We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forced compromise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Temple Street
Ranked #171 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Forced compromise”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Forced? Yes, because everything is devilishly expensive in Singapore. I would maybe like to spend all the time in imperial room of some fashionable hotel, but something stops me. Here, in The Inn you have a good price and comfortable location versus small rooms some of which are even without window.
This is one of the houses in the China-town of Singapore. Do not be afraid. China town here is refined and artificial. It has nothing to do with real China. From this place you have whole city center in the walking distance. It’s extremely comfortable for city explorers, shopping maniacs and budget tourists.
And you have a lot of places where to eat, do shopping, see sights or get a massage, if you know what I mean.
The hotel has a 24h reception, minimal service and, again, very small rooms. It is a problem to set the air-condition to avoid either catching cold, or breathing stuffy air. Anyway, it is a solvable problem.
The Inn is clean, secure and even cozy. I would say it is worth to stay there if you want to save some money and do not want to live in some den or far away from the center. If you travel with kids, or need space and comfort in the room, may be this hotel would not be a good solution.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey_Nara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    127
    101
    36
    42
See reviews for
45
135
76
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I found Singapore very expensive and looked at lots of hotels. This hotel is not cheap but it was the best value hotel I could find. As a double room it was a bit small. The staff were all friendly and the room was clean. The location was perfect, in Chinatown.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms do not always have an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Most terrifying hotel I've ever stayed ! when we first check-in, we already found few cockroaches in the room & bathroom ><. we immediately made a complain to counter & she promised will settle this case. but still the same in next few days T.T .People rent the room for resting, but we rent it for FIGHTING! We totally cant bath & sleep well after COCKROACH crawled on my sister's face while sleeping on second day night!!
Even we made second complaint to counter, she said she cant do anything to settle those cockroaches T.T

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraceWoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is in a perfect position, especially with Chinese New Year approaching. The markets are amazing and so colourful. The prices are good too. The MRT is located just behind the hotel so it is very central. There is also tourist information just down the lane and behind the hotel. If you have heavy bags, be warned that there are no lifts. We were on the third floor.
The rooms are in dire need of a good clean and some new paint. We booked two rooms next to each other. Mould was growing on the walls and one had a horrible damp smell. The bathrooms were missing tiles, and the shower screens don't look like they have been cleaned regularly. The beds were comfortable and the sheets clean. The phone in one room (our children's) was not connected. There is no information in the rooms about hotel facilities and my attempt to call reception was unsuccessful on one of the many occasions that the key did not work.
This place has so much potential, but I would give it a miss and stay at one of the other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a small, nice hotel located directly in Chinatown. If you want a good bed and a clean room you can go ahead and book this now — it's going to be ok. Service is a warm and personal. Note that the rooms are small (there is no space even for a desk and a chair) and that there is no internet or business center. No gym, spa all those things either. That's what I mean by small. But if that's okay, if you are more interested in exploring the city, then this hotel is a good fit for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krautland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I am very glad that I took no notice of the previous reviews. I was a little apprehensive but for no reason. Room 206 was perfect for a small budget hotel room. Take notice that there is no elevator.
Don't expect spacious but I am not here to stay all day in the room. That said, the room is spotless, freshly renovated in an old Chinese style which we liked. Aircon is modern and not a 'window rattler'.
Bed is comfortable and bathroom clean and roomy enough. Electric jug, fridge etc. What more do you want for the price? Staff were helpful and friendly.
The location is suburb with more choices of inexpensive restaurants and good spa/massage places than you could want. Very close to Chinatown MRT.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is less stairs to carry bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaDarwinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I forgot to open the safe deposit box. And they said that they found the SDB already open. They didn't want to make a serious effort to find who was in charge that day. And I lost all of the things inside.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank ratnamurti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 312 in Singapore
660 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#251 of 312 in Singapore
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#108 of 312 in Singapore
240 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#273 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 312 in Singapore
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Temple Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Temple Street

Property: The Inn at Temple Street
Address: 36 Temple Street, Singapore 058581, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Temple Street 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perankan styles boutique hotel with intricately carved wooden furniture, antique artifacts, & well painted murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Temple Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Temple Street Hotel Singapore
Hotel At Temple Street
At Temple Street Singapore
Bed Breakfast Singapore
The Inn At Temple Street Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing