We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #103 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Positive points: good location, near Clark Quay, good food, friendly staff
Negative points: small oldish room, the airco trying with zero success to make the air cooler and a persistent feeling that they could do everything better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorena2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    454
    224
    49
    24
See reviews for
162
443
69
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our second stopover and our experience was nothing short of fantastic. Comparing it with a different hotel that we stayed at on our first stopover it was considerably better. The room was spacious and clean. Well equipped and the bed comfortable. We had room 811. We had a couple of swims in the good sized clean swimming pool. Extra towels are supplied for guests. We were encouraged by staff to use the guest lounge after we checked out and enjoyed a freshup shower while waiting for our airport shuttle. Towels, soaps etc in good supply. The staff were very helpful and we were able to get access to our room early. Checkout was midday which we thought very good. Breakfast was plentiful and the hours excellent for travellers, 6.30am to 10.30am which is longer than usual breakfast hours. Location was excellent. Walking distance to Clarke Quay and China town and the HOP ON HOP OFF bus stop directly outside the hotel. Good free wifi. We are glad we ignored the other Trip Advisor reviews and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
265 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

its an old hotel. so do expect older rooms with the cigarette smelling from each floor. You cannot help it as most asians smoke like chimneys and everywhere possible. No matter if u r on a non-smoking floor. the AC, carpet, curtains all circulate n store that nicotine smell.

we didnt visit their restaurants. However the live band at their bar was open till 1am and surely a place for locals and 45-50+ groups. Thats all of the patrons we saw.

Drinks ordered from another restaurant of the same hotel not allowed inside their own bar here. So hv to order separately.
FOOD - dont even try it - popcorn was COLD & SOFT!! No requests heeded. Veg grill sandwich was pathetic!!! No butter on dry toast, with one leaf of cabbage, sundried tomato in it... THATS IT!!!! and u pay SG$18 for it. COME ON!!! SUBWAY IS BETTER AND CHEAPER & FRESHER & TASTIER.

nothing nearby - only a gas station that is open 24hrs. Clarke Quay is 15-20 mins good walk from here.
Hotels in this area seem to be a bit disconnected from what Singapore is now more famous with its marina bay, orchard blvd, new bridge road, restaurants n bars.
But surely none of the hotels are disappointing.
CAN STAY!! CHOICES ARE MANY - SUGGEST TO OPT WITH BREAKFAST

Room Tip: our floor did smell of smoke - cant help it - you are in asia!! pool, gym, spa is located in anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince71272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a hotel in a great location not a resort and should be reviewed as such.
If you want a clean comfortable room and can make do without having the latest modern decor this is a great place to stay.
Taxi fares to Sentosa, Chinatown, Little India and Kampung Glam ranged from $7 to $9, even to the zoo only cost $19.( Meet another family of 3 at the zoo that payed more on the train and bus to get to the zoo and it took them an hour and a half to get there compared to our 20 min $19 ride)
If there are couple of you Taxis are a great convenient way to explore Singapore. We used the hotel as our base for 8 days and had no time to use the pool or gym as we wanted to be out and about. I did not get the breakfast package included as I wanted to try out different places for meals. There are a great variety of cafes and restaurants just minutes walk across the river, just cross the overhead bridge right in front of the hotel and walk across the road bridge to the other side of the river and explore the river walkway for food places. ( use google maps and zoom in on the area to show how close and how many food establishments are close by) Also with taxi fares so low you can go and try the hawker food centers and have a great meal for much less that you would pay in the restaurant.
I would definitely stay at the Miramar again as it compares well with a lot of the hotels I have to stay in while working around Queensland, just do not expect a 5 star brand new room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 13th floor that was no smoking and overlooked the pool, had no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've joined up on Trip Advisor specifically to air my views as my stay left such a negative impression on me. I do hope the hotel notes these statements and does something!

When we checked in (albeit rather early at around 7am), there was no airconditioning at all in the female toilet on ground floor (lobby) when I used it – to the point where a person could easily pass out in there from the lack of air and circulation, and stuffiness. I sincerely hope it was just a cost cutting measure as they figured not many people would be using the public toilet at that time of the day - I didn't dare return to test my hypothesis.

This theme keeps recurring on this site - furnishings are in need of updating. Bedside tables are a hazard for guests! It would be easy enough to roll over and knock your head or an eye out on the corner of the bedside tables. I was very conscious of this every night!
Frustrating to use basin tap and shower head – there was only one strength the water pressure was set to (maximum) and couldn’t adjust said tap and shower head easily to any other setting.

We checked out at 4:15am and whilst I understand it is pretty much the “graveyard shift”, there were 2 staff on duty at the front reception. One attended to us, whilst the other continued to have his eyes glued to something obviously non-work related online (watching some sort of movie or media). It was so unprofessional and offensive to be ignored in this manner. I would at least hope he could pause it, mute it, or pretend to do some work?? The volume of whatever he was watching was loud enough to spread through the whole lobby as we had to sit to wait for our airport transfers bus. I considered making a formal complaint about this but did not see any point hence am on Trip Advisor instead. Back to the airconditioning – they obviously do try to reduce running costs as at this time of day, it was also turned to very low in the lobby when we were checking out.

Charges were ridiculously inflated – we had friends visit us and pick us up and they went to the café by the lobby to buy a can of drink and was told it would be $5.60 SGD. We were also charged $1 SGD for making a local call from our room. In this day and age, I was under the impression that hotels provide complimentary local calls. Any opportunity to slap on charges, it seemed, and they did. And any opportunity to save money, they have, evidenced by the outdated furnishings.

Overall it’s a hotel that is pretending that it has kept up with the times – it hasn’t. Pictures are misleading on their website. I'm grateful for a roof over my head whilst on holiday, but that's about it! And take everyone else's advice, skip the buffet breakfast. There are decent eateries ("eating houses" and small food centres) at nearby HDB flats on Havelock Rd.

Room Tip: We were in the "newer" section, I think, but you have to walk through the restaurant (buff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wwlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Miramar for a 2 night stopover last week. We wanted somewhere comfortable but affordable. Perhaps Singapore is a more expensive place to stay than I'd bargained, as this proved to be quite a disappointment. The room was quite dated and in need of freshening up. The beds were reasonably comfortable but the shower was awful. After much adjustment, the best I could manage was piercingly sharp needles of water at waist level (preferable to directly at my face). At least, after a maintenance call on Day 2, the drain in the bath was unclogged so I didn't have to stand in calf-deep water. Anchoring a hair dryer inside the desk drawer next to the tv rather than in the bathroom is not very guest-friendly in a twin room. And neither is the stinginess of not replacing a second t-bag for a 2 night stay for 2 people, or limiting bottled water to 2 small bottles.

The staff were variable - from very rude in two instances to polite and helpful, depending on who you encountered.

Breakfast was included but, as another recent reviewer noted, stick to basic toast or cereal. Even at a very early hour, everything else (sausages, pastries, roti, whatever) was hard and barely room temperature, as if it had all been pre-cooked or thawed and had not yet been warmed through. A bunch of entirely green bananas was also unacceptable as a fruit offering.

The pool didn't look anything like the photos online (see the photo from our window), and didn't entice us to try it out.

On leaving, I figured that there seemed to be a newer section to the hotel (same restaurant and pool, though). Maybe you could give that a go. We won't be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brislin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first break in Singapore, en route to Sabah. We stayed for three nights and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were buffet style and more than adequate. Staff were very helpful. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as it was located very near to the Singapore River where there is a large choice of restaurants 5-15 minutes walk away.
Our bedroom overlooked the main road, but we had no problems with traffic noise. I'm not sure how expensive the hotel cost as it was part of a larger package including flights and a second location, but there was at least one couple who had used this hotel several times as a stopover.
The swimming pool was a reasonable size and provided a welcome cooling off
location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#105 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#275 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,756 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#115 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 401 Havelock Road Hotel Miramar, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#87 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing