We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another budget-friendly shoppers' haven”
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.21*
and up
Singapore's Chinatown Trishaw Night Tour with Transfer
More Info
US$25.58*
and up
Singapore Half-Day City Tour
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Singapore Hawker Center Food Tour in Chinatown
Ranked #22 of 818 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: For a fascinating peek into Singapore’s Chinese culture and history, Chinatown is good place to start. Here, you’ll enjoy a mix of heritage visits to museums, shopping as well as a good variety of food options, sure to leave a traveller happy and satisfied at the end of the day.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Davao City
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another budget-friendly shoppers' haven”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Other than Bugis, shopping could also be worthwhile in Chinatown because of its affordability as well as the richness in culture all over the place. You'll enjoy delectable buys of Chinese victuals the whole time, too! (visited March 2011)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AyetSalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,364
    4,113
    1,500
    193
    70
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good shopping”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a place where you get a variety of things and reasonably priced. Clothes, shoes and a lot of knick-nacks. I like the colourful scarves which costs just a couple of dollars and can be given as little gifts to friends. Lots of food and pricing ok.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

visited in June 2014 with friends and family we ranged in ages from 10 to 60 and Chinatown had something for everyone, massages, shopping, eateries and all so clean and helpful. cheap key rings and t shirts to knicknacks and other gifts there is lots to keep you busy for hours. In our week stay we visited on 3 occasions and never got sick of the experience. Do not haggle or barter like in HK or KL but they clearly display their prices. Found when having massages if you went as a group you got a better price. Would thoroughly recommend a visit during the day then pop back if you can at night you won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Optimus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“China Town Amazon Camera's and Electronics”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I just bought a camera from ''Amazon Camera's & Electronics'' in ChinaTown in Singapore and the sales person David Lim completely ripped me off. He assured me his price was very good being SG$750, but after I left I found out he had completely ripped me off. He was completely taking advantage of me being a tourist. The standard price for the same camera is SG$293 that's a huge difference?? I am so furious and need to flag this and give a heads up to other tourists going to China Town in Singapore to watch out for shark sales people, particularly David Lim, trying to take advantage of tourists.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience of small china”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

It's worth going to this place as you can shop, eat and eexperience the heritage of Chinese in Singapore. You can buy souvenirs in cheap price like. 3 in 10 dollars keychains, merlion souvenirs, handfan etc and jewelry too. You can experience best Chinese cuisine in food street in China town. Can visit to temple nearby in temple road. All over you can spend 2-3 hours there followed by Chinese cuisine if you are fond of. Great place to shop and eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shubha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing