We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average for a Hilton hotel”
Review of Hilton Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Singapore
Ranked #65 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average for a Hilton hotel”
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and expericenced a stay expected from a 4 star hotel. The hotel's location on Orchard Road was perfect for the shops and the the metro.

The hotel is very functional with one of the benefits being a great buffet breakfast. We stayed in an excutive suite which gave access to pre-dinner drinks and breakfast. The rooms even in the executive suite are what you would expect of a standard room with good business facilities.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_Heavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    1,039
    381
    88
    41
See reviews for
442
615
283
1,012
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LA, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We used our Hilton Honor Points to get two free nights after our 9 days in Indonesia. We previously stayed at Royal Plaza on Scotts and we both liked Royal Plaza on Scotts a lot better. We ran into several issues while staying there for 2 nights. First, we requested a non-smoking room, but the room we got definitely smelled like a smoking room. Actually, the floor had a smoky smell to it (maybe they recently converted this floor to non-smoking). If you don’t like smoke smell, avoid the 13th floor. We called the front desk and they sent the housekeeping to spray the room, but it didn’t help. Your nose will get used to it and can’t detect any smoke after a while, but when you first walk into the room, you can smell the smoke. We should’ve request a room change, but we were too lazy to do so and plus the room was free, we don’t want to make such a big hassle. Second, the bathroom is very small (especially compared to the Royal Plaza on Scotts). If someone is standing by the sink, the door won’t close. You have to squeeze to close the bathroom door. My girlfriend is tiny (5 feet tall), and she even thinks the bathroom is small. You barely have room to move in this tiny bathroom. The shower/bathtub is small too. The room itself is nice with 4 star amenities (plasma TV, down comforter, bathrobe, slipper, etc), but it’s nothing special. The third complaint was my girlfriend some bed bug bites. She found 10 or so red dots on her legs after the first night there, and several others after the second night. We can’t accuse Hilton for this for sure because I didn’t have it, but to be safe, stay away from Hilton. You may ask why we didn’t switch room after so many mishaps, but I guess it’s because the room was complimentary and we don’t want to make a big deal out of it. The part that made me upset was when we went to check out and the receptionist asked about our stay. I mentioned all of the above and she didn’t even say sorry. She just handed me the bill for the use of the internet ($0.43Singapore Dollar/minute. I was very disappointed by the service received at this hotel. We’ll write to Hilton in a formal letter and let them know about the issue. I would’ve not stayed there if I have to pay for the room. Your money would be better spent somewhere else. I would not recommend staying at this hotel if you have to pay for the room. I would recommend staying at Royal Plaza on Scotts which is just down the street and not far from Orchard Road and all the shopping.

  • Liked — Lobby area was nice
  • Disliked — Smoke smell in non-smoking room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
186 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

The Hilton is located in an older building, I would guess from the 1960s or 1970s. I would think which has been upgraded, but it lacks the size and grandeur you have come to expect in Asian hotels, and suffers because of this The rooms are good, definitely above average, not huge, but it's all there. The public areas though are rubbish for a hotel of this calibre and price and alleged star rating. Against this it is on Orchard Road and that in itself gets over the restaurant and bar problem because you are surrounded by options. However, the hotel is saved by this happy co-incidence when it should have better options for bars and restaurants than it does ,especially given that it is not all that cheap. I would definitely suggest that the Hilton go about acquiring some extra space and get this built in. Otherwise it will just be a stopover hotel and quite pricey for that purpose. Having said that, i stayed twice because it is convenient. So if you like getting out of the hotel to eat like me this is good, but this should be reflected in the price which it isn't. So this means that is average in my opinion. Would i stay again. I dont care

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — It's public areas and facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gringottsgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I've been to the Singapore Hilton several times over the past year. The best part of the hotel is the location: If you are in Singapore for business, you can hardly go better for that price - situated right on Orchard Road, you are in walking distance to almost anywhere.

The problem with the Hilton was that it was getting a bit old and "used", but I just was there again, and apparently a major overhaul has progressed. I got a room that was so new that it smelled a bit too much of new paint, but now it is up to standard of what you expected from a hotel of this range - light wooden panelling, beige carpet, new glass desk, flat screen TV, new bathroom - all in the deluxe room.

The gym has gotten some new equipment and the pool is currently going through renovations (and will remain closed until sometime in September) - so keep that in mind when booking.

The service remains up to par and in the new state, I find it a great bet for a stay in Singapore.

Due note however, that they are currently tearing up the sidewalk in front of the hotel and you will have a very loud construction site, if your window is towards the street. Work starts at 9am and goes through 5pm - so don't sleep late. According to the hotel, they should be finished by October.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Ongoing contruction
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I travel to Singapore about once a month and always stay at the Hilton. It is a great business hotel, the staff are superb and they always remember your name and give you that little bit extra special service. Whilst it may not be as flash as some of the other hotels in Singapore for practicality and price I do not think you can beat it. Great location for people on a stop over in Singapore.
The Club rooms on the front of the building are the best as you get a balcony - if you can use it with the humidity! The Club Floors are well worth the extra not just for the room but for the free breakfast, free evening drinks and use of the lounge.
The pool is currently being refurbed but your can use the Four Seasons Pool next door.

  • Liked — Great Customer Service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Pat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

When we were assigned to go over seas and I found out our training was to be in Singapore I was excited. I was even more excited to find out we were staying at the Hilton on the famous Orchard Road. Not only that, the company arranged for our daughters, 14 & 16, to have their own room, and we weere put on the business floor so we had access to the lounge. WOW!

Well things were not quite as swell as I had imagined. First off they let our reservation go. We had a late arrival and our company rep had not asked for a late check in. So no connecting rooms, and we were in a smoking room. Nicely enough the next day the moved us to a different floor with connecting rooms and non-smoking... but it was a bit of a process. The rooms (all 4 that we saw anyway) were musty and in great need of refurbishing. The business lounge was good and the location easy to get to and from. (most taxi drivers know where to go when you say Hilton)

Step out the doors of the Hilton and you are right on the busy street with all the shops and food and people galore. I am not a huge fan of big cities or posh shopping, so there was little to hold my attention directly on Orchard Rd... but the zoo is terrific! The Singapore Flyer was neat, but it is a much longer ride than it needs to be... esp. if you get stuck up there with loads of kids.

The hotel buffet breakfast was terrific. Lots of fresh fruits, fresh cooked foods and choices of local or western foods. My daughter was thrilled to have her first piece of dragon fruit frechly peeled and sliced just for her on our first morning there.

So while I know that I just must have had my hopes too high, I have to say that I was slightly dissapointed with having stayed at this Hilton. I have been at nicer and cleaner small chain hotels, so for Hilton standards thisone comes up a little short.

  • Liked — Location is great
  • Disliked — needs a good airing out and remodel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amlunchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

The recent renovation of all the rooms in this hotel makes it a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay. Service was excellent through the usual practice of Hilton jacking up the prices in all of its hotel restaurants applies here. Try to avoid any of the dining venues in a Hilton hotel. They are not good value.
Hotel has great location and excellent staff. Note if you are a Hilton Gold member they tend to run out of room upgrades.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#39 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,476 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#88 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Singapore

Property: Hilton Singapore
Address: 581 Orchard Road Hilton International Singapore, Singapore 238883, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Family Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Orchard Road, Singapore's popular entertainment and shopping district, Hilton Singapore is close to both ION Orchard and Takashimaya shopping centers. This award-winning Singapore hotel is a convenient 20-minute drive from Singapore Changi International Airport and close to Singapore's popular attractions. Try the Opus Bar & Grill's prime-cuts that are dry aged in-house for 14 to 36 days and grilled over an open-flame charcoal grill, or sip on a cocktail inspired by Asian food at the bar. For authentic Italian cuisine, il Cielo is known for its high culinary standards using organic produce. Perched on the 24th floor of the hotel, the Sky Bar is the perfect oasis to relax over drinks while taking in sunset views of the city. Revitalize with an organic juice and healthy lunch from the Glow Juice Bar and Cafe. For the sweet-toothed ones, the D9 Cakery offers an impressive six-meter showcase of delicious cakes, pastries and more. Enjoy shopping in luxury boutiques without leaving the hotel in the Shopping Gallery. Stay active during your stay at this Singapore hotel. Swim laps in the rooftop pool, work out in the fully equipped fitness center or indulge in rejuvenating beauty treatments. Make business easy at the Hilton Singapore hotel. Stay connected with colleagues and catch up with work with contemporary business amenities and secretarial services. Hold business meetings or conferences in our versatile meeting rooms accommodating 18-550 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Singapore Hotel Singapore
Hilton International Singapore
Singapore Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing