We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Large Rooms, Staff should be more helpful”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #118 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, Large Rooms, Staff should be more helpful”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My family stayed in this hotel for 5 days last October 2013. The receptionist that greeted us upon arrival wasn't that welcoming, it felt like something/ someone was bothering him. Probably he was frustrated at something perhaps.

The family room was big, clean and cozy but I did not like the pillows because they were too thick. The location was great since it was very close to the shopping malls and restaurants were everywhere.

One time my family wanted to go to melaka malaysia

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    600
    353
    91
    60
See reviews for
550
248
65
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

1) Situated very close to Orchard Road .. Singapore's main shopping district.
2) Value for Money .. SGD 225 to 250 ++ inclusive of B/F and Wireless Connectivity - when compared to any Hotel on Orchard Road which has SHD 400++ price tag
3) Basic but spacious Room
4) Neat and Clean
5) Breakfast - nothing to complain but again very basic

Room Tip: Take a Higher Floor - Non-Smoking Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gajaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

A bit far from MRT stations, a slight walking distance from Orchard which is a bit trying for my lazy Jakartan feet. But a good experience once I get to the bedroom because of its size and comfortable bed.

When hungry and can't be bothered to travel by feet to the nearest mall, order the room service. Their char kwey tiauw and fishball noodles do not disappoint. Ideal in-room pleasure!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the formula one and it was a great location. Very close to all the shopping and MRT just up the rpad which made it easy to get everywhere else. The pool was great nice and warm. We were on the pool floor in cabana room was fantastic to walk straight into pool. We didn't eat in the hotel found it too expensive but plenty up the road to choose from. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth_WAAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently with our family. The rooms are extremely spacious, staff are really helpful and they allowed us into our rooms although we arrived several hours before check in time which we really appreciated! They also happily stored our luggage for us all day after we checked out until 10pm that night as we had a late flight home to Australia. This was a HUGE help to us!
It is located in a very good spot, with a short walk to the MRT station and the large shopping centre, also short walk to Orchard Road.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings Point, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the York Hotel recently en route to the UK and we were really delighted to find that our room was so spacious and extremely clean. The lovely king size bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of space to spread out our luggage without falling over it. The restaurant downstairs offered a very good menu and there was an excellent assortment of breakfast foods. Great location and great staff. We would have no hesitation in booking the York Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieB1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights at York as part of our Singapore Stopover package and couldn't recommend this place more. It is a short walk to Orchard Road so for the shoppers out there this is paradise!

The room is spacious and we needed it to set up our portable cot for our little one. It is also nice and clean and very functional, which was all we needed, since we spent most of our time out of our room anyway!

We did not try the restaurant downstairs since this being Singapore food is super cheap and super delicious anywhere and EVERYWHERE! We ate at Toast every morning at the Paragon Shopping Centre.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up to get some sort of view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch1w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#76 of 312 in Singapore
2,964 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#89 of 312 in Singapore
1,800 reviews
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#46 of 312 in Singapore
4,308 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#69 of 312 in Singapore
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Property: York Hotel
Address: 21 Mount Elizabeth York Hotel, Singapore 228516, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Singapore
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing