bags. We had a great stay! The staff were absolutely brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is in a good location less than 5 mins walk from outram station and also has nice bars and restaurants right outside the door! I also loved that we were able to help ourselves to juice and water from the fridge in reception (free of charge!),when does this ever happen in a hotel?!! Also the housekeeping was done to a very high standard and the housekeepers we're lovely and friendly. Breakfast was also good, catering for different nationalities with a good range of food. My only bad points although pretty minor, the combined shower & toilet was slightly annoying when you had to get your feet/shoes wet nipping to the loo. And also the temple across the road woke me up at 7am-ish one morning as they were playing loud music! However for us these we're both minor details in a 3 night stay. 1929 is a quirky hotel full of character. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Lucy S,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review of your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure that all our guests have a fantastic time at Hotel 1929 and we are truly pleased to hear that your stay was no exception. I am sure that our team of staff will be equally thrilled by your compliments for them.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you faced with the noise in the morning, and we hope to welcome you again. Do swing by our sister properties New Majestic Hotel which is just within the Hotel 1929 vicinity or Wanderlust Hotel in Little India when you're back!

Keep well and safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very good and nice people. The people where very friendly, breaksfast was also very good. Nearby the subway and China Town. Rooms where clean and every day fresh towels.
They have also humor and laughs


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Gine L,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we are glad that you found our staff friendly and liked our central location.

Keep well and hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you want to explore Singapore the location is perfect - situated between Chinatown and Outram Park just off a main road. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The free wifi had excellent reception. Free soft drinks from the fridge in the lobby 24/7. The downside, as most people have mentioned, was the room size. I booked a superior double for myself alone which was just about adequate but even then the shower was combined with the toilet. I suppose it was good for multi-tasking but not a feature I liked. This does seem to be a common feature in Singapore however where room sizes in general are much smaller than EU standards.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 206 which had a balcony overlooking Keong Saik Road and a double bed which was adeq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Baz_c

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we are glad to head that despite the compact rooms, we were able to provide you with an exemplary service!

Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could have you try New Majestic Hotel, our sister property, located within the vicinity. With bigger rooms, a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities, we reckon you might enjoy it more.

Till then, safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked a "double deluxe" room with "mini fridge" and complimentary beverages from the fridge. The fridge turned out to be the one at reception where coke,fruit juice and water were the beverages. As usual, the double deluxe was a typical Singapore dogbox with one side of our bed against a wall ! The bathroom was ok except after a shower the water drains to an outlet behind the toilet resulting in a puddle in the front of the toilet, depending on what you were wearing you may need to disrobe before using the toilet ! Breakfast was included in the deal and was again minimal, better to walk up the street & try the local food. Very average SE Asian hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1crowbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear 1crowbait,

Warm greetings at Hotel 1929.

Thank you for sharing a review here with us at Tripadvisor. As with things Singapore, we make full use of the limited space that we have ;)

We recognise that our rooms are compact but we hope we made it up by providing you with a spotlessly clean room, good location to start your adventure and a complimentary snacks corner with unlimited supply of traditional snacks and softdrinks.

Nevertheless, thank you for staying with us and we hope you had a lovely time exploring Singapore and South East Asia!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was tiny. There's no getting around that. But the room was incredibly well utilised! For such a small space there was a bed, television, alarm clock, desk, chair, sink, shower, toilet and even an ipod dock - not bad really. And there was a window also, which for budget stays in Singapore is pretty good!
The front desk staff were really lovely and friendly and the drinks at reception are free from the fridge. The breakfast was also very nice and plenty to choose from. My only bug would be that the hallways needed a spruce up and it would have been nice if the roof terrace was open later, but overall it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Go to Outram Park station, not Chinatown - it is just around the corner from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstridMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear AstridMagnolia,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

It is heartening to hear that you appreciate our rooms and the amenities. The front desk team is very delighted to know that they were able to provide you with a memorable service. While we may have our constraints in the area of space, we strive to make it up by providing an impeccable service. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the complimentary snacks corner at the lobby.

Do come back and stay with us again soon or check out our London properties namely One Leicester Street , Town Hall Hotel and 196 Bishopsgate!

Safe travels!


Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel 1929 was a big let-down. I have never stayed in such a tiny hotel room ! The bed was jammed up against the side wall, with the airconditioning streaming down from the end of the bed, so had to switch ends and then had the motor cutting in and out at my head. There was around a metre between the shower and loo, and as they were in the same small area meant that the toilet roll, toilet seat and floor stayed wet after showering ! I was aware that it was going to be small, but I figured .. hey, there's nice lounging areas and I could go there. One was outside in the heat and sunny, the other beside reception and felt like a shop window looking onto the street. The 'special' offered was ++ taxes and charges. Very disappointed ..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fern55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Fern55,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience in our hotel and please accept our sincere apologies for a less than a satisfactory stay with us. Being in the business of providing guests with memorable experiences, we are very concerned that we did not meet your expectations. Space is indeed a constraint and as such every space is fully utilised which can be reflected in the configuration of the rooms.

Our pricing is based on competitive hotels in the city and we stay relevant at all times to ensure our guests have a consistent comparative. The room prices in our hotel website are before the taxes and there is a statement below the prices that it excludes the taxes and fees. Third party booking websites may have their own pricing mechanics. Perhaps, you can book through our hotel website directly and as we have direct control of our inventory and prices.

Having said that, we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again to make up for your disappointing stay. Perhaps you could try our sister hotels New Majestic & Wanderlust if your travels bring you back to Singapore again.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback.

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The room was comfortable,except for it's size. Meaning no room to store luggage. The shower & toilet shared the same small/tiny room. Of course there was no room for a small refrigiratner. There wasn't even an adiquide way to hang a wet towel. The front desk was friendly & helpful. The breakfast was a little above average. There is a Metro station a short walking distance away. Best of all is the good restaurants in the neighborhood.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank mthoodlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear mthoodlarry,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you very much for choosing us in accommodating you during your stay in Singapore and for taking time to write this review. Being housed in a conservation building, space is very much a constraint hence our rooms are designed in such a way that space is fully utilised. Having said that, we are very happy to know that our staff were able to provide you with a service worth your mention. We have taken note with regards to the breakfast and the relevant department are looking into it.

If space is a factor for you, perhaps you could try our sister property; New Majestic Hotel located just one street away from Hotel 1929.

We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#103 of 317 in Singapore
905 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 317 in Singapore
1,578 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#128 of 317 in Singapore
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#89 of 317 in Singapore
684 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Hotel YAN
#52 of 317 in Singapore
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £76 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing