We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Singapore: Sunset Kick Scooter Tour
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
£37.54
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Armenian Church
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
42
50
20
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
50
20
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Armenian Church of St. Gregory is the oldest Church in Singapore built in 1835 and celebrating its 180th Anniversary.
Set in the heart of the city amidst lush gardens, it is a historical landmark and National Monument of Singapore.
The first electric light and fans has been installed in this Church.
Church as well as the garden, are very well maintained. There are few grave stones/monuments at the corner of the garden are in memory of notable Armenians lived in Singapore; Agnes Joaqim - founder of Singapore National Flower, Khachik Moses - founder of ''Straits Times'' newspaper, Sarkies family - founders and initial owners of "Raffles Hotel" in Singapore, ''E&O Hotel'' in Penang, ''Strand Hotel'' in Yangon.

Date of experience: March 2016
5  Thank Pavel_Karapetyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2016

I was disappointed that the Armenian Church and grounds were closed because of renovation. I am unsure as to how long the renovation occur. Hopefully you will have better luck than I.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gev-Sar, Manager at Armenian Church, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Dear savedade,

Thanks for taking time to write a note.

As part of our regular maintenance program the Armenian Apostolic Church of St. Gregory the Illuminator is undergoing a renovation/repair every 5 years. This round of renovation has coincided with your visit and we are sorry to hear you were unable to visit the grounds. We are projecting to complete the renovation in May 2016 and would be happy to welcome you and other visitors should you be in Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

My friend and I came across this church while on our way to see the Singapore National Gallery.

It's a beautiful Church and worth a visit.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Sarah-Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2015

The Armenian Church of St Gregory the Illuminator is the oldest Christian church in Singapore. It is the most prominent landmark at Hill Street near to the Chinese Chamber of Commerce Building. The architect for this church was George Drumgoole Coleman the Superintendent of the Public Works Dept. The building was completed in 1835 and consecrated by Rev Catchick Johannes in 1836.
On the grounds of the church is an old cemetery where famous Armenians are buried. The cemetery is now closed for burial. The interior of the church is solemn and the pews have been used for many years. The caretaker of the church lives in a smaller house next to the church. This church is worth a visit for Christian tourists.
You can take a train and stop at City Hall MRT station. Just walk along Bras Basah Road and turn into Hill St. It is about 200m from the MRT station.

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank CowSense
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2015

The oldest church in Singapore, built by what was a tiny Armenian community in 1835. The last priest left in the late 1930s and the church is run by volunteers. It's a tranquil little space in a busy cityscape, interesting to experience and have some quiet time. A favourite place to visit when in Singapore for me.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Mathilda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews