We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #119 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location of this hotel is awesome great close to orchard road. It was expensive but so is all of singapore. Quite a shock when you come straight from penang. Getting a bus from lucky plaza was very easy but do not make the same mistake we did we google the bus there and assumed that we could get the same bus back but all the streets are one way so you need to actually plan the buses back because they leave from totally different streets and travel down different roads.

Room Tip: Any rooms are great all floors good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennybelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are grateful that you took the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to have impressed you and your family with the convenience of our location, we love it here too! We are also proud that our rooms and floors met your expectations and we really appreciate the added room tip.

We noticed you had some issues with transport during your stay. We do have a selection of Singapore maps available at the Front Desk which are designed specifically for travelers. Additionally you can visit our Bell counter to make transport arrangements. While you may not need a cab, our staff would be more than happy to assist you with information on public transport and tourist buses.

Again, your feedback is important to us and we always take it into consideration as we continue our efforts to improve our products and quality of service. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to York Hotel on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm Regards

Jessie Tan
General Manager York Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    602
    360
    92
    61
See reviews for
556
250
66
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leeton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

When we arrived we were given a wrong room which didn't have enough beds in it. We were finally located late the following day to a beautiful suite with a king and 2 single beds. The rooms were of a reasonable quality however we found it to be a very noisy hotel with many school groups and large family groups staying.
The hotel services were all adequate

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmilou1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family were happy with the presentation of your room. We are also glad to hear that you found our service to be of adequate quality and we always strive to improve in this area.

Please accept our profound apologies that you did not get the correct room right away. We also note that you were disturbed by noise during your stay and express our sincere regret that your experience was affected.

Rest assured that we will be sharing your feedback with our team pertaining to these matters. As part of our commitment to service and excellence we constantly review our various products and services to better enhance our guest’s experience.

Once again we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you and your family back to York Hotel on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm Regards

Jessie Tan
General Manager York Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent 2 nights at this Hotel, close to the busy orchard road but location far enough away to avoid any noise. Room very comfortable altho we had to ask for additional tea making facilities and there was no milk, this was supplied after a phone call.
Found the bar facilities very expensive S$6.40 for a 375ml bottle of water was over the top, considering you could buy a 500ml bottle at the corner shop for S$2.
Didnt find the breakfast all that european friendly, queuing for a poached egg for 15mins rather long and apart from egg and bacon(overcooked) not much more to choose from.No english breakfast tea available at the breakfast servery and when it was arranged for us it was very weak and cold.
Staff were very friendly and courteous, but unwilling to make any consideration at the cashier counter for overpriced water.

Room Tip: If u cant walk up hills this hotel isnt that suitable for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and courteous. It is also pleasing that you found our location to be convenient.

We deeply regret disappointing you with the buffet breakfast and with our tea. Please be assured that we will be taking your valuable feedback into account as we review our various products and services to further improve the experience of our guests.

We are also sorry to learn that you encountered issues with bottled water during your stay. We do provide each room with a complimentary 1500ml bottle of drinking water every morning. This can be replenished at anytime free of charge by contacting the front desk or housekeeping department. Nevertheless we will be taking your comments into consideration and will review the matter with our team.

Once again we would like to thank you for your stay and for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your partner back to York Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards

Jessie Tan
General Manager York Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location of York Hotel is really strategic. It is not at Orchard Road or Scott Road, but near enough without the traffic and the noise. Can walk to either Scott Road (exit from Goodwood Park Hotel) or towards Orchard Road via Elizabeth Link road.

The room is very clean and spacious. Good value for money as land is limited in Singapore, hence, having a roomy hotel space is a big plus.

However, I think the hotel can work on the efficiency of its staff and processes. There is no proper queueing system for check in or check out, hence, it depends on your luck. As for me, I was really unlucky as 3 other guests that came after me got served before my turn. Hope the hotel will do something about this as I hope to come back to an even better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of our location. We are also thrilled to hear that you and your friends appreciated the size of our rooms and found the experience to have good value.

Please accept our sincerest apologies pertaining to the problems you experienced while queuing during the check in and checkout process and we will be reviewing your feedback as part of our commitment to maintaining a high level of service quality.

Thank you again for your kind and constructive feedback. It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you and your friends back on your next visit to York Hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager York Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have stayed here before and have had very good experience. We chose to stay here because of its proximity to Orchard Road (central shopping area), its calm and quiet (hard to find in this area) even though it was near a very busy area, and it was great value for what you get: nicely appointed large rooms (recently renovated), very clean. Free wifi. The White Rose Cafe offered a attractive range of Western and Asian dishes in a sunny and spacious setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We tried its Asian dishes and they were delicious: assam fish filet, fish head curry, fried noodles, etc. The fried calamari and the pasta were great. We liked how we could "build" our own burgers and sandwiches! and they tasted great. The menu was ideal for a diner who wishes to have diversity and variety. The staff was clean, professional and responsive. Overall, our recent stay was very pleasant, as before.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILKONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your continued support and for your feedback. We are delighted to hear we have made more than one of your stays in Singapore an enjoyable one.

We appreciate your feedback on the convenience of our location and that our rooms have been comfortable for you. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the diversity of our menu at the White Rose Cafe and take pride that you found the staff professional and attentive.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager of York Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Five night in this older style yet well appointed hotel. Pool nice, gym good, Location excellent for orchard road shops. Service average/not very friendly. Pretty good value for Sinagapore. The room size was huge. Short hike down the hill to get to orchard road which was fine. close to MTR and Taxis easy to hire. good stay - very convenient but expect a very slow checkin! Room size and location made this hotel good. WiFi was a bit flaky.

Room Tip: Not many hotels in SIN seemed to cater for 2adults+2kids in 1 room but our agent found this place th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogostewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and location and we hope we will continue to improve upon your positive experience.

We sincerely apologise that our service had not met your expectations and will review your feedback to ensure that we continue to maintain high standards.

Thank you again for taking the time to share with us your experience and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager York Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a good stay at York Hotel in Singapore. Was close to Orchard road and many other amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing however, rooms were a good size and and pool was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalfJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is delightful to hear that you had a great stay at the York Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you find our hotel in a convenient location and the service of our staff left a memorable impression and created an enjoyable experience for you.

We do however apologise for disappointing you with the buffet breakfast. We constantly review such feedback with our food and beverage team over our various products and services and implement changes wherever possible with the aim of enhancing our guest’s experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to York Hotel.

Warm Regards

Jessie Tan
General Manager York Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#75 of 312 in Singapore
3,031 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#45 of 312 in Singapore
4,340 reviews
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 312 in Singapore
9,552 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Property: York Hotel
Address: 21 Mount Elizabeth York Hotel, Singapore 228516, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Singapore
#96 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing