We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL on Beach Road
Ranked #71 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed a few nights and I was pleasantly surprised as I had expected it to be more 'budget'. Hotel is well-maintained throughout, including the room. There is a massive breakfast buffet selection that caters for Asian and Western / Continental tastes. We received a 30 Singapore dollar voucher for the Chinese restaurant which we used and found to be decent value - the 'Small' portions are actually huge, though without the voucher it would be expensive.

The pool area is lovely to have a drink at, though we did not use the pool itself.

Location is great - 10 min walk from Bugis station and a large shopping mall with cinema, and 20-30 min walk to Raffles hotel and Suntec mall where you can get on the city bus tour.

Our only problem was with the room card which you need to swipe in the lift to get to the residential floors. Our card did not work a couple of times and we needed to ask reception to fix it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
There are newer reviews for PARKROYAL on Beach Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,006 - 2,012 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

I was surfing the net for a hotel that offered a late check out as my husband and I wanted to have a stay-cation. I stumbled across the Parkroyal's great weekends deal which included breakfast for 2 adults and 2 children (we don't have children but this might be useful information for people who do) and a late checkout to 3 pm from $200 ++.
It was just what we were looking for and we checked in after work on Friday night. Walking through the night cafe scene in the Arab street area already made us feel like we were on a holiday. The ambiance there with the shisas and middle eastern cafes instantly transport you out of Singapore. And this is all found a 5-10 minute walk from Bugis MRT station.
At check in, we were pleased that my requests for a king bed rather than twin, non-smoking had been accommodated for. We had been upgraded to a club room. We discovered that this meant it had modern furnishings including a large LCD TV.
The bedding was very comfortable and the room had various lightings so one could control the level of lighting that best suited them. The airconditioning was also quite responsive to the digital thermostat.
The bathroom was lovely and a blind ensured privacy although it could be opened to look out to the bedroom for a more open plan feel. It had a separate shower and bathtub and the shower even had a shower seat area.
The breakfast won us over. We have had quite a few buffet breakfasts but this one had a large variety as well as having excellent quality. Everything was fresh and the food was not oily, not even the bacon or crumbed prawns! It had a small local selection including curried vegetables, carrot cake and mee siam, dim sum in addition to japanese style rice porridge with pickles and condiments, salads, cold cuts, cheese, hot dishes such as chicken and fish stir fry, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, baked beans, an omelette, pancake and waffle station, continental selection of pastries and bread and a espresso machine!
I would definitely recommend the Parkroyal beach road for a stay. It may not be next to the tourist area, but it is convenient to public transport and cafes as well as the Bugis junction shopping centre and the price makes it an extremely good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shewolf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Stayed in Hotel Park Royal, Beach Road, Singapore twice in Jul 10 for two nights each. It is conveniently located and well connected by all modes of Transport.

Reaching the Hotel from the Changi Airport- Taxi, MRT, Bus Shuttle

• Taxi - Just 15 minutes( S$18- 20) by Taxi from the Airport.
• MRT( Subway Train) - Connected by MRT ( subway train) from Terminal 2 of the Airport ( S$ 2-3 only). As of now one has to change trains twice but it is rather convenient. Lifts are available at all stations in case one is carrying heavy baggage. The MRT Station "Nicholl Highway" on the Newly Commisioned Yellow Line(also called the Central Line) is about 200 metres from Hotel.

• Shuttle Bus - A shuttle Bus also runs from the Airport which will drop you at the Hotel for S$ 9 per head; how-ever it takes a circutious route and could take from 45 minutes to an hour to reach the hotel.

• Misc - For any information and advise, contact the Info Counter with a sigh " i" (in italics) and not the Transport Info Counter. They try to sell you the time consuming Shuttle Bus or a S$ 45 taxi. Taxi at the Airport Lounge Exit Gate is a very good bet and you get them in plenty

Hotel per se

• Cheerful Front Office Staff. Makes you feel good.
• Take room towards the Main Entrance since you get a Green View. The rooms on the rear side face adjoining Buildings.
• Clean, well furnished rooms; Toilets are good; Effective ACs.
• Above Average and responsive Room Service.
• Delightful and most helpful Conceirge/s. They give good and economically effective advice.
• Travel Desk ( Rep of the Tour Coy and not an employee of the Hotel ) tries pushing his Tours. May not give other economical options.
• Very strict on Security – You can access Room Floors only with your Room Electronic Key. Can go only to your Floor apart from Swimming Pool Floor. I had a malfunction with the Room Safe. A team of 3 people ( 2 from Hotel and one from outside the Hotel Security Company) having different powers had to get together in a Conference Call to sort it out with sophisticated Electronic Gadgetry. Made us feel very safe.
• Convenience Store in the rear of the Hotel (adjoining Building).
• They give a fairly good Exchange rate though some-what less from the one available at the Airport.
• Nice Top Floor Swimming Pool. Muggy Changing Rooms though.
• Overall Very Good.
• Did not try their Specialty Restaurants.

Across the Hotel

The well known Arab Street Area with Bars, Shisha / Hookah Bars, Mid East / Chinese / American Food Chain / Pakistani Restaurants are all there. The food is good and reasonably priced. Cloth Shops, Dresses, Curios, Turkish Chandeliers/ Lights Stores make it a well remembered Shopping experience.

Must visit Bashir Khan’s KAMPONG GLAM CAFÉ on 17, Bussorah Street. It is in the Arab Street Area. Delectable Food. For Dinner, ask for the Menu. Chicken Chops are to die for.

Pratima Gupta

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PratimaSandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I have been wanted to try this hotel for years but never book them due to the restriction of number of person per rooms (3 max) but found out in june they offer a family deal of 2 adults & 2 children + breakfast.

Book in the hotel web page, thought I book for the family deal but clicked on the wrong column. (the reservation page can be confusing) Called up 3 days after booking just to confirm but was told that I have booked on the wrong room. The lady on the other end offers to amend the booking.

Like the honesty of the reservation officer, some other hotel would move in for the kill and tell you that the deal you wanted has been fully taken up, we now have another room but cost slightly more ........

I often also judge the age of staff in the hotels. This hotel employs more older staff than younger ones, which in my opinion provides better service, more thoughtfulness and compassionate. It is also nice to be served by man & women in their late forties to fifties, kind of bring back the Raffles/Good old days feel.

Room is good and spacious even with extra bed, like the table which makes computing/work easy, Flat screen TV, nice beds. Lifts is kind of 70s with all the 70s buttons but serves its purposes.

Breakfast is good, wide spread and happy with quality of food served.

One of my problem about this hotel is the food, its near Arab street and with lots of restaurants around. But to look for a decent hawker centre or coffee shop to have a typical singapore cheap food stalls meal within walking distance is difficult.

The agreesive red ants (5-6mm long) in the car park on the right of the hotel is a very serious problem and the hotel has to deal with it swiftly. Place my bag besides my car and more than 20 crawl up immediately to my bag, ran 12metres away but they were all over my arms within seconds. There is at least hundreds of red ants crawling over a 150 sqm space, on the roads and car park area.

But we had a very good stay, good sleep, fully rested and its very easy to go to other parts of singapore from this hotel. reached Orchard road by car within 15 minutes. Will stay again.

.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fei-Low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We have just arrived from a trip to Singapore & Malaysia and we have stayed at the Park Royal for 4 nights.The hotel location is good,short walk to the MRT and the bus stop but far from Orchard road if you would like to shop.Rooms were clean but not very spacious.
What we didn't like was the breakfast which was very basic and more for asians:coffee machine didn't work most of the time,small quantity of cheese not even fresh,we had to ask for bread everytime,the staff wasn't attentive and hardly smiled.
The hotel is good for a stop but nothing fancy or exceptional and Singapore is a great city for people who loves to walk,it's perfect for pedestrians.
There's a very nice small swedish cafe facing the hotel that offers great coffee&food if u don't feel like going far.And don't even try to go for the massage shops across the street as they are really bad,the worst massages we ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guestoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The Park Royal is not so special. The location on Beach Road is great, since it is easy to get around. The views from the hotel rooms are not remarkable. For 3 days, I faced the car park building, and when I requested a room change, was moved to another room facing the street. Rooms are reasonably neat and clean, and has regular amenities. The corridors are dark and smelly.
Breakfast is repetitive, and i got a lot of carrot cake during my stay here.
The entrance and lobby is unimpressive, hotel staff seem to be in a world of their own..
Service at the Café was unimpressive. The captain was in a hurry to take his last order half an hour before closing, almost made us feel guilty for sitting on.
Would not go back to stay, and would not recommend it to anyone either.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stonysonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

The hotel was very comfortable. The food was quite good and available when we arrived at 10.00 pm. Bit far from shopping precinct if that is what you are going for but a short taxi ride will get you there. Overall a good stay.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank viv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#26 of 316 in Singapore
2,929 reviews
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#100 of 316 in Singapore
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 316 in Singapore
1,072 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#17 of 316 in Singapore
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL on Beach Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL on Beach Road

Address: 7500 Beach Road The Plaza, Singapore 199591, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Singapore
#59 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#67 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £105 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL on Beach Road 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discerning travellers will enjoy the hospitality and warmth of our 346 rooms and suites. Spacious yet intimate, this Singapore accommodation is perfect for relaxing after a busy day of getting to know the city. Take in the charming views of quaint shophouses and ethnic shophouses from your room. For your utmost comfort, you'll find a range of handy amenities for all your needs - enjoy the in-room entertainment, which includes cable channels and complimentary in-house movie channels, or share the best of your day with family and friends via high-speed broadband Internet access. Let us pamper you whenever you stay in PARKROYAL's stylish hotel rooms in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your PARKROYAL on Beach Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal On Beach Road Hotel Singapore
Parkroyal On Beach Road Singapore
Park Royal Singapore
Park Royal Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing