We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad front desk customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #101 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very bad front desk customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The front line manager Raymond Lin was very rude when attending to me.
I was in a hurry checking out but 2 he and the other staff were busily chatting with each other while attending to other hotel guest. And when I tried to approach him, he said to me very rudely "not only you are checking out now others are checking out now too!" But I was glad someone in front of me offered to let me skipped his queue. Because of this i have had a very unpleasant there because the staff Raymond Lim who is representing miramar hotel, did not demonstrate the right service attitude that should be given to the guest. He should be the one who's solving our problem and not creating one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MabelKOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    443
    219
    45
    24
See reviews for
157
433
68
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I understand that Singapore is one of the most expensive places to stay however the miramar was disappointing in respect to getting value for money. We took a three day stopover. The rooms are very tired, cramped and in need of a revamp if it's to retain its so called 4 star rating. The pool looked nice however we were unable to use it as it was closed for maintenance although they did say we could use the pool in the hotel next door if we wanted to. Breakfast was included however didn't come near my expectations. Thinking it may have been our late start we arrived for breakfast at 8.00 the next day and then 6.30 the following day. Unfortunately it made no difference. Unless you want fruit and toast only forget it. The choice of 'hot' food was cold and withered on all three mornings. Location of the hotel was good as we caught taxis to the gardens by the bay, night zoo etc and they were well priced. Tour hop on hop off bus stops at door of hotel. Staff were courteous and helpful. This hotel looks nothing like the photos presented on their website. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzieBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Travelling home from Europe we decided to book a Singapore Stopover to help reduce the jet lag we suffered from on our last rip when we traveled straight through. We chose the Miramar Hotel as it was mid price range. We took the full package that was offered which gave us free entrance to many attractions around Singapore. After an overnight flight from Milan we arrived at the hotel late morning and asked if we could book in early as we had had a long trip. The staff were very helpful and found rooms that were ready and allowed the early book in. The rooms on the 14th floor were spaceous, very clean and comfortable. Good Wifi and it's free.
We had most of our meals at the hotel as part of the stopover deal includes 50% off meals at the hotel you stay at. Buffet breakfast was very nice and plentiful. At night we had the seafood buffet with Asian and western food priced at $42 per person and that included beer and soft drinks (very good value) so with the 50% off, we got two for the price of one.
With the Singapore Stopover you get vouchers for free entry into many attraction like the new Gardens by the Bay which was a wonderful sight to see. We went mid afternoon, toured the gardens, had a bite to eat opposite the Skywalk and stayed to watch the lighting show which is on every night at 7.45 and 8.45pm. We also had free entrance to the Skywalk and what a colourful view we had of the surounding areas. We had to tavel from the hotel to the gardens by taxi but taxi's are cheap in Singapore and it only cost S$8.
There is also a hop on hop off bus with the stopover tickets and the bus stop was out the front of the hotel which allowed us to shop in Orchard Road and China Town where there were many good bargins to be had. .
We also visited Sentosa Island, did the cable car ride and went up the tower. There were many other interesting places with free entrance but we ran out of time (two days not enough).
Our flight was not due to leave until 12.45 am and normal check out is noon. We asked if we could have later check out and were told no problem but we must vacate by 2pm. Miramar also has two guest room on 5th floor (shower, towels, tiolet and sitting room) where people who have booked out and waiting for flights can freshen up, it is a great service.
If I return to Singapore I would definitely book a stay over at this hotel, clean, comfortable, friendly helpful staff, good food and great location

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool; it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't fault it. Reception staff were super efficient & friendly & the porters outstanding. The concierge was great, very friendly & helpful. We had breakfast & dinner in the restaurant & were great value for money. Again, the service was outstanding. Everyone in this hotel provided excellent service. There was free internet throughout the hotel & an internet centre with a printer.
Our room was great - big & roomy, clean & very well appointed. It was super quiet with great black out curtains. Excellent bathroom! They are older style but in top condition.
There is a bus stop right out the front door and all the hop on hop off buses stop there.
Overall, a top mid range hotel with excellent staff, facilities. & rooms. Best hotel I have stayed at in Singapore over many years.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dashman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Miramar is not in a central location however the sightseeing bus and other buses stop right outside the hotel- a quiet hotel where you can get a really good sleep
Unfortunately the concierge staff were useless often giving us wrong advice-their English was limited! e.g. "where can I buy hair conditioner?"(as they only had a conditioning shampoo in room which doesnt suit me) They told me I had to go to Chinatown on a bus and train when there is EXCELLENT shopping centre within 5-10mins walking distance along the river- Superb shops- even a Marks and Spencer-.and a cinema! Also there was a complete muck up on our shuttle bus to airport- the reception let us down and we had to do a quick taxi in the end- they also tried to charge us double amount on postage stamps- the extra being for their "trouble"in posting them
However the pool was excellent and didn't have that "oh so common" heavy chlorine feel-they need to have a later closing time than 7 pm- many hotel pools close at 9 pm- it was closed when we arrived in HOT from airport- our hotel room was larger than many newer hotels in Singapore and we were lucky to have a wonderful view over the river- unfortunately many rooms don't have this- the buffet breakfast had no soya milk and had poor refined breads so we had to buy out own grain bread and milk - many mornings there was no muesli and we had to ask for it as we don't eat refined coco pops etc. The main buffet restaurant has a wonderful 2 -for one deal from Mon to Thurs for lunch which is very good value with lovely seafood.You can walk to Clarke Quay which is a plus! as there are many fine restaurants along the river- unfortunately they seem to allow outdoor restaurant smoking so for a non smoker it can be a ordeal of a walk!
Great entertainment some night with excellent singers in the bar- there was a musty smell in the passages and in our room and the carpets were old and ensuites need remodelling altho we did enjoy having bath so overall a good 3 star experience- and good value for money in Singapore

Room Tip: You need to be in the newer wing facing down the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriaJ1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwar, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for overnight. The hotel was booked by company. The room was just Ok. Not that good, as the furniture looked cheap and irregular fit in the room. The view from room was good but food was japanese/Chinese which was a down thing as I don't eat much of it.there was very less choices in buffet dinner. Over all only 3 stars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon South, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We had prebooked our stay here on return leg from Europe. we were told it was close to shopping district etc .it is not! The only way to get around is by taxi.we asked staff about bus routes and they basically ignored us not even telling us we had to cross the street to catch bus into orchard road area.the bell hops are more customer focused than the reception staff. We found if we needed any thing just ask them and they would help.food and drink prices in hotel are very high.we had lunch in Chinese restraint and were charged for tap water with ice and for the refresher towel and the beans they put on the table when you sit down even though you don't get the chance to say you don't want them.if you want to shop there are many hotels closer to the areas.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#109 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re!
#124 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Furama City Centre
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#151 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 401 Havelock Road Hotel Miramar, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#85 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing