We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
Ranked #174 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very basic. Small but clean. Rooms and hotel itself are small. Wifi password changes every 24hours. You have to go to the front desk and ask for it. The location is ok. Breakfast was buffet, it was ok. Staffs are very friendly and nice.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    206
    163
    60
    38
See reviews for
113
113
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed here for one night at the end of my trip through Asia. The location is ideal, the rooms are clean and well equipped and the staff will go out of their way to help you. I had a late flight from Singapore but had to check out of my room by 12 o'clock. Without asking, I was offered somewhere to store my luggage for the day, and a towel and shower space at any time before I left for the airport. The breakfast was basic, but nice enough. The room was perfect for me, and the hotel provided towels and toiletries for my stay.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for solo travellers or couples. Metro close by and plenty of places to eat as well! Great stay in Singapore!

Room Tip: I was in room 8505. I think the rooms to the back of the hotel are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were average for a budget hotel and acceptably clean. Breakfast was disorganized. The free wifi is limited to only 5 hours, and you have to physically go to the front desk when you want the wifi time to begin. Since there is only 1 key and that key is required to run the electricity in the room, you can't go down to the lobby to start the wifi without leaving your roommate in the dark. It's ridiculous that they cannot just provide a wifi code like most hotels. If wifi is important in your hotel decision, don't stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kickthecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My husband & i stayed here for 4 days & 3 nights. The stay was pleasant. The staff was all friendly, room was not so spacious but still good enough for both of us, Toilet was also clean. Location is also good (there is an ongoing construction though, but we hardly notice them coz we were out the whole day) because it is near Dhoby ghaut, bras basah & bugis train stations & if u want to ride a bus it will only take u less than 5 mins (more or less 150m) to reach the station. I dont know for some, but they have the same menu for breakfast since the our first day til we checked out. But overall... twas Great!

Helpful?
2 Thank THsexy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

First rule of hotels - you get what you pay for. I was on a tighter budget for this stay in Singapore than previous trips. I chose the Bencoolen because it was close to the hotel I used to stay at, but it was half the price. I had asked for a high floor - knowing that there are ongoing roadworks outside the hotel to construct the new MRT station. Big mistake - I was put in a dreadful room with a window screwed slightly open (for some reason), thus allowing sound in. Room was also obviously lacking in any upgrading. I complained and was moved to a room on the other side of the building on lower floor - bath, not just shower, this time, room in much better condition.

From then on things went well - staff were extremely friendly, chatty, and keen to help - although sometimes overwhelmed by large parties of guests. Breakfast was pretty good. One odd thing - you can control the temperature and speed of the fan for the air-con but if you turn the a/c off, you have to ask reception to turn it back on, you can't do it yourself. Why on earth have that?

Spa area and (outdoors) gym basic but nice.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on road-side or higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean but very cold. AC cannot be controlled from the room even though there is a control. Bathroom is clean and good size. 2nd floor has a nice & clean outdoor swimming pool. Internet in the room and breakfast is included.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Semolina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

nice hotel absoloutly friendly staff. very nice spa area awsome pool. ok nearby a construction but thats not a permanent thing to claim. soap, toothburst, AC made some struggles but ok. price ok. clean, very very good location cheap for ERP (central singapore). room was small but thats normal in singapore

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippieBackPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
V Hotel Bencoolen
#167 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Strand Hotel
#148 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#115 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,270 reviews
Summer View Hotel
#103 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Hotel YAN
#58 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street

Property: Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
Address: 47 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189626, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bencoolen Hotel Singapore
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing