We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Singapore: Sunset Kick Scooter Tour
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
£37.49
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Armenian Church
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
42
50
20
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
50
20
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2015

The oldest church in Singapore, built by what was a tiny Armenian community in 1835. The last priest left in the late 1930s and the church is run by volunteers. It's a tranquil little space in a busy cityscape, interesting to experience and have some quiet time. A favourite place to visit when in Singapore for me.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Mathilda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Simplistic architectural design, tastefully understated. You have the church to yourself to pray, to meditate or simply to escape to pastoral surroundings. Loved the cane laced seating benches extending to full length vertical wall opened windows in the hot, sultry equatorial climate allowing in cool breath of breezy air. It was quiet. It was so spiritual. I had the church all to myself while having a talk with God. It amazes me that local Christians do not use the church more frequently for worship service. If you want solitude, opportunity to pray to God with just you and him, this church is a must see located right off a busy traffic boulevard.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2015

A beautiful little church and a great place to visit to get away from the busy city streets. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Emil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2015

It's a pretty small, one-story church, nothing much to speak of, but on the church lawn to the left immediately after coming in through the front gate are some religious-themed sculptures (about five or so) including one of Jesus after falling down on the ground with the big cross on top of him. And, on the far right side of the back area of the church, there's a small graveyard area with white grave markers (some in the form of statues).

Coming by MRT, you could get off at City Hall station (green & red lines) and walk one block south on North Bridge, then turn right onto Coleman, walk one more block and make another right onto Hill, then just cross the street (Hill St.) over to the other side and the church is there right about on the corner of Coleman & Hill. Alternatively, you could get off at Bras Basah station (yellow line), turn left once you get on Bras Basah Rd. after coming out of the station and take a short walk to the corner of Bras Basah & Victoria where you turn right and walk straight down Victoria St. (which becomes Hill St. one block later after crossing Stamford) for two blocks until you see the church on your right. Either way, the walk takes just about ten minutes from either one of the two MRT stations to the church.

Also, Clarke Quay (a premier area of restaurants & pubs by the Singapore River) is not too far at all (another five minutes or so) if you continue walking south on Hill St. past the church (or turn right onto Hill St. after coming out of the church gate) and turn right upon reaching the river (no need to cross it since the quay is on the same side of the river).

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Myo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2015

This Oriental Orthodox Church was built in 1835 and is now the oldest Christian church in town. Its full name is St. Gregory the Illuminator and is standing on a main street of the City Hall area. It is open to the public and has recently been renovated.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews