We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Budget Stay for the Family”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #155 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Great Budget Stay for the Family”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We had a difficult time finding a room in Singapore that would house a family of four in one room without having to purchase two rooms. Fortunately we found this hotel and they gave us a room four four with a view of the park. It had air conditioning, a shower and room for all of us.
It's a very clean, well run hotel close to the dhouby ghat MRT station.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodyDominical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    342
    235
    60
    35
See reviews for
214
158
68
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I spent 8 days in this hotel for a conference. The hotel is ideally located as the underground is nearby and there is a large shopping mall in the vicinity. The facilities of the hotel are basic. Rooms are reasonably large and clean. What I like most is the wood floor without any carpet. The bed is the best I have ever had in hotel rooms for years, it is simply firm but very comfortable. The restaurant serves standard food with quite a few varieties (local, eastern and western cuisine) but the fact that I had stayed there for 8 days made the food less attractive. There is a pretty nice outdoor swimming pool too. One thing I find most inconvenient is the lack of WiFi service at the lobby. The hotel charges for use of WiFi which is fair enough. But it is quite unbelievable that WiFi service is not available free of charge even at the hotel lobby. I paid for the use of WiFi at a pretty high rate ('cos I had to stay there for 8 days) but at any one time, only one device can be connected with WiFi. So guests need to think twice before choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Ohk on our way to NZ we stopped by for 2 days here. I have to say that our room was quiet big, nice view. Very close to the train station just across from the other side, if you pass through the mall next door. The breakfast was awesome. Dinner on our first night we just walk to the mall next door there's plenty of restaurant at the ground floor .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very good hotel. The room was comfortable and nice with generous breakfast that suits all tastes. The location is good and the garden close by is charming.
Be aware that if you aren't YMCA member you will have to pay couple of dollars extra.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_F_Sydney_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Conveniently located. Two minutes from the center but very protected from bruit. Personnel sympathique. Existence a laudrette where everyone can wash, dry and iron its warm linge. Patio which found smokers. Breakfast is varied and ... excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The location of this hotel is terrific .MRT accross the road and very close to Orchard Road,10 minute walk to Clarke Quay and very easy to access shopping and many of Singapores tourist attractions .Room was average but clean and well equiped .
Breakfast was ok and if you get there about 0930 they do not refill supplys .
Staff where not friendly and we felt it was take,take at all times .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Basic and small room, hard beds, reasonable breakfast. Popular with school groups, there were lots of students when we were there. Easy to get to the MRT station through the mall parkade - take the elevator down from the 4th level to the ground floor and cross the street. It is pricey for what it offers, but easy access to transportation and shops makes it a good choice for a short stay in an expensive city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electronicpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Innotel
#90 of 314 in Singapore
417 reviews
Hotel Fort Canning
#33 of 314 in Singapore
1,210 reviews
Strand Hotel
#152 of 314 in Singapore
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#240 of 314 in Singapore
847 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#163 of 314 in Singapore
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Property: Fort Canning Lodge
Address: 6 Fort Canning Road YWCA, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing