We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it !”
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
Ranked #255 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 12 March 2014

You pay for the location!! Close to little india and fairly close to the MRT.
The room is a small, like most hotels in Singapore. But it fitted our suitcases and even the baby's stroller. They don't provide baby cot though!
The bathroom is on the outer side, so you can open your window from the bathroom, so funny architecture ! I noticed that it's an old building, but somehow well-maintained.
The hot shower worked well, and we had to switch on the AC all night long otherwise it's so hot.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are SO NOISY !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanscoulottes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Sanscoulottes,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is located close to Lavender and Farrer Park stations and they are around the same distance to walk. We found the staff to be helpful and they checked us in quickly. We were expecting the room to be a matchbox after reading the reviews on here but it's really not that bad. Perhaps if you travel with many items of luggage it could be a bit of a squeeze. The bathroom was of a good size but right by the noisy road which seems to be in use 24/7 so for those late night trips it could certainly wake you up! There are no curtains in the rooms so the light could make sleeping harder for some - not for us! The bed was cosy and the room was clean which is all we wished for really. The plus side was having a lovely retro charm and being right across the road from a 24/7 hawker center. Beware the stalls in the hawker center may try and rip you off! The food was really good though! If we wind up in Singapore again we would happily stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beadsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Bianca L,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased that you are not disturb by the fact factors you have mentioned. We would like to share the details on the room types below, it would help us to manage guests needs on future date.

Cabin room - 10sqm (no window)
Standard room - 12 sqm (street view) (windows in washroom)
Superior room - 14 sqm (back view) (windows in washroom)
Executive room - 16-20 sqm (street/balcony view) (windows room)

We hope the above information would help and we look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

LOCATION : Location is really very good. Little India, Lavender Square, Mustafa Center, City Square Mall etc. are really very near. Most of them were on walking distance.
ROOM SIZE : I am still confused that that was a room or a bathroom...? Just a queen size bed in a room makes room full. No more space let for luggage and other things.
HOTEL : We did not take breakfast so cannot say anything about taste. Staff was good. Free Wi-Fi and Desktop with Internet were good things.
TRANSPORTATION : BRT station is exactly on the opposite side of the hotel. MRT is around 1 km from the hotel.
Food : Seven11 is besides BRT Station and Indian food is available near Mustafa Center.

Room Tip: All rooms are same size as said by the receptionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mayur_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Mayur_Mehta,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We would like to apologise for the wrong info given by the front office. Noted that you have stayed with us in room 309(superior room) which is 14sqm. Hotel do have a higher categories of 16sqm to 20sqm(executive room).

We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I love the retro Singapore design of this hotel. It is very comfortable and staff were very helpful. Great breakfast. It was noisy as the room faced onto Jalan Besar but it won't stop me from coming back. Great location and heaps of Singapore charm.

Room Tip: If you can get a room off the main road it will reduce traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear ethannan,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you like the retro-futuristic in the hotel. We apologise for the noise pollution caused and thank you for your understanding.

We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Not sure what we expected from Little India. It was good value, but noisy and the air-conditioning did not work well. Having said that the shower was excellent, it was clean and very well placed to see the city using public transport. Lively and interesting part of the city.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 47helenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Helen K,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We apologise for the faulty air-con unit, the team have taken note. We would like to welcome you back on your next visit to Singapore.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights and loved it! Fantastic location in an interesting area. Walking distance to train station, little India and just a few kilometers walk to bugis street markets and Arab street. Great curry shops all around, but make sure you go to the ones with lots of locals rather than the 'pretty' ones aimed at tourists. $6 in one of the real Indian shops will get 2 curries, 4 rotti and rice.

Rooms are small, but well planned and plenty big enough for a couple :-) No window in the bedroom made for a slight panic attack for me, but the AC worked well and kept the air moving and the glass bathroom door let in plenty of light and air from the window in the shower if needed.
Hotel and room was clean, room did have a mild damp smell, but nothing major. Staff are friendly and at the desk 24hours. The shabby sheik decor will not be to everyone's taste, but we loved it. Make sure you check out the photos on the walls as many are of the hotel before it was re-opened. We will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MandyLeCouteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear MandyLeCouteur,

Thank you for sharing yours experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you like the retro-futuristic in the hotel and we look forward for your next visit to Singapore.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Since we were very happy with our stay in December 2012 at the Kam Leng Hotel, we chose it at this occasion again and were not disappointed.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious enough with a comfortable bed and big shower and very strong Wifi. We got 2 different rooms since in between our stay, we spent one night in another hotel in downtown in order to be close to the fireworks at New Year’s Eve. Both rooms were equally good.
The complimentary water also comes in very handy.
We did not try the breakfast, but the hawker center just opposite which is very worth a try. Also the 7/11 opposite is very practical.
The closest MRT-station is Farrer park which is about 10min by foot away. Little India can also be reached by foot.
Thanks to the reasonable prices and good quality/service and convenient location, it is a very good option and we would surely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Terence_Hill,

Thank you for sharing yours experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your continue support.

We look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#230 of 319 in Singapore
173 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#186 of 319 in Singapore
322 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#134 of 319 in Singapore
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#152 of 319 in Singapore
378 reviews
City Inn Mackenzie
#176 of 319 in Singapore
317 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#147 of 319 in Singapore
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar Kam Leng Hotel, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £39 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing