We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big rooms”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #154 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“big rooms”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

POSITIVE: Quite near MRT station and Orchard Road. Rooms are spacious.
NEGATIVE: No free internet connection even in the lobby. Room rates are a little bit expensive.
Staffs at reception are not very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marybeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    339
    233
    60
    35
See reviews for
212
157
68
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A group of us who were at school in Singapore back in the 1960s and now live all over the world were back to celebrate our school's 50th anniversary. A number of us chose to stay here due to its value for money, ideal location (Dhobi Gaut MRT just 5 minutes away, Fort Canning Park next door, Orchard Rd over the road, Collyer Quay just a few minutes walk away), and its reputation as a fine place to stay. And we were not disappointed. When I'm back this way next time I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Once you get past the rude staff at the desk, it only gets worse....
Unfortunately for us we booked a family room here, wanted to cancel as soon as we viewed room but we couldn't, credit card was swiped at desk
- Room is run down, ask to see room before forwarding credit card
- Bathroom not cleaned properly
- Cannot turn aircon down, old controller doesn't work
- Booked a family room, double & single only, booked for four, picture clearly showed 2 dbl beds
- THEY WANT $95 extra per night for extra single bed
PAY MORE, AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was ok. There's nothing spectacular about this hotel but it does the job of providing accommodation, a comfortable bed, a hot shower and a plenty space to sprawl around. We chose it for it's location - a 5 minute walk from Orchard Road and Dhoby Ghaut MRT station. From here you can go (pretty much) anywhere! The wifi was questionable at times and our neighbours were noisy but the staff managed to sort them out...sort of. The only disappointment was the lack of coordination when a fire alarm went off - after walking down 12 flights of stairs we found disorganisation and disinterest from the member of staff on the front desk. We never found out what happened, but went back to our room 15 minutes later when the alarm had ended. All in all I'd recommend Fort Canning lodge for the location, and if you're not too fussed about the room then it makes for a good stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lemoneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at Fort Canning Lodge (my wife, 2 year old daughter, 3 month old son, and myself). The room we had (604) was very spacious, accommodating a queen size bed, single bed, and cot. Everything was very clean and the room was well furnished. The air-conditioner worked well which was a must for us. The bed was a little uncomfortable but we still slept well. Wifi internet is free and speed is good.

The staff were always helpful and full of smiles.

We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant every morning and always left feeling satisfied. We also had dinner in the restaurant one night and were very happy with both the meals and the prices. Only problem is they are not licensed so we could not enjoy an alcoholic beverage with our dinner.

The pool on level 3 is an excellent size, boasting sunny and shady spots. It did get busy around 4:00PM due to swimming classes.

Location is excellent, close to lots of shopping malls (we frequented the Baskin Robbin's at Plaza Singapura, sometimes twice a day ...). We also managed to walk to the Marina in about 45 minutes. There is a park across the road and a fantastic museum only a stone's throw away (I highly recommend checking out the museum, it was amazing).

Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kingreedstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is within walking distance to the MRT station (Dhoby Gaut) and some shopping malls and restaurants. The hotel staff are very attentive and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious, but the only problem I had was the bed because when I get up, it moves. The view from our room is overlooking the park and the pool. The buffet breakfast is okay, they have wide selection. The price is reasonable, also. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krishnaruizramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had a wonderful 8 days stay and could not fault it. We were made welcome from the moment we walked through the door by the very attentive staff, and the duty manager Nathan..Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and had all the facilities we needed for a comfortable stay, Nice firm beds with crisp white linen, fresh towels and toiletries, tea making and a very useful fridge. We had a 9th floor room overlooking the park and Clemenceau Avenue, and a glimpse of the swimming pool. Breakfast had sufficient choice to suit everybody and plentiful tea and coffee.
The hotel is ideally situated close to Orchard Road and Dhoby Ghaut MTR station, and bus routes..a short walk takes you to the night life of Clarke Quay. Singapura Plaza is also nearby with many shops and eating places plus a large Cold Storage.
Yes an excellent stay and I would stay again and recommend it. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: All similar so not important..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Innotel
#92 of 312 in Singapore
414 reviews
Hotel Fort Canning
#33 of 312 in Singapore
1,190 reviews
Strand Hotel
#145 of 312 in Singapore
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Bencoolen
#161 of 312 in Singapore
1,306 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
#231 of 312 in Singapore
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Property: Fort Canning Lodge
Address: 6 Fort Canning Road YWCA, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing