We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Happy Snail Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$798
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$389
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$288
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
62
21
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
21
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeanut butterfree toastall day breakfastshared apartmentattraction ticketslate arrivalwashing machinenearest mrtfree wifistayed here for nightsbotanical gardensair confood courtlaundrybedschinatownsentosa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Every 4 times in year our church celebrates a Thanksgiving to God. Because of this important religious event I discovered a lodging place near in our church. It is very convenient for me because I leave in SG from a location 1 hour from our church . So it is a best option for me to stay in happy snail to save time and transport . I've stayed here almost 6 times already times 3days. I'm very well pleased with service of Mike (the owner) and the facilities they offer. If you love travelling for a short stay in SG. This hostel is perfect . It is centrally located to all nearest tourist spots and accessibility to public transport. They offer discount tickets to different attractions and events in Singapore. In the hostel provides free internet laptop, wide screen cabel tv, free bananas , coffees, teas , beards and sandwich spreads.Also books, maps and magazines are available. You can purchase a towel for $1.00 and sodas as well. A laundry machine and 2 bathrooms are available. Hostel has 3 rooms. One is for all girls and can acoomodate 6paxs, 2nd (all boys) and 3rd room - recommended for families/couples. All are in double beds. Price range from $20-22/pax.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaTortal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The owner Mike is awesome and a pleasure to be around. Helpful labels everywhere, e.g. on the kitchen cupboard: "don't leave dirty dishes in sink - thx!" Mike will happily advise you on transport, what to see or do in Singapore, prices on activities etc. - and the common room has great maps with notes. Mike really puts in an effort.

Fridge and freezer are free to use, and breakfast (bread, spreads, banana, tea, coffee) are free anytime of the day. Laundry with dryer is cheap. The lockers are safe, bunkbeds spacious, dorms are cooled with AC and super clean. Fast and stable wifi.

This coule easily become a 5/5. Just needs cosier lighting and mosquito nets in dorm windows. But even without, Happy Snail Hostel is a great place to stay in Singapore!

Room Tip: All 3 doors seemed sufficiently cooled. We stayed in mixed, and experienced no outside noise whatsoever.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My stay at Happy Snail Hostel exceeded expectations for hostel living. Despite the small space, it appeared to occupy its 15+ guests flawlessly. During my 8-day stay, I never felt claustrophobic or stifled,or felt the frustration of indoor traffic- which was great- especially for someone who values a bit of privacy and space.

Located near Chinatown and a brief walk or bus ride to Outram Park (where the Northeast Line and the East-West lines converge), its location is quite close to cultural attractions and hot spots (ie. Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Sentosa, etc).

In addition to its location, a critical aspect to Happy Snail is its owner, Mike. Mike goes above and beyond to ensure a safe, fun and comfortable stay in Singapore by providing guests with local advice and assistance. His helpfulness, kindness and light-hearted personality creates a an easy-going and stress-free atmosphere. Additionally, his complimentary offering of bread, nutella, peanut butter, teas, etc. were not only a bonus to my stay, but a representation of his hospitality & generosity- the kind of nature which also attracts a cool group of people from around the world.

Thank you Happy Snail for making my stay a pleasant & enjoyable one!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Mike was extremely helpful in helping me to figure out what parts of the town are worth seeing or not. He helped save a lot of time so that the time spent in Singapore was well worth it. In addition to his kindness and help, he is an honest man. I left my phone in the hostel when I left the country and he has been honest enough to not only hold the phone for me, but also help try to get the phone back to me. It's hard to come across someone so honest. Definitely a trustworthy place to stay.

Room Tip: Really dont have a swimming pool or fitness center, i just had to enter something. but there is a fitness center close by thats only 2$ a day that mike can point you towards
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macsteeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Mike, the owner, is incredibly helpful. I arrived late (2am), which requires self-check-in, but Mike laid out everything I needed to know ahead of time to get into the hostel and which bed was mine. The hostel has spent a lot of time with making sure guests are comfortable with the little things - there are lockers for your bags, there is FAST, free wi-fi as well as a laptop for use by guests, local maps/guides, A/C in the public area and dorm rooms, washing machine, iron, towels for rent for cheap, plenty of outlets to charge your devices, etc.

The location is far enough to be quiet (second story walk-up in a residential neighborhood), but there is a bus stop one block away which takes you to the subway (Outram Park), which is also just a short 1km walk away.

The 24 hour self-service breakfast with breads, spreads, and fruits, as well as free coffee/tea is really great for on-the-go before you head out in the morning.

Definitely will stay here if staying in Singapore in the future, and will recommend this hostel to friends!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews