We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”
Review of Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Canning Lodge
Ranked #162 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 22 December 2009

A basic, clean, spacious and cheap hotel surrounded by lots of trees. Just spend 4 nights there and would recommend it to any budget travellers. Location is a big plus, within short walking distance to MRT and Orchard Road. Not suitable for men with TROPHY WIFES.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STOLICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2009

We just returned from a trip to Singapore where we stayed at the YWCA Fort Canning Lodge for 4 nights.
Plus points
- excellent location right next to Dhobi Ghaut MRT and the beautiful, green Fort Canning park, very close to Orchard Road (premium shopping area of Singapore), Clark Quay, Marina Bay
- clean and comfortable rooms with great view and all standard amenities (tv, tea coffee maker, mini bar, hair dryer etc); we stayed in a deluxe room on 12th floor. The hotel also has a swimming pool
- wholesome buffet breakfast included in the package
- friendly and helpful staff -- they gave good tips on sightseeing and even packed a light breakfast for us on the last day since we had an early morning flight
- homely ambience well suited for families
- overall, great value for money

Minus areas -
- reception area can sometimes be a bit crowded and noisy as hotel also accommodates many events/classes in its halls. But this did not bother us much as we were mostly in the room or out sightseeing
- no room service and the restaurant closes early (around 9:30pm). Again, there are many eating places nearby (e.g. Park Mall which is right next door, or Dhoby Ghaut MRT)

Will highly recommend for families who are not looking for destination/boutique hotels but for a very peaceful and comfortable stay at a superb location in Singapore. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

The room is not very clean, the pillow smells, aircon was noisy and not cool. Staff are not friendly. Breakfast was average. I booked for 2 nights but decided to stay for only 1 night

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeviar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

The room was spacious, excellent if you have allergies as it had lovely polished wood floors. The breakfast was really good.A very clean Hotel. Location was across the road from Dhoby Ghaut station, so two stops to Orchard Road, dont be afraid of staying at the YWCA Fort Canning Lodge it is ideal for travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

My husband and I visited Singapore last weekend. We chose this hotel based on FMW's review below. Thank you for your spot-on review. This hotel is really well located, it is very clean and our room was really spacious. The hotel has all the necessary facilities, but nothing fancy at all. We didn't mind the basic (no frills) accommodation as we didn't spend much time in the hotel (there are so much to do in Singapore). It was therefore perfect for us. It was clean, spacious, in a good location (2 mins walk from Orchard rd), friendly staff and has a large swimming pool to cool off after a long day of sight seeing. It is a bit expensive for a budget hotel, but I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explorer003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

1. Perfect location, a few minutes walk from a central MRT station (Dhobi Gaut). Everything of interest radiates out from here. The walk through the covered car park and the lift (four floors) saves the long flight of steps up the steep hill at the side of Park Mall.
2. Perfectly adequate breakfast. We enjoyed the rice and noodles - which, contrary to another review, were different every morning of our 8 night stay, as was the rest of the choice. Plenty of fresh fruit. Coffee poor, but Singapore is not a coffee culture - we didn't get a good cup of coffee anywhere - so it's wise to stick to tea.
3. Evening meals were adequate when we were tired off the long flight. However, it was disconcerting to eat alone, and the choice was limited (though tasty). The doorman recommended Plaza Singapura beyond the MRT station- the excellent food hall on Level 6 had good value meals with a wide variety of fantastic food freshly prepared.
4. There's no hotel bar (if that's important to you). We brought duty free spirits with us and bought the mixers locally to keep in the fridge, so it didn't matter to us. Alcohol is very expensive compared to UK - about twice what we'd expect to pay at home.
5. I don't think there's WiFi in the rooms, but we didn't bring a laptop anyway. There's internet access in the lobby, you get a password from the reception desk.
6. Spacious room, freshly decorated (we opted for mid-price Executive with a double bed, rather than cheaper Standard or more expensive Deluxe room). Kept spotlessly clean, but not boutique style - more upmarket college hall of residence. Fridge big enough to chill your bottles of water or tins of mixers. The room was twice as large as one we visited in Ibis Bencoolen (which was claustrophobically small). Our TV and its remote worked fine and the CNN channel gave us all the news we wanted. There's a safe in the huge wardrobe. (One hotel we almost booked was too small for a wardrobe.)
7. Pleasant views of leafy Fort Canning Park on the other side of the road. However, rooms on the other side would look onto Park Mall and may be less appealing.
8. The swimming pool is big enough to do proper lengths, to ease off muscles aching from much walking or sitting on a plane for 12 hours. There were children's swimming lessons every afternoon but there was a generous section left for other swimmers. Basic changing room, but adequate. No jacuzzi to sit in, no poolside bar, no problem.
9. I can't understand the honeymoon couple's review complaining about the house keeping staff coming in unexpectedly - we used the 'do not disturb' sign and the door lock to prevent this, as it can happen at any hotel in the world. The staff always knocked and called several times on the other doors nearby. Housekeeping checks the minibar daily. You can have clean sheets every day if you want; we were given fresh towels daily.
10. It's an interesting place - it's not just a hotel. Courses are run here, there are offices for the YWCA business side. There was always an interesting range of people - all ages, multi-racial, families, business people. It did feel especially safe for women travelling solo. The quiet leafy courtyard is a bonus in a city centre location. Although it's a Christian Association, the Christian message was not intrusive or heavy in any way.
11. I strongly recommend booking through Expedia - you pay up front, so you're not affected by the varying exchange rates, and they give you a lot of support and confidence in a long-established web site. Many other websites don't include the various local taxes in their rates, so you can get an unpleasant surprise (an additional 10% or more) on checking out.
12. My sister and brother-in-law were staying at the Ibis, but said that next time they visit they'll come to Fort Canning Lodge. If the things it doesn't have aren't an issue for you (no bar, flat screen TV, WiFi, spa bubble pool, boutique cushions on the bed, room service), then its price and location make it ideal. We'd have no hesitation in coming back next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

It is without any doubt that we recommend this hotel. The staff were most helpful and very warm and friendly. As for their vegetable curry;the best I have tasted! We slept soundly and the beds were just right! We will definitely stay there again and each night after a very busy day exploring Singapore, we looked forward to returning 'home' to our freshly cleaned and comfortable room as well as being welcomed back by the staff.
We stayed there for 6 nights and every breakfast was enjoyable as well as the few dinners we had there as well. Unfortunately we did stay at the Ibis hotel for a couple of nights and regretted leaving Fort Canning where everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montysMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Fort Canning
#33 of 317 in Singapore
1,317 reviews
Hotel Innotel
#94 of 317 in Singapore
440 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#184 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#129 of 317 in Singapore
1,024 reviews
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#241 of 317 in Singapore
895 reviews
Hotel Re!
#142 of 317 in Singapore
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Canning Lodge

Address: 6 Fort Canning Road YWCA, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £65 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by YWCA of Singapore, Fort Canning Lodge is located beside Fort Canning Park, 275 m from Plaza Singapura. It features a swimming pool and air-conditioned non-smoking rooms with cable TV. Guests enjoy free parking. The Lodge is a 5-minute walk from the National Museum and 150 m from Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station. Changi International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Most rooms offer views of the city, pool or park, and are equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker. Hot shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a stroll in the park opposite the lodge. Luggage storage facility is provided at the 24-hour front desk. The Coffee House serves a variety of local and Western dishes. A la carte menu options are also available. Dhoby Ghaut is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, clean streets and convenient public transport. This is our guests' favourite part of Singapore, according to independent reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing