We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uniquely Singapore”
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
Male
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Uniquely Singapore”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Cozy hotel, super helpful staff. Your room is cleaned everyday. Better bring your own bathroom amenities (toothpaste,soap etc...) the best feature of this hotel is the location. Its situated in a prime location. Easy to access anywhere. The bus stop is just a few steps away from the hotel. However, it was surprise to see a school in the 2nd floor. At times the lobby gets really noise because of the school. The breakfast buffet was average.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariolovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    470
    163
    27
    11
See reviews for
375
190
105
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This is ideal for a budget traveller. Breakfast was really good. Rooms are quite functional but neat and clean. The front office staff is pleasant and helpful. You can book the sight seeing packages from here and the travel arrangements are transparent and efficient. Located on the Orchard Road and at a walking distance from Dobi Talao station, it is excellent value for money for people who do not like to splurge and yet like to be highly mobile. This place is ideal for students, back packers, single travellers and budget families. If you are the type who look for 5 star comforts, this place is not for you! Not for people on honeymoon either! Since it is located on Orchard Road, great for shopping / window shopping !! We would recommend this strongly if your interests are shopping and sight seeing and do not look for some fancy staying place.
Be prepared to spend your time in the lounge if you are going to arrive at the hotel before 2 p.m !

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed at this Y many times in the past. Used an alternative Y in the past; also luxury hotels in area. Have returned to this Y because of its superb location and atmosphere. It is close to buses, MRT, cinemas, food courts, places of worship and restaurants. It is clean and the amenities are adequate. Loved the free wi-fi.
Breakfasts are repetitive but selection is ample. Looked forward to the fresh fruit and salad each morning.
The renovated rooms are worth the extra cost and the service is adequate. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Nice n clean
close to Orchard Street and easy to take train
Value for money also
Good breakfast
Free Wi Fi
Amazing value

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank SBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Simple accommodation at best. If you need a clean and simple place to sleep, this is adequate. The rooms are small but it has all you need including a tiny TV.

It is quiet despite being at a busy street, just make sure you close the windows. The airconditioning can be a bit noisy though.
The bathroom was OK.

Free wifi. Walking distance to cinema, shopping mall and Dhoby Ghaut MRT station.

Anyway, you don't stay in YMCA expecting luxurious comfort. It was 100% adequate for me.

i believe that it can be pricey at certain seasons. Then, i would not think it will be such a good deal. If you get a room at a good price, then certainly you should have no complains.

It has a sign that says no visitors after 10pm though... no hanky panky...It is the YMCA ok??

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

ymca is not 5-star accommodation, so don't expect much. the rooms are a bit run down. but what you do get with them is value for money (it's clean and their rates are pretty much the lowest in the area) and absolutely perfect location. the mrt is just a short walk from here and the buses that pass here will take you practically anywhere in singapore.

we booked a family room for our stay here. on our first night we were unfortunate enough to be attacked by bed bugs at 5am...

but before you get any ideas of avoiding this hotel, let me just stress to you that bed bugs can happen to even the cleanest hotels because it travels in by sticking to luggage, clothing, etc etc..

i would like to highlight though the hotel staff's heroic response to our problem. the night receptionist on duty quickly transferred us to a dorm room (it was the only one available that night). all the staff seemed well-informed about it the next day and were apologetic.. no explanations were needed. we were upgraded to a junior suite for the rest of our stay (not bad as it had a great view of the city at night).

if you consider staying here, these are my tips:
- avoid room 802 like the plague (well yes technically it does have a plague...)
- before settling in, pull out the bedcovers. look at the sheets. lift up the mattress covers and check the mattress for any telltale signs of bed bugs (i did it with the next 2 rooms we were given and it was clean... whew.)

things i liked about the place:
- free wifi in your room
- complimentary bottled water every day
- breakfast was buffet continental and included in the reservation. again, not luxurious but sufficient enough for our needs.

aside from that incident, the rest of our stay was uneventful and i had a good night's sleep the succeeding nights..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eyndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

I stayed at the YMCA Orchard Road in Oct 2009 with my wife and two teenager children.It seemed perfect in every way.We could find nothing to complain about.Room was fine,service fine and professional,staff polite and helpful.The location is such that you need no help at all.You just step out of the hotel and get whatever you want.All at affordable cost.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunilPandurangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fort Canning Lodge
#157 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#75 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Innotel
#89 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#271 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Property: YMCA One Orchard
Address: 1 Orchard Road Ymca, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing