We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Snail Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Snail Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here for 3 days. The hostel is maybe a little bit small, but it's cozy. I met some great people there and the the breakfast it great. Especially the bread is divine after two months of Indonesia. But okay. The hostel is clean, the staff is very nice and if you need to know something. Just ask Mike. He knows (almost) everything. The Wi-fi is pretty fast. I almost felt at home :p. The hostel is a 10 - 15 min walk from the MRT. Maybe for some to far, but I don't care. I like to walk. Gives me the opportunity to see the area/city. With the MRT you'll be in 10 min in Little China or Little India, and 20 min in Orchard Road or the park.
The only negative comment about this hostel is that there are only 2 showers/toilets for to many people.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amigoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    19
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
14
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I attended a course in Singapore General Hospital Block 6 so I did my research in many websites to find the closest hotel which would allow me to wake up late and still be in time for the sessions. The hostel is in the 147th building of public apartments section ( I guess because there are so many similar high rises building in the neighbourhood) I just walked across the street and the SGH is there!

The bus stop is in front of the 149th building ( named Block 149 bus stop) which is just 1 min walking distance from the hostel. You can catch a bus to everywhere easily. I was in Singapore before but never use buses, staying in the hostel with the guidance from the owners made it very convenient to travel by buses around singapore. The room is pretty small but luckily I had quite polite roommates during 5 days of my stay. China town and Orchard street is very near and takes only 1 bus. Wifi is fast and stable and free. They provide one laptop for guest. The bed sheet and pillow sheet and blanket are also costless.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AomAmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I arrive in Singapore for an internship and as I didn’t want to rent a room in an apartment online without visiting, I booked a bed in happy snail hostel for a few nights first. As I felt very good there, I’ve decided to extend my stay here. It’s a very nice place, very comfortable and friendly. It’s always very clean. There is free breakfast (bread, jam, fruits, tea, coffee) at any time, and there are some shops and places to eat nearby. There are 3 rooms with lockers; each bed has his own light and plug.
The hostel is owned by a very nice couple. (Mike and Christine). They are amazing: so great and enthusiastic! They are very helpful and have lots of knowledge (about the city but much more). If you meet a problem they always try to help you there best.
Compared to some others hostels in Singapore, it’s really cheap, and it’s in a good location. (Outram Park MRT is very near to Clarke Quay, Chinatown, Marina Bay…).
The wifi is fast and there is also a plasma TV, and for people who travel without laptop, iphone… there is a computer available.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a cozy homely hostel, you just found it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie22530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

The Happy Snail Hostel was one of the cheapest hostels we could find in Singapore, and yet it had everything we needed. It's clean, they offer a nice free breakfast and Mike is very friendly and knowledgeable about Singapore! I forgot my USB cable for my camera during my stay in Singapore, and they sent it to my house in the Netherlands free of charge, so that was really nice as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stayed her for 3 nights with 2 friends and we found it to be a great hostel. It has a real homely feel, free breakfast and goods shower! Easily accessible from airport, on good public transport routes, although china town and marina bay are walkable anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Happy Snail just before Xmas 2012. The hostel is in an apartment building but good security. Location wise, it’s not as central as some other hostels but there are endless buses running from just outside and China town is 30 minute walk. The nearest metro is 15 min walk.

The hostel is more like a large flat and reminded me of being at university but without the mess. There are only 3 or 4 rooms in the hostel. We stayed in the 8 bed dorm which is smaller than some, but you get your own locker. There are two showers and two toilets which is still plenty.

Very good value, incredibly clean and good free wifi with a free computer to use as well. Huge plasma TV with comfy bean bags to chill out on.

24 hour kitchen with endless supply of tea, coffee, bread, peanut butter and nutella, and the local food hall next door sells great food at local prices.

This is very much a community hostel as it is small, so if you are a traveler that likes to keep themselves to themselves, you might prefer somewhere that's easier to disappear amongst the masses… You can’t go wrong staying here if you're after a more homely hostel, unusual for a city like Singapore.

The icing on the cake for this hostel is the owner – Mike! One of the most helpful, friendliest owners we have come across. He will bend over backwards to accommodate you and help you out, books tickets all sorts of tickets at a discount etc etc.

On the first night we were in seperate bunks but when people moved out, he made a new bed and asked if I’d like to switch. We also shipped some stuff back to the UK and he went out of his was to find boxes for us sourced packing tape and all of his advice was spot on.

We can’t recommend either The Happy Snail (or Mike!) enough… 6 stars!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjb4780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed at this hostel for two nights. It is probably one of Singapore’s least expensive accommodations options (i.e., approximately $18 USD/night). The hostel is located in an apartment building in a suburban area of the city, fairly close to a subway stop and various bus lines. A small mall with inexpensive, casual eating establishments (some offered seating; others offered take-out) and convenience stores was located steps away from the hostel. Despite the management’s explicit directions, I had difficulty finding the hostel, and late on the night of my arrival, found myself knocking on a neighbor’s door to ask where the hostel was located. The hostel’s kitchen and baths were shiny and new, and the hostel was spotlessly clean. A washer and dryer were available for guests’ use. Breakfast was adequate (e.g., cereal, fruit, nutrition bars, coffee, tea, and juice), and guests could use the kitchen and access food at any time. The owner/manager was friendly and eager to assist travelers with planning their stays. My dissatisfaction with the hostel was due to the crowded conditions. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm room, which was extremely cramped. There were two to three other dorm rooms in the hostel, each of which appeared to have four to six beds. The other issue was that there were only two single bathrooms to accommodate everyone. The common seating area, which offered computers for guest use, was also quite small. Overall, this hostel has some positive qualities, but in my opinion, warrants a less than average rating due to the overcrowded quarters.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lotus Hostel
#21 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Tree In Lodge
#44 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Joo Chiat
Betel Box Hostel
Betel Box Hostel
#20 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#32 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Little India
The InnCrowd Hostel
The InnCrowd Hostel
#61 of 223 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Snail Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Snail Hostel

Property: Happy Snail Hostel
Address: Block 147 Silat Avenue #01-32, Singapore 160147, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Snail Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Snail Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing