We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropolitan YMCA Singapore
HKG
Level Contributor
263 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good price !”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights between 3/9 and 9/9 2012. The triple room is quite large with resonable price, and the toilet is good and large. Overall speaking is clean and neat.
This YMCA is near Orchard Road where lead you to everywhere in Singapore. Shuttle bus provided from hotel to Orchard Road, departs every hour on the hour, but only in the morning until 12 noon.
The buffet breakfast is just ok, good enough for a simply start in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    66
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
46
20
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I was at this hotel for 5 night while looking for an apartment to live in Singapore (job related). It is only 3 bus stops from Orchard Rd., the buses run very often and they are cheap ($0.65). You will at least half of what you would normally pay on Orchard. The hotel is often used by group tours from China, Thailand or Vietnam so the staff lacks western "refinement" but nevertheless they are very helpful. The hotel is clean, the room are efficiently large, large breakfast is included. They also have serviced apartments (about $3000 per month). I would stay there again.
They have a pool and a gym but the former is used by the kids in a swimming program and the latter is rather simple. Not a hotel to spend time at the pool - this is a place to explore the city. Hop on the bus, you are on Orchard and from there you can go allover by the subway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacektravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The reservation process was very smooth and very clear in their communication. I arrived quite early in the morning, like 12am and the check in was seamless. Paul, the night manager was very helpful! The staff are all very friendly and efficient with providing any and all information you request! The rooms are very simple but have very modern bathrooms. It was very comfortable for two nights sleep. In terms of location it was a little removed from everything but they do have a shuttle bus to orchard road, which is only about 15mins walk, but in the heat it does seem longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My siblings and I stayed in this hotel October of 2011. I was on a business trip while my siblings were on vacation. When we checked in, the lady at the front desk kept on insisting that the hotel voucher that I had with me was not the one that they were looking for. After a few minutes of explanation and discussion, she still couldn't understand me and she had to call for another person to validate my voucher. It was such a hassle considering that I just came from my flight and I wanted to lie down and rest. Perhaps they could employ front desk personnel who are more fluent in English.

I had no complaints about the room. It was big enough for my siblings and I, it was cool, it was clean, had a television and a ref. The room was not so fancy but it was very comfortable. The hotel had free shuttle service to Orchard. And if you can't catch that, hopping onto a bus is very accessible. Going back from wherever you are is not a problem too.

How I wish though that their breakfast buffet had more options. Although I like Chinese food, having more western choices would have been greatly appreciated. It would be a great help too if they have people in the resto who could understand and speak English.

The best thing I like about the hotel (aside from the fact that it is very affordable for Singapore standards where everything is expensive) is that it is nestled a few minutes away from the busy center. You could still see trees around it. It gives you the illusion that you are not in the middle of a concrete jungle and can have a peaceful night's sleep.

Over all, you get your money's worth in this hotel. Budget-wise, it's a sure winner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pebbles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here over the christmas period. The quad room was excellent value for money. The room was clean and tidy, and came with a refrigerator and a flat screen television. Had BBC on it so was good to keep up with news and weather. The breakfast was a combination of asian and western food(although I don't think its anywhere close to a full fried breakfast). They also provide a free shuttle to orchard MRT every morning on the hour until 12 pm. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel with good connections (Go for bus serivce 190, there is a service every 10-15 mins). Bus service 190 has a stop right in front of Dhoby Ghaut MRT station, which is an interchange for 3 differnt MRT lines. I found that the best way to explore singapore is to get one of the ezlink cards for $12 and use the public transport. The added bonus is that on the day of your departure you can get any spare cash that still remains on your ezlink card.

The Metropolitan staff were friendly and were happy to help anytime. The restaurant is good and serves some hearty asian delights. The clay pot fish curry was excellent and at $22, it can be shared between 2-3 people, which is good value.

Overall we had an excellent stay and we will stay again if we happen to visit singapore!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galenscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usak, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The room given to us was in very bad condition
1. very noisy water heater
2. the toilet bowl is very near the sink that when you sit on it, you will bump your head
3. the tissue paper holder is located very near the back of the toilet bowl that when you try to get tissue, the whole roll of tissue paper will come off
4. when you use the sink, WaTeR WiLL FloW BeHiNd the ToiLeT BoWL
5. curtains are very dirty
6. not sound proof
7. when you complain to the front desk, they will give you a blank sheet of paper to write all your comments
8. if you will request for a change of room, they will give you the smallest room and will tell you "YoU WiLL Be tHe OnE To BRiNg YoUr ThINgS To YoUr RoOm BeCaUsE YoU ReQUeSTeD To Be TrAnSFeRReD, NoT uS" which is no difference from the start since nobody helped us carry our luggages when we arrived there.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank complains c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

After spending 2 nights in the not so nice Geylan region of Singapore, I went online to find another hotel and manged to find this one. I highly recommend for travelers on a budget. The front desk manager Maria was fantastic at helping us. Apparently there is a ban on internet use by all locals on a Sunday and with it being Sunday, she was unable to check my reservation, unless she bent the rules, which she did. The room was very clean although basic, with updated bathrooms, free breakfast and for a free shuttle to Orchard road for shopping. (leaves in the morning only until 10am)The local bus is just a 1/2 block away and takes minutes. Also quite easy to get to the airport either by local metro or taxi.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk to arrange a taxi to the airport. (around $30 singapore)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judelup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 Fuji
#282 of 312 in Singapore
10 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#177 of 312 in Singapore
274 reviews
YMCA One Orchard
#21 of 227 in Singapore
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blanc Inn
#37 of 227 in Singapore
180 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Sleepy Kiwi Backpackers Hostel
ABC Premium Hostel
#94 of 227 in Singapore
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan YMCA Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan YMCA Singapore

Property: Metropolitan YMCA Singapore
Address: 60 Stevens Road, Singapore 257854, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan YMCA Singapore 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone's throw away from dazzling Orchard Road and nestled amidst refreshing greenery just minutes away UNESCO World Heritage Site The Singapore Botanical Gardens, The Metropolitan Y is sure to delight you during your stay in Singapore. 98 Well appointed rooms and 27 apartments/suites, you are sure to find one to meet your needs. Friendly and knowledgeable Front Desk agents are ready to help you co-ordinate your stay in fabulous Singapore! We are a non-profit social enterprise, all our proceeds goes towards our community work locally. When you stay or dine with us, you help us in our greater purpose! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Zenrooms, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan YMCA Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Ymca Singapore Hotel Singapore
Metropolitan Ymca Hotel Singapore
Ymca Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing