We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel walking distance for Pure Veg. Restaurants and MTR.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Claremont Hotel Singapore
Ranked #47 of 80 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 April 2014

For the price at which the rooms are offered, you have to compromise. You have to carry your own luggage to the room. We are a family of 4 with 2 children aged 4 and 10. We stayed for 3 nights in a clean acceptable triple room. The room size is small with one double and one single bed. The bed sheets on the bed are just the size to cover 3 sides of the mattress. The mattress is hard and so sleep quality is not too good.
The TV does not have remote and so you have to change channels manually.
The hotel was kind enough to provide a spray can for the mosquitoes in the room and spiders in the bathroom.
The Air Conditioning started leaking on the 2nd night of the stay but was promptly fixed once the reception was informed, but had to go down to the reception at 11 PM.
The famous Mustafa shopping complex is just across the street. So are many Pure Veg Indian and South Indian Restaurants.
The MTR Farrer Park is just round the corner and a short walk.
We stayed out the whole day and returned only at night to sleep in the hotel and get fresh in the morning so did not mind the shortcomings of this Hotel.
Double bed rooms are better than triple bed rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abhishek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Claremont Hotel Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

There are many hotel in Singapore, none of them start with word Cheap depending upon location, purpose of visit etc.
I was scared as per the Bad reviews people made on Trip Advisor, I have travelled more than half of the world including 3 times in Singapore only for vacation with family wife and 2 kids 3 yrs and 5 yrs old. This time I had planned by adding my Mom and Dad too.


Reason to select this hotel:
In my previous vacation I booked other hotel(due to location) for approx 180SGD but this time keeping in my mind my parents. I wanted hotel next to Mustafa Market so that after late evening shopping, Sentosa Island etc when we come bac we can drop Mustafa Market for Vegetarian Indian Food and after dinner we can just walk to hotel instead of looking for taxi in Musy road for 6 people including 2 old age and 2 very young kid.


I selected this hotel at unbelievable 70SGD for one room and i booked 2 Delux Room and as its just opposite to Mustafa market.

Things to take care before booking:

I had my home work done so I will Tell you all keep in mind --> This is not a Fancy Hotel, everything is basic right from the entrance to Lift, Lobby, Room, Furniture, TV. I booked for 2 days, I called the Hotel and spoke with Adam in reception cause I don't believe in booking via agoda, Asia.com, Hotel.com etc. I told Adam my parents are old age and the reviews are horrible but I feel the room should be clean. Adam advised if its not good than they won't get business and Assured me to book and see the Room prior to check inn and if the room is not good than he will give my money back.

I went with that and -->

I got 2 rooms next to each other 706 and 707 one straight opposite to lift and other next to that.

Both room were basic but it was Clean, Bathroom were Tiny but they were Clean. One Room TV didn't work I spoke to Adam and he called room service and it was Fix ASAP.

If you are coming from Airport and if you are alone or couple you can come direct from Airport Shuttle Bus for 9SGD PP.
If you call Shuttle Bus they will pic you for your flight for same 9SGD PP. I took Jumbo Private Car which charged me 50SGD.

The Towels were Clean, IT had few TV channel including Kids Channel. I had booked the Room for sleep during night but if you are planning to live in this hotel 24 X 7 hrs for few days than there is no entertain in this hotel.

THe Mer-Lion is approx 15SGD in Taxi
The Sentosa Cable Car Mountain is approx 30 SGD in taxi
Airport 9SGD shuttle Bus or in Taxi approx 25SGD( please note I took Jumbo Provate Car due to Big Family and Luggage for 50SGD)


The Room were clean, Aircon was ok, but you can't expect very Furnished room.

descent twin Bed, Clean Bathroom.

Service :

The Staff is really good especailly Adam very honest and down to earth, they will help as much as they can.

All major restaurant around just opposite to hotel, If you are Indian,Shrilankan, Fiji, Pakistani than this will be advantage for you guys especailly Vegetarian.

BreakFast :

Break fast is included in the booking price. I requested to remove breakfast and give me discount but I was advised its included in the price. Again I had head scary stories about break fast e.g. cold milk, cold tea, cold food etc. But let me tell you all those were wrong and not correct. The Breakfast area is in Basement I will agree to that between laundry and luggage area but once you step into Break Fast Area its very Clean, Nice and Breakfast staff especailly all women welcome with Bright Smile, they are good down to earth on top the Breakfast is above expectation especailly if you are from India.

Tea, coffee, Juice, Bread, Jam, Idly, sambhar, Fried Rice and all were Fresh and good. Beileve me I have settled in Australia more than 10yrs and my parents and family was very happy with this Hotel


If you have any questions most welcome and if you like please hit help fuly vote so I know my comments are on right direction :-)


Please note - I still don't know why people reivew so bad about this hotel and Breakfast. I guess they should go to Japan where room are half of this size and twice expensive and location and Breakfast forget it

Good Luck,
Jignesh

Room Tip: Try to take room level 7 or above and call and speak to Adam about clean room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jignesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

stay in this hotel only if u can adjust the sad part of it, the bathrooms are very small, the shower and health facets are average, the breakfast is bad the staff the service is on a snails pace, the location n budget is the only advantage of it, the wi fi picks up in some spots inside the hotel not all.

Room Tip: rooms facing serangoon road would be a good option else the back side is not so impressive
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahdoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stay at Claremont from 25 December to tomorrow at 29 December 2013. I stay in a Triple Room. This hotel has a very good side, but has a very bad too.
The good: fast wifi, shork walk distance to MRT Farrer Park, easy to find food outside the hotel.
The bad: hard to use the shower amd toilet, the breakfast food is standard and in basement, the employees didn't wear the same uniform, the smell in the hallway is not very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fandok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I booked this hotel for my guests few weeks ago. Get lots of complaints right from the first second!

The floor was not cleaned properly, candies lying around inviting cockroaches. Shower towers have no different to floor towers. Breakfast were included but the quality were poor. My guests decided not take the second day breakfast after their first day experience.
The only advantage for this hotel is that it is just next to a mrt station, and nothing else.
Avoid this hotel unless you want cockroaches accompany.

Yes, Singapore hotels are expensive. But I am sure you can find much better choices with this rate!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KayJinLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Knowingly that its a budget hotel, i had booked it, since i was on a business trip. The location of the hotel in Little India is good for Indians who cannot survive without indian food. But its also close to Ferrer Park metro station and that was the positive point i had considered while booking. secondly, there is nothing called 'hospitality' in this hotel, dont even ask for it. My room 310 was neat but washroom reminded of typical indian toilets. None of the staff wear uniforms, so difficult to identify one, if you need help. The breakfast is very basic, no hot milk provided but tea/coffee option is available. Tea/Coffee maker is the room is big advantage in such hotels. Safe, refrigerator, air-conditioner provided in the room along with free Wi-Fi with very good speed is an advantage makes you feel, the stay was pleasant. Its high time, Hotel management takes up refurbishment of entire property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaurish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
16
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel is not maintained at all, the entrance of the hotel was water logged while check-in itself complained to the front desk but no action, The corridor was stinking bad o dour all around carpet not cleaned for months, Rooms with dirty linen, above all the worst breakfast....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#229 of 316 in Singapore
194 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#166 of 316 in Singapore
336 reviews
Fortuna Hotel
#243 of 316 in Singapore
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#108 of 316 in Singapore
508 reviews
Little India
Hotel 165
Hotel 165
#232 of 316 in Singapore
67 reviews
Classique Hotel
#201 of 316 in Singapore
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel Singapore

Address: 301 Serangoon Road | Little India, Singapore 218224, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel Singapore 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claremont Hotel is a value hotel offering affordable hotel room stays and strategically located on Serangoon Road, the main street coursing through the Little India district. Claremont Hotel offers real value for money with its extremely accessible location to The Farrer Park MRT Station (NE8)and is just a short 2-minute walk to hotel doorstep. Located opposite the hotel is Mustafa Center, a 24-hour shopping haven. Leisure and business travelers can get almost anything from the shops around here. Visitors arriving at Changi Airport can zip through the MRT train system and reach the comfort of Claremont's hotel room in less than an hour. Step out of Claremont Hotel and you run smack into the Little India, one of Singapore's oldest and culturally rich district. Crossing the Serangoon Road, visitors will encounter a labyrinth of short and lengthy lanes dotted with multi-colored restored Pre-War shop houses; in pink, green, yellow, blue, purple, and red, orange and turquoise that is an attraction itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Claremont Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing