We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #128 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Located in Chinatown and <10 min walk from the metro station, we found this hotel to be a wonderful value. The room we stay in was small, but this was not a big deal, since we spent most of our waking time exploring the city. Anyway, space is tight in Singapore, and the room size was not unexpected.

The staff was very friendly, courteous, and helpful.

The breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear DDante,

Greetings from Unlisted Collection!

Thank you very much for the kind words towards our team. Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. Nevertheless, we are glad the strategic location enabled you to explore Singapore easily!

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Till then, safe travels.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    259
    128
    40
    26
See reviews for
27
233
136
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is ideally located for Chinatown which is just a short walk away. It is also close to the MRT and Bus route. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Our 'superior room' was compact to say the least, it was in fact tiny. The decor of the room was smart and the room was clean BUT we were cramped! Managed to pay for an upgrade to Room 401 which was that much larger, with an outside terrace with Al Fresco bath and shower. Overall "compact", querky, clean and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms cramped for space. Room 401 a slightly better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear TEL831,

Thank you very much for taking time to share about your stay with Hotel 1929.
The reception staff will be very delighted to hear this lovely compliment of them.

Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could have you try, New Majestic Hotel, our sister property on the next street. With bigger rooms and a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities, we think you might enjoy it more.

Nevertheless, we look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit!

Till then, safe travels.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hotel 1929 is in exactly the right place if you want to get food and drink without having to walk far. China Town is a great place to stay.
The room was clean and comfortable and offered me all that I could possibly need. It was a little small but that was hardly an issue, I didn't intend to invite friends round and have a party!
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear nbpawley,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable time at Hotel 1929 and that you love the strategic location.

We can't wait to welcome you again in your next visit!

Till then, safe travels.

Kind Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel 1929 for a few days last month. It was our first stay at this hotel. We found the decor fresh and the front desk staff upbeat. Our small room was clean and adequate. We unpacked only to discover that the safe was locked, so we were moved into the room next door. The glass-walled shower and toilet area were right in the room, but that we no big deal to us. Breakfast was really quite good. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The small rooms are right next to one another. Bring earplugs if you are bothered by sounds from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear tampatowers,

Greeetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our rooms fresh and our staff upbeat.

Perhaps, in your next visit, you may want to check out our sister property, New Majestic Hotel located just one street away. With each room individually designed, we reckon you might enjoy it too!

We very much look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again for a renewed experience soon.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hotel location is good. However the hotel itself is just fair, room is small and even the sink is inside of the bedroom..I can only call the room as a bedroom with no other tiny space. When I was staying there, my single room was in the second floor just next to the kitchen where the power generator locates. The noise coming from the generator is loud and I couldn't even sleep until 1am. Breakfast is poor and overall, it's not a hotel for a pleasant stay..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Elaine L,

Thank you for taking time to write this review of your stay with us. We are very disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations.

Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. We would like to apologise for the noise that you experienced during your stay. We will definitely do what we can to eradicate/minimise the noise issue I am however glad that you liked our central location. Your feedback will help us to improve our product.

Once again, thank you and safe travels.

Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Good location, very small but clean rooms, good bed. Very poor breakfast. Hotel was good 1 night stop. Location, in chinese part of town, was good and there was lots of place to eat. There was no swimming pool, so that was no a good thing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear WORLDISMYHOMEFINLAND,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us.
We are disappointed to hear that the breakfast was not up to your standard, we will pass your feedback to the relevant department to look into this. But we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and our compact, cosy rooms.

Perhaps, you can swing by our sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, located a road away if you are looking at dipping by the pool in your next stay. We'd be glad to arrange your visit accordingly.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel location is excellent. Chinatown, Easywash laundromat which is very helpful to travelers, supermarket, and MRT station. Room size is really small, but very well maintained. So you don't feel "poor" about it. I would say, it was actually "cozy". Staff is experienced and didn't see any problem on them. Price is also affordable compared to pricy singapore hotel rate standard.

The problem is noise. They have an inner garden on the 2nd floor, but it is hard to stay there in a minute because of the noise maybe due to the fan or something. It is okay, you may not notice this if you stay away from there. The real problem is the waste collection vehicle working in front of the hotel in the midnight. You can not expect the best sleeping quality there. Sorry, it is not hotel's problem actually.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear mucchiyan,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure that all our guests have a fantastic time at Hotel 1929, and we are truly pleased to hear that your stay was no exception.

Housed in a conservation shophouse, we recognize that some of our rooms are a little spatially challenged. With regards to the noise issue you faced, we will feedback to the relevant department to minimise/eradicate this problem. I am however glad that you found our staff friendly and liked our central location. Your feedback will help us to improve our product.

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#105 of 312 in Singapore
847 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#119 of 312 in Singapore
245 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
668 reviews
Hotel YAN
#61 of 312 in Singapore
360 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Property: Hotel 1929
Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing