We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #161 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Only issue was with the beds, they are on casters so getting in and out of bed causes it to move. The hotel is OK. Only stayed here because a group of friends were staying here. Breakfast was adequate. Although in a quiet neighbourhood it is only a 5 minute walk to Orchard Road and the MTR.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kernowtraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    336
    231
    60
    35
See reviews for
210
157
67
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
225 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A large group of us checked into the Lodge for a reunion and we were heartedly embraced by Nathan the duty manager. The room I had overlooked an office block which unfortunately meant keeping the curtains drawn during the day. The bathroom was spotless with plenty of hot water anytime of day. The only downside was the lack of face washer and the towels small & a bit threadbare. Being a tea drinker, more than two teabags a day & a small milk would have been appreciated.
Location is handy to Orchard Rd. Dhoby Gaut MRT, Cold Storage & Hop on Hop off bus stop just a short walk.
Breakfast staff were delightful and the breakfast plentiful though at times the cooked food was not hot.
Wifi charges are expensive however you can choose included breakfast or wifi. Also good to note that the money earned by this hotel supports its charity that looks after disadvantaged women so profits go towards a worthy cause. Overall reasonable value and I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingfoodie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel well located (a 3 min walk from a metro station with several lines) and a very good value for money. We had a family room (4 single beds that can very easily move to a double bed if needed). The room was very spacious. Possibility to add a bed for baby and more. The bedding is good and the equipment quite correct.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayNaobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel, simple and clean, is really great. It is next to a "node" metro station (Dhoby Ghaut), which allows you to have access to the entire city without much travel time. The breakfast is ok and friendly welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desmond122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Fort Canning Lodge for 5 days. Satisfied my expectations. Its a three star hotel but no worries they have clean rooms and very friendly staff. 3 mins walk to Orchard road 2mins to Dhoby Ghaut station. We requested a room facing the park and higher floor and it's all good. Rooms are quiet big and clean toilet and bath down side is that they have hard beds. Complimentry wifi for 2 if you book on their hotel website. Will stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Misslittletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a great hotel if you are on a budget and really just need somewhere to a comfortable clean place to stay in Singapore, the staff are friendly, rooms clean, wifi good, its not 5 star but overall is a really good place to stay, would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nm01Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I chose this hotel from an online site that didn't make the YWCA connection clear so the extra charge was a little unexpected. Rooms were ok but I found the beds very hard. I like a firm mattress but these were like rocks. The charges for wifi are high and during my stay the pool was taken over by what appeared to be a kids swimming club in the late afternoon so it was effectively out of use for guests. Even when it was free it was hardly a place to relax as there were just two hard plastic loungers with no cushions in sight and some plastic chairs. It felt like a rather old style community pool. I picked the hotel for cost and location but it proved that in an expensive city like Singapore if it seems to good to be true it probably is. Would I return? I'd have to be pretty desperate if I did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innotel
Hotel Innotel
#91 of 312 in Singapore
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fort Canning
Hotel Fort Canning
#38 of 312 in Singapore
1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#151 of 312 in Singapore
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#159 of 312 in Singapore
1,293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Property: Fort Canning Lodge
Address: 6 Fort Canning Road YWCA, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing