We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
Ranked #111 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Although this hotel is not located adjacent to the popular Boat Quay on the river bank or facing the harbour, the access to the MTR just across the road makes all public transport very easy and quick.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jesper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Jesper M, it was a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. As you say our location makes access to all parts of Singapore very easy. Thank you, Gary Moran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,395 - 2,401 of 3,283 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

A nice hotel with a small swimming pool.
The service is very good, it is very safe, and apparently the resto as well.Indeed friday evening the resto is full. A good place for a diner. The breakfast is various.
Close to the hotel you have a quarter with a lot of shops, and restos (you cross the road in using the bridge).
If you have time you can walk to the city, it is not so far.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franck91310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Franck91310, many thanks for finding the time to post your feedback as regards your stay with us in July last year. It is always very nice to receive such positive comments both in terms of the hotel location and the service we provide. Thanks again, Gary Moran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Hotel was very good. Singapore is overall quite expensive so comparatively rate is also very good. Value for money... Location is perfect.. variety of Indian food easily available in walking distance.. In proper market area.. I simply enjoyed my stay in this hotel..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Sneha111, thank you so much for your very kind words as regards your stay here at the hotel last November. You clearly took advantage of our excellent location. Thanks again, Gary Moran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have checked in only today i.e 26th March 2013 and the check in experience was just horrific.
Travelling with daughters and wife and this type of attitude not at all thought of in Singapore where people are just very good, Verr very rude staff and even one was pointing to his name badge and almost threatening us to complain against him. Praying to God that the next four nights turns out nice,
Madhusudan Ajitsaria

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Madhusudan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Madhusudan66, I was very disappointed to read your comments. I understand that this was in connection with the availability of a connecting room. I do hope that overall you had a very enjoyable stay with us. Kind regards, Gary Moran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stay here every time we visit Singapore. It is next door to Mustafa's and Little India so easy access to shopping and food. Service is good and quality of the room was good, however starting to show wear.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshisAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear AshisAus, I was very pleased to read your positive comments, particularly that you stay with us every time you are in Singapore. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post your feedback and for your continued custom. Kind regards, Gary Moran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I love Singapore...the food, the shopping, the civilization of it all, but I've had my fair share of overpriced, overrated accommodations in Asia, and ParkRoyal fits just the bill.

We stayed here, not by choice, but as part of an organized event chosen by a travel agency. Our first night, the hotel was completely booked; therefore, our nonsmoking option was not an option. So, the smell of the smoking floor and smoking room instantly put me in negative mode, especially since we were three generations traveling.

We had requested a family room but we ended up with a small (I think they call it deluxe) room with two twin (not the usual Asian twin and a half) beds and a roll-away shoved into the corner against the grungy curtains. They made no effort to remove the furniture, so the room was overcrowded with three of us in it and additional furniture, not to mention they actually charge S$80/night for this "upgrade."

Rather than go off on all kinds of negative tangents, here's a list of why I gave it 2/5, my lowest rating to date for a hotel:
-smoking room--unacceptable when traveling with a child
-overcharged for extra bed in an already crowded room
-rooms in desperate need of remodeling--dated furniture, curtains, and carpets, really grungy carpeting and curtains
-roll away didn't have any kind of mattress pad between mattress and sheet--yuck!
-mildew and body hair in the shower (time for new grout)
-unhelpful staff overall--there were a few friendly staff, so I shouldn't generalize, but one very unhappy concierge and several unhappy front desk staff and even more unhappy restaurant staff
-breakfast buffet was fair, ambience was cafeteria-like
-location...there is much better in Singapore.

Honestly, shop around. Check out hotel deals. My favorite place to stay in Singapore is The Intercontinental, and you can get some great rates. Had the service or even the pool area been a bit nicer, I might have given this a 3/4 (like I did Traders in Singapore because they have a lovely pool and breakfast area).

I won't be returning nor will I recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Hongkong P, as you would expect I am of course very, very disppointed to read your feedback and particularly the heading. I can understand your frustration as clearly there were many aspects of your stay which you were not at all happy with. I am very sorry that we did not leave you with a better impression. You will see from many other reviews that in the main we do deliver much better service but I will share your thoughts with my team, who I know will be as disappointed as I am. Kind regards, Gary Moran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed in hotel in business. It is near to Little India and subway station. There is a new shopping mall (City Square ) opposite the hotel. However, it is nothing much as it is still new. There are BreadTalk, Sushi Tei, Fast Food, at least you have some choices for dining.

The hotel service is great and efficient. The meeting is cold and nice arrangement.

Overall the hotel is comfortable to stay. However, there were kids running around the corridor, so it was a bit noisy late night. I smell a very light hair smell on the pillows, unsure whether they change it often.

The wifi is provided everywhere in hotel boundaries, it is great for business.

The breakfast is ordinary, if you stay more than 1 day, you will feel not much choice but still filling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear ShaneLean, thank you for sharing your thoughts as regards your recent stay with us. I was particularly pleased with your comments as regards service overall, the meeting arrangements and the wifi availability. I have also noted a few areas of possible improvement.
Thanks again, Gary Moran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#15 of 319 in Singapore
1,314 reviews
Park Hotel Farrer Park
#70 of 319 in Singapore
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Beach Road
#82 of 319 in Singapore
2,620 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#96 of 319 in Singapore
2,574 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road

Address: 181 Kitchener Road, Singapore 208533, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#47 Family Hotel in Singapore
#58 Business Hotel in Singapore
#63 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#95 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £90 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road 4*
Number of rooms: 534
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within close proximity to Singapore's Central Business District and adjacent to the ethnic quarter of Little India, the hotel is a 2-minute stroll from Farrer Park MRT station. Tastefully furnished, it is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Soothe away frazzled nerves in the hotel's spa while the brasserie and restaurant offer sumptuous dining experiences with a wide array of culinary specialties. Enjoy the entertainment in the bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal On Kitchener Road Hotel Singapore
Parkroyal On Kitchener Road Singapore
New Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing