We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Close to Paragon Medical and Mount E Hospital”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #131 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went over to Singapore to visit a Doc at Paragon Medical. This hotel was the closest hotel to where I needed to be.

When checking in, they upgraded me from my small 1 bed room to a huge 4 bed room. It wasn't needed at all, but the room was very nice and was in the other tower which is next to the lobby.

View was pretty good, room was clean but bathroom had a leak. I called down and they sent someone up right away to check what was going on. They figured it out instantly and apologized. Everyday housekeeping cleaned perfectly and there was no complaints. Breakfast was included which is buffet style. Selections were great and I overate everyday! Swimming pool was big enough for me to swim laps in and their gym was adequate enough.

Overall it was a great stay and perfect if youre visiting the near by medical centers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel accommodation in Singapore.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay and you find our hotel in a convenient location, especially to the medical centres. In addition, you have enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our guest room and the varied spread of buffet breakfast which is irresistible.

We do however, apologise for the leak in the bathroom. We do have a regular programme of maintenance to ensure that all our rooms are in good upkeep and we will be reviewing it to make improvements.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager of York Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights in the family room. The room was big and spacious. The bathroom was fantastic. The kids love the bathtub. The location was perfect. Near mt Elizabeth hospital. Near orchard rd. Lots of shopping mall and lucky plaza just around the corner.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Elsalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It is our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. We are delighted to hear that your stay had been a pleasant experience and you have enjoyed the hotel"s convenient location to major shopping malls.

We look forward to welcoming you back at York Hotel Singapore in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager of York Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The York Hotel is a pleasant short walk to Orchard Road, the home of shopping. I have never seen so many shops in one small area in my life. The breakfast is outstanding, so many choices and all freshly cooked. The rooms are light, clean and spacious and the bathrooms clean and again a lot of room in them. The staff are excellent, polite and helpful. Top Hotel. We used the SIngapore Airlines stopover packages which are excellent value for money including breakfast, transfers and loads of sight seeing for free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It is most rewarding to receive your review and we thank you for rating us a top hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the convenience of our location and we are glad that the team"s impeccable service and extensive breakfast spread has created a great experience for you.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General manager of York Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed with wife for around 1 month while on transfer...location is just great, right on orchard road next to KFC TANGS etc. Great connectivity to city fringe as well. Since we were long timers, they gace us a microwave in room to help in heating stuff...very thoughtful.

Pool is great and so is the breakfast spread...will comne back again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anuj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted that you found our location, facility and breakfast spread to be up to your expectation and we hope that we can continue to build on the positives you have mentioned. We will be sure to pass your good comments. Lastly, we are glad that you appreciated the provision of microwave oven in the room to heat up your food stuff as it is a gesture to show we care!

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager of York Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My family stayed at the York Hotel for 3 nights on our last trip to Singapore - our second . We had booked a Premier room as the size of the room was large and provided a king bed and two singles. On arrival we were upgraded to a family suite which was amazing! Largest master bedroom I have ever seen, twin beds in a separate room, two bathrooms and a lounge area... It really made our stay so comfortable! Staff at the York were all friendly and helpful and The White Rose Cafe food is fantastic. We love visiting Singapore it's such a great family friendly place and our stay at the York made our visit all that more enjoyable. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the York Hotel as your preferred hotel accommodation in Singapore and we are delighted that this is your second stay and you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We are also glad that you appreciated the upgrade to a family suite and we would like to thank you for your endorsement on the size of our family suite which is big on space and ideal for family travellers. In addition, we are thrilled to hear that you found our service to be friendly and the White Rose Cafe food excellent.

Lastly, thank you once again for recommending others to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager of York Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

You use the York Hotel because of the position. So convenient, walkable from most places you want to see. The taxis all know it, the rooms are clean and decorated in a rather uninspiring but neutral grey.
Staff are helpful and the luggage room large for when you are passing through.
Food is OK but to be honest you will eat elsewhere, you have the richness of Singapore around you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are grateful that you took the time to review your stay with us. Cleanliness and service are important to us and it is a privilege to receive your kind compliments of our efforts in this area. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of our location.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to York Hotel on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager of York Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

At first, about its appearance. It's not likely a 4-star hotel i'll imagine, kinda old and not really modern or... new. But it's on Orchard Str so it's really great if you love shopping. When I first went to our room, it looked great and comfy. The room service was good too. Our room is on 17th floor, the wireless is really weak... If you move your position, you'll have to connect again. And I don't know why... It has 2 types: one normal type for surfing web, checking emails; and one type for downloading big files or watching online which costs 12$... I don't remember what type our room was, but it took us around 430$ per day, and yet no free breakfast? Also when I checked-in, I received a small card said I'd have a free drink in their White Rose cafe, turned out it was some kind of drink that not so good... And since York Hotel is a 4-star hotel, I thought it'd have a pool on top or something... But the pool is in another building, which you have to walk 5 mins to go to. I know you walk in Singapore, but this pool thing is not really confortable... I did enjoyed this 4-day vacation, though everything is expensive, but still I don't really like this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank LinhVIPBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie T, General Manager at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your comments concerning the convenience of our location and how much you have enjoyed the service of our staff. It is also our pleasure to know that our room has created a good and comfortable experience for you.

We do however apologise for the difficulties which you had encountered with our Wifi connection. We will be reviewing it with our IT department and where possible upgrade to enhance our guest's experience.

You may wish to know that our swimming pool is closed for renovation from 7 July to 15 September 2014 as part of our continuing efforts to constantly upgrade our facilities. We have however made arrangement for guests to use the swimming pool at Goodwood Park Hotel which is just next to York Hotel and our Front Desk staff will escort our guests there.

Lastly, we have taken note of your comments on a better plan with included meals and we would like to direct you to our hotel website where you will be able to make a direct booking with us at the guaranteed best rate.

We hope that you would be able to give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jessie Tan
General Manager of York Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#75 of 317 in Singapore
3,464 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#80 of 317 in Singapore
3,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#44 of 317 in Singapore
4,544 reviews
Orchard Road
YOTEL Singapore
YOTEL Singapore
#51 of 317 in Singapore
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Address: 21 Mount Elizabeth Street, Singapore 228516, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
#104 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £97 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing