We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sucks hotel”
Review of Summer View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Summer View Hotel
Ranked #120 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Same breakfast everyday...staff are not trained well.. no manners... ..............................breakfast are everyday same...same...same.. wasted money to this hotel...smelly carpet..the indian waiter are no manners..

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a small and old hotel and was undergoing some renovation works when we visited for a 4 day and 3 night stay. But i know that this is a budget hotel and its not as grandiose and as shiny as the other hotels in the area but it wasn't totally uncomfortable either. There were a lot of good things about this hotel, one of which is its great location. its just a block away from Bugis street, just a stones throw away from Sim Lim Square, with several small malls, hawker centers, fast food joints (Mcdonald, Burger King, KFC) and 7-11 convenience stores just around the area. So bargain shopping and eating was never a problem, from the cheapest to the expensive, and they were all walking distance from the hotel. Another thing i loved about this hotel was the free wifi which has a fast connection, very good when using your smartphones, tablets. The staff was also very friendly and helpful especially when you want to ask them about where to go in Singapore, especially Mel, the filipino desk clerk, who i can easily talk comfortably in Filipino, always greeting me with a smile and a wave whenever i passby the front desk. its like meeting a long lost friend in singapore. But the other singaporean staff were also nice and courteous and helpful, and all are fluent in english so communication was never a problem. Best of all...this hotel provides free shuttle bus service to Sentosa island, where Universal Studios and the water cove theme park is located. This is really a big plus if you are travelling on a limited budget, since taxi fares are not cheap. check in was also fast and efficient. we arrived at the hotel, much too early than the usual check in time which was 2pm (we arrived at 10am). and they allow us to do early check in at no extra charge. the rooms were small but it was roomy enough for us two adults and our luggages with still room to walk around. beds were comfortable enough and aircon was centralized and cool.

what were the things i didn't like? no free toiletries in the bathroom. but this wasn't really a big deal since i always travel with my own toiletries, and a 7-11 convenience store is just across the street if you need extra. they are presently undergoing renovations during our stay so it can be a bit noisy during the daytime, but the noise was quite tolerable, not headache inducing.there were only two electrical outlet in the entire room, so it can be quite inconvenient if you have a lot of gadgets or small appliances that needs electricity. you ask for your outlet socket adaptor from the front desk and the hotel will ask for a 10S$ deposit for the adaptor, refundable once you return the adaptor. if you don't want to borrow, you can buy one at 7-11 for 8S$ a piece. the free breakfast buffet serves continental style breakfast, hotdogs, egg, toast, cereals, fruit juice and coffee which wasn't really that bad.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for a room with windows 2. Bring your own toiletries or buy them from across the street (7-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is in a great location, with a bus stop opposite taking you to Sentosa Island for free! The Bugis Markets are a 2 mins walk away! Theres shops nearby and a grocery shop right opposite.
The hotel is in need of updating, all very old-fashioned and quite dirty. The hotel was being updated when we were there.
The hotel staff were excellent - especially the receptionists. Nothing was ever too much for them. They helped us plan all the excursions.

Overall i would return to the hotel, as the staff were friendly and location was brilliant. Just needs updating...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer_fmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

In good position. Hop on/off bus stops opposite hotel.

Hotel is woefully dated and scruffy. Staff were very nice.

They have started refurbishing the hotel while remaining open, which is not good.

Restaurant is like transport cafe and the buffet breakfast is basic at best.

This hotel is just a step above a hostel.

Find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TimJames1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a small friendly hotel in a convenient location and only a few hundred yards from the main areas such as Clarke Quay and Raffles and is very competitively priced for a hotel in Singapore.
The room was small but adequate and clean and the buffet breakfast had a reasonable choice for a three star hotel. The staff were polite and friendly. The rooms and public areas are looking a little "tired" but the hotel is undergoing major refurbishment on a floor by floor basis and the work is scheduled to be completed by the end of July from commencement in February. Most of the work is being done between 9am and 5pm so is not too inconvenient for guests using the hotel just as a base and care has been taken not to cause any disruption to hotel services during these refurbishment works and as a result did not affect our stay too much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

From the airport itself- the taxi driver knew about hotel & street name – we had no problems in finding this hotel.The Check-in process was smooth and there were no hassles.Room were small with centralized Aircon. Small television set with limited channels was available. Drinking water was only available in filled jugs in room; however 7/11 is just opposite the street. Reception staff was very helpful in guiding us way to sentosa. Free shuttle stops by at hotel doorstep every hour...!! Wi-fi was complimentary with password lock; although speed-signal was little weaker than expected; we could finish our mails in time. Breakfast was okay with enough choice for morning. Finding a taxi on street outside the hotel was 10-15min delay.The check-out too was smooth & staff helped us pick-up a taxi back to airport at 0345am early morning. Special mention of Ms. Yinnie who was helpful guide for us to move around in singapore !

Room Tip: All rooms are good; some rooms are already under renovation. hopefully it will only be better for al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank king-kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

If budget is on top of your priority list in an expensive place like Singapore, then this is the hotel for you. Don't expect much though.

The room is small and old. To be fair they are renovating the place. The construction works are scheduled during check-in time. Really brilliant.

The shower head is on top of the bath tub. So climb and enjoy the water like taking a bath in a big basin. And again, all stuff are old.

Be early for the buffet breakfast. It can be too crowded.

Located in the good part of Bugis as well.

It is cheap. Still, up to you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank jaysantos_dot_ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel G Singapore
Hotel G Singapore
#73 of 319 in Singapore
1,494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#63 of 319 in Singapore
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#146 of 319 in Singapore
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#70 of 319 in Singapore
6,712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kai
Hotel Kai
#156 of 319 in Singapore
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#151 of 319 in Singapore
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer View Hotel

Address: 173 Bencoolen Street Summer View Hotel, Singapore 189642, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer View Hotel is centrally situated just 300 metres from Rochor MRT Station. Boasting an accessible location, the cosy hotel offers a restaurant and free WiFi. Hotel Summer View is a 20-minute drive from Changi International Airport. The hotel is located next to Sim Lim Square and a 10-minute drive from popular Orchard Road. Rooms at Summer View have modern designs with a touch of home. Fully air-conditioned, rooms have a fridge, satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms feature a standing shower. The hotel provides a postal service and a 24-hour currency exchange service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Summer View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer View Singapore
Hotel Summer View
Summer View Hotel Singapore
Summerview Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing