We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 1929
Ranked #128 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Erin, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying this is not a Marriott, Hilton, or any other type of bland chain. If that's what you want, they have them in Singapore also ! I travel a lot for work and have done for over 15 years, at this stage I like hotels with character, history and convenience to local life. Hotel 1929 has all of this in abundance.

To reiterate what a lot of the other reviews say, the rooms are small, the sink is in the room, the shower stall is also the toilet (smaller than some cruiser boat heads) and I absolutely love this hotel. Oh, and the bed is very very comfortable :)

However, the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, chatty and knowledgeable about the city and things to do, especially the more cultural, natural and ethnic parts.

It's right on the edge of Chinatown, with a buzz and bustle just down the street but not right outside, the noisiest part during the week is the Hindu temple just down the street, weekends it's a bit noisy outside, but what are you doing in your room so early when the bustle of Chinatown is at the end of the street ! It's walking distance to the Chinatown MRT and thus accessible to pretty much all of Singapore.

if you want to come to Singapore to party and shop, this is not the hotel for you. If you want an experience in part of Singapore which is true to the culture, to walk around and see the city, to experience the ethic diversity, then this is your hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewGraydon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Andrew Graydon,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always pleased to welcome intrepid travelers who are looking for a unique experience.

Hotel 1929 is set on four renovated Chinese shophouses, in our effort to keep the cultural heritage, we do admit that we are faced with spatial constraints; however each room provides efficient use of space allowing a comfortable stay. For a more spacious stay we definitely recommend our higher room categories, such as our Terrace Suites that offer a private garden with an outdoor bathtub. We also have the outdoor veranda on the second floor for our guests to kick back and enjoy a quiet time which is open from 6am to 9pm.

We are always delighted to advise our guests on coffee shops, bistros and bars around the area; which, as you mentioned, are very lively and exciting.
We are pleased to know that as a discerning traveler you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be honoured to welcome you back at Hotel 1929 or any of our other sister Hotels.

Safe Travels!

Cheers,
Shari Knott
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    259
    128
    40
    26
See reviews for
27
233
136
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Getting a good deal on a Singapore hotel is not easy and I trawled through quite a few as I was booking this for my parents -- but I also spent a week there for work in March.
The hotel is really well-located in Chinatown, which is full of old colonial architecture, boutiques, bars, and food halls and markets close by. Club street is about a 12 minute walk away, which is a great place for drinks and dinner too. Being in Chinatown, it is also quite a bit cheaper than the big brand hotels in Orchard area, and I think --given how expensive Singapore is -- was pretty decent value for money. For reference, it's actually much closer to the Outram Park MRT than the Chinatown MRT.
The basic double rooms, however, are very VERY small and I live in Hong Kong and am no stranger to small spaces. The photos on the site have probably been taken with a fisheye lens. I upgraded to a deluxe, which I'd recommend booking from the outset -- these are much more spacious (although still not huge). The room I was in was also a touch on the noisy side, although I am hypersensitive to noise and for others I'm sure will be fine.
Bathroom is essentially a wetroom, shower with toilet, sink on the outside -- not much privacy if you're sharing but still very clean and functional. There's a TV, good air con, desk with kettle etc., hairdryer. No wardrobe, just a few hooks. Also, being a boutique hotel there aren't any other amenities other than the room and breakfast, so fine for a couple of nights (which is what I have booked it for) but you'd probably want somewhere bigger with a lounge area and bar if you are staying longer.
The staff are great, extremely helpful and sweet. I managed to mess up the date of one of the bookings I prepaid for via Agoda, and the hotel manager replied to my mail immediately and was happy to move the date (despite the fact prepaid is essentially non-changeable or refundable). This was greatly appreciated and typical of the excellent service.
Breakfast is good, a small buffet of cereal and yogurt in addition to a cooked breakfast of your choice.
I would recommend this hotel for someone looking to pay less than GPB100 per night who only needs somewhere for up to three nights (and doesn't have kids).

Room Tip: Book the deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michanddyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear michanddyl,

Greetings from Hotel 1929 and we appreciate you taking time to give an honest feedback of your experience.

Thank you for coming back to stay with us and also for recommending Hotel 1929 to your parents. Housed in a sensitively restored heritage building, space is very much a constraint. Catering to single travelers, we recognise that the rooms are rather compact. Nevertheless, I hope you enjoyed our snacks corner at the lobby where guests can help themselves to the soft drinks, juices and traditional biscuits. If you are looking for places to chill during your long stay, Keong Saik street is blessed with a wide array of cafes and restaurants!

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will definitely do what we can to eradicate/minimise the noise issue you experienced. I am however glad that you found our staff friendly and liked our central location. Your feedback will help us to improve our product.

Perhaps in your next visit, we can have you try our sister property, New Majestic Hotel. With bigger rooms, a gym and a pool, we reckon you might enjoy it!

Till then safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It was my first time to Singapore with my boyfriend and we stayed in the 'standard' room at 1929. Our room was very small though practical and clean. Great location with walking distance to China Town and hip and quirky Ann Siang Hill. There were lots of interesting boutiques and restaurants near by as well. Great place to stay if you are on a budget and just looking for a decent place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Amy F,

Thank you for your kind feedback of your recent stay in Hotel 1929.

Housed in a sensitively restored heritage building, space is very much a constraint. Having said that, we are glad you enjoyed the strategic location. Cafes, bars and restaurants are peppered within close proximity to the hotel.

We hope your partner and yourself enjoyed the Snacks Corner at the lobby that stocks up on complimentary juices, soft drinks and traditional biscuits.

Should your travel brings you back to this corner of the world again, perhaps we can have you try our sister property, Wanderlust Hotel located along Little India. With its quirky rooms and colourful personality, we reckon you might enjoy it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel 1929 is a little gem of a hotel in bustling Chinatown area of Singapore. The staff of the hotel are exceptional - friendly, helpful, professional and willing to go that extra mile. The hotel also provide complimentary bottles of water and Singaporean snacks which is a great touch. The breakfast included in the excellent value room rate is fresh and satisfying. The rooms are admittedly small, possibly some of the smallest I have stayed in, but they make excellent use of the limited space. Added to that is a very comfortable bed, and sweet balcony. The hotel is well located in Chinatown and a short stroll to either Chinatown or Outram Park MRT stations. Around the corner you can brilliant Asian food extremely cheaply at the busy Maxwell Road Hawkers Road and also nearby is Oriole Coffee Roasters which make the best latte in Singapore. The other great feature of the hotel is the unlimited free wifi. An excellent stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NT2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear NT2340,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations.

Housed in a heritage building, we recognise that our rooms are rather compact as minimal alternation is observed to preserve its original form.

We appreciate your excitement about our different complimentary offers and the unique location within the stimulating Chinatown centre.

We certainly put emphasis on our guest service, and will be happy to convey your satisfaction with our staff.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,
SK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This small hotel has four floors in an old building close to Chinatown. The rooms are mainly very small, except from two rooms at the far ends of each corridor. These are the so called "deluxe" rooms - definitely worthwhile to pay for! But also in these rooms the bathroom is very small - tiny - with a simple glass door opening to the bedroom. If you care for privacy in the bathroom then you might want to consider another hotel.

If you don't want to share the blanket in the double bed with your partner you need to bring one extra!

The street can be noisy at times, so you might want to bring ear plugs.

The breakfast room is small but functional. The breakfast was by no means fancy, but it keeps you going. Good coffee, as much as you want.

In the foyer there is a fridge from where you can pick up complimentary drinks!

The closest subway station is NOT Chinatown but Outram Park.I suggest you take the metro from the airport, it costs next to nothing, and stops at Outram Park.

Room Tip: Choose a "deluxe" room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kru99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi kru99,

We appreciate you taking time to write a review of your stay with us.
Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. But we are pleased to know that you enjoyed the Snacks Corner that stocks up complimentary drinks and biscuits.

While the streets can be a little bustling at night, we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane.

Thank you very much for choosing us as your hotel accommodation during your visit to Singapore. Perhaps in your next visit, we can have you try our sister property, New Majestic Hotel located one road away. With bigger rooms, a gym and a swimming pool, I reckon you might enjoy it more!

Till then safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Having traveled to Singapore a few time before I was not surprised to have a small room. The hotel is located in the more trendy part of Chinatown. The room yet compact, have nice balconies out onto the street and are rather functional. There a lots of places to find a great meal all around the hotel, But keep in mind restaurants in Singapore close rather early compared to other large cities. While staying, I wasn't able to sample their breakfast as I was working nights and by the time I woke up it was already lunchtime.
My only complaint is there seems to be an odd relationship with the attached restaurant. The restaurant does not seem to be interested in catering to hotel guests. This wasn't a problem for me since there was so much good food all around the neighborhood.
The metro is close to the hotel so that transportation is very easy in and out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1whereintheworldami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi 1whereintheworldami1,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your kind compliments towards our staff. We strive to make each guest's stay comfortable to the best of our abilities. We're glad you enjoyed your room with balcony that overlooks the historical Keong Saik Road.

Located along the fringe of Chinatown, Hotel 1929 is within close proximity to local attractions Indeed, cafes and restaurants are peppered along the neighbour so you'll never get hungry!

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

1929 The hotel is located a few steps from the subway station Outram Park, with which you can easily and cheaply get to the airport in Singapore and all the major attractions of the city. It is also located in chinatown, in an area of ​​the most characteristic and animated. The hotel is nice and the rooms are equipped with everything, but sensitive. Condition sustainable in any case if you do not stay for long periods, because it is virtually impossible to unpack. The breakfast is decent and the staff is friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi tatia n,

Greetings from sunny Singapore!

Thank you for your review of Hotel 1929 here on Trip Advisor and we are glad you enjoyed our strategic location.

While our hotel is compact catering to single travellers, we are pleased to know that it is well-appointed. If you ever find yourself coming back to Singapore we'd love to welcome you back and I would be pleased to personally make your Hotel arrangements.

Till then, safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#106 of 312 in Singapore
846 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#119 of 312 in Singapore
245 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 312 in Singapore
667 reviews
Hotel YAN
#61 of 312 in Singapore
358 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Property: Hotel 1929
Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing