We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a neat stay”
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #131 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I spend two weeks in this hotel in the end of March and beginning of April. It was a business trip.

Hotel:
The hotel is very neat. It's a boutique hotel with tiny but lovely rooms. As the hotel knows, the rooms are small. But I think you already know that before you book. The space in the room is perfectly used. The toilet is shared in the same room with the shower but this is not unsual in Singapore. The air condition works good and the room service everyday was good. Everything was cleaned great. Also what I loved very much that there were free cold drinks available for the guests.

Breakfast:
The breakfast is just awesome. It is a very western culture breakfast but I loved it. Fresh tropical fruits everyday and also a warm platter. I enjoyed it every morning and it's worth it.

Front desk:
The front desk handled all my requests perfectly and very nice. Every problem which occured was solved by the nice front desk. They were also available for a little chat. It was always a pleasure. Wifi, room changes and even a post service was great. Really a kudos for that.

All in all I can recommend this place. It has a good location (very close to Outram Park MRT) with a lot of restaurants around. I enjoyed the stay a LOT.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room to the street. Better view and more light.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Lukas G,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

We appreciate you taking time to write a review of your stay with us. Our team of staff is very delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay.

The snacks corner where guests can help themselves to the traditional Singapore biscuits, juices and soft drinks is a little something to give our guests a taste of the local flavour.

Perhaps, in your next visit you may want to check out our sister property, New Majestic Hotel, located a road away from Hotel 1929 where the rooms are individually designed by local artists.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Till then, safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1929
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Located in Chinatown and <10 min walk from the metro station, we found this hotel to be a wonderful value. The room we stay in was small, but this was not a big deal, since we spent most of our waking time exploring the city. Anyway, space is tight in Singapore, and the room size was not unexpected.

The staff was very friendly, courteous, and helpful.

The breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear DDante,

Greetings from Unlisted Collection!

Thank you very much for the kind words towards our team. Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. Nevertheless, we are glad the strategic location enabled you to explore Singapore easily!

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Till then, safe travels.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is ideally located for Chinatown which is just a short walk away. It is also close to the MRT and Bus route. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Our 'superior room' was compact to say the least, it was in fact tiny. The decor of the room was smart and the room was clean BUT we were cramped! Managed to pay for an upgrade to Room 401 which was that much larger, with an outside terrace with Al Fresco bath and shower. Overall "compact", querky, clean and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms cramped for space. Room 401 a slightly better option.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEL831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear TEL831,

Thank you very much for taking time to share about your stay with Hotel 1929.
The reception staff will be very delighted to hear this lovely compliment of them.

Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could have you try, New Majestic Hotel, our sister property on the next street. With bigger rooms and a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities, we think you might enjoy it more.

Nevertheless, we look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit!

Till then, safe travels.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hotel 1929 is in exactly the right place if you want to get food and drink without having to walk far. China Town is a great place to stay.
The room was clean and comfortable and offered me all that I could possibly need. It was a little small but that was hardly an issue, I didn't intend to invite friends round and have a party!
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbpawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear nbpawley,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable time at Hotel 1929 and that you love the strategic location.

We can't wait to welcome you again in your next visit!

Till then, safe travels.

Kind Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel 1929 for a few days last month. It was our first stay at this hotel. We found the decor fresh and the front desk staff upbeat. Our small room was clean and adequate. We unpacked only to discover that the safe was locked, so we were moved into the room next door. The glass-walled shower and toilet area were right in the room, but that we no big deal to us. Breakfast was really quite good. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The small rooms are right next to one another. Bring earplugs if you are bothered by sounds from ou...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear tampatowers,

Greeetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our rooms fresh and our staff upbeat.

Perhaps, in your next visit, you may want to check out our sister property, New Majestic Hotel located just one street away. With each room individually designed, we reckon you might enjoy it too!

We very much look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again for a renewed experience soon.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hotel location is good. However the hotel itself is just fair, room is small and even the sink is inside of the bedroom..I can only call the room as a bedroom with no other tiny space. When I was staying there, my single room was in the second floor just next to the kitchen where the power generator locates. The noise coming from the generator is loud and I couldn't even sleep until 1am. Breakfast is poor and overall, it's not a hotel for a pleasant stay..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Elaine L,

Thank you for taking time to write this review of your stay with us. We are very disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations.

Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. We would like to apologise for the noise that you experienced during your stay. We will definitely do what we can to eradicate/minimise the noise issue I am however glad that you liked our central location. Your feedback will help us to improve our product.

Once again, thank you and safe travels.

Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Good location, very small but clean rooms, good bed. Very poor breakfast. Hotel was good 1 night stop. Location, in chinese part of town, was good and there was lots of place to eat. There was no swimming pool, so that was no a good thing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WORLDISMYHOMEFINLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear WORLDISMYHOMEFINLAND,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us.
We are disappointed to hear that the breakfast was not up to your standard, we will pass your feedback to the relevant department to look into this. But we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and our compact, cosy rooms.

Perhaps, you can swing by our sister hotel, New Majestic Hotel, located a road away if you are looking at dipping by the pool in your next stay. We'd be glad to arrange your visit accordingly.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#106 of 316 in Singapore
886 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,563 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#127 of 316 in Singapore
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#90 of 316 in Singapore
677 reviews
Hotel YAN
#50 of 316 in Singapore
417 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £75 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing