We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austere simplicity....nothing fancy...location, location, location”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #159 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Austere simplicity....nothing fancy...location, location, location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed in in the "quad" family room July 2014. This is a big room....ours was on the corner w/ view to Ft Canning Park. I like the fact that rooms are simple and NOT luxurious. Other reviewers who complain about the food or the fact that there are groups of kids....hey, get a clue. This is the YWCA. If you want luxury, go to Raffles or the Fullerton. I LIKED the breakfast...tons of choices. This place has also got location, location, location. Fantastic food choices across Dhoby Ghaut station in the Plaza Singapura (lower floors). Bus lines and MRT right there. There is a pool! I researched various rooms online prior to this, my first trip to Singapore with family....very hard to find a hotel that had room that would hold 4 pax...this one beat the others on location and price. But I had no idea that it would exceed my (modest) expectations. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: corner quad 5th floor....it was quiet for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    334
    229
    58
    34
See reviews for
209
153
66
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This place is as dull as they come, the rooms are dull, the breakfast selection is just as dull. The hotel is extremely loud as each room is fitted with a super strong door closer, so all you here is each door banging closed. Also they seem to cater for large tour groups who arrive on mass and the yell up and down the hall ways, coming in and out of the rooms, with the doors going Bang, Bang, Bang. We woke up one night with a strong smell of cigarette smoke in our room, we reported it but nothing happened. If you want to use the pool then be ware that it is used for after school swimming lessons, then water aerobics. The price was also a bit much but we used the booking site connected to their website which has a no refund policy. I did call the Parkroyal on beach road and enquirer to the price per night and they were 20 dollars cheaper. Have stayed in many hotels in many different countries and actually live in India for four years and have stayed in some strange places, but this place although stating "we serve on another with love" or something like that, they actually seem to only serve the dollar and how much profit they can make.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The view from our 11th Floor Family Room was great, especially at night. Short walk through adjacent Park Mall car park to Dhoby Gaut MRT station, buses or a short walk to Plaza Singapura on Orchard Road. The room was big and en suite also big. Very clean. We could have had breakfast there but had it elsewhere on our way to see attractions. MRT is close to Chinatown. We stayed 2 nights but will stay again when next in Singapore. Free WiFi in our room but only for one device at a time. Make sure your taxi driver knows where it is as there is another similar named hotel nearby. Good choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights and 8 days on the 11th floor. There’s nothing spectacular about this hotel we chose it for its location.

- Near Park Mall, you can use the car park entrance to actually take a short cut towards the following places.
- Penang Road heading to Dhoby Gaut Mrt Station (also near Bus Stops and taxi stands)

- 5 to 10 minutes walk towards Orchard road Singapura Mall if im not mistaken.

Once you’re near at any MRT Station and bus stops you are pretty much ready to explore Singapore.

Cons:
- Bathroom is cramped. Toilet seat and Shower Room very close to each other to have enough free space to move.

- Laundry is way expensive. To do your laundry you have to buy a token at the reception desk for SGD 5 for washing and SGD 5 for Drying a total of SGD 10. However in our experience it doesn’t always dry at the first spin or the second one at that. So had a talk with the reception carrying some of my laundry that was still dump. They did not give me a free token they did send maintenance at the laundry area however problem was not fixed. In the end.. Spent a total SGD 25 to do our laundry..
(Oh the outside Laundromat cost SGD .50 to wash and another SGD .50 to dry. )

- Recurring Key card problems on the elevator and hotel room.

- They did not change our bed sheet/s. Room service would usually arrive at around 11 am to clean the room, change towels and replace/ fix the bed sheets. On our 2nd Night we noticed that our bed sheets have not been changed! We called for room service but it was no longer available. The following morning before leaving our room we especially asked for the sheets to be changed/ replaced. Upon our arrival it wasn’t the case. So my beautiful fiancée took matters into her own hands, she removed the sheets from the bed crumpled it up with our used towels while i was calling room service. A few minutes later there was a knock on our door and she politely handed over our sheets and towels to be replaced. =] The staff was a bit surprised and left. 20 to 30 minutes later they finally had it changed. (There was a coffee stain on the sheets that i accidentally spilled that is how we knew.)

Room Tip: do not do your laundry here = ] specially when you plan on staying for several days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delfin Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My three children and I stayed here for one night. From Changi airport it was a $30SGD taxi fare (just under actually) to the hotel - what a fantastic location, just behind Orchard Road and near the main train station that will take you anywhere around Singapore quickly and cheaply. We stayed in a quad room with four large single beds, a small ensuite and a small fridge with a safe. The midday check out was excellent as we were able to go for a long walk and a shop before having to go back and collect our luggage. The service was average - competent - and the rooms, while basic, have everything you need and were clean. The rate was not cheap at just under $300SGD for one night but for a family of four who just came off an international flight and wanted a bed each - perfect. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melloCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

POSITIVE: Quite near MRT station and Orchard Road. Rooms are spacious.
NEGATIVE: No free internet connection even in the lobby. Room rates are a little bit expensive.
Staffs at reception are not very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marybeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A group of us who were at school in Singapore back in the 1960s and now live all over the world were back to celebrate our school's 50th anniversary. A number of us chose to stay here due to its value for money, ideal location (Dhobi Gaut MRT just 5 minutes away, Fort Canning Park next door, Orchard Rd over the road, Collyer Quay just a few minutes walk away), and its reputation as a fine place to stay. And we were not disappointed. When I'm back this way next time I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Innotel
#90 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Hotel Fort Canning
#40 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Strand Hotel
#150 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#116 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#271 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Property: Fort Canning Lodge
Address: 6 Fort Canning Road Young Women Christian Association Hostels, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing