We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Ranked #75 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We cannot say enough about the comfort of our stay here. The service was over the top! The apartment was immaculate and fully stocked with everything we needed. I would come back here in a minute upon future trips to Singapore. Also, the central location made getting around the city a breeze!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    194
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
278
18
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just back from 8 nights at the Somerset Liang Court with our family of two adults and two children and really enjoyed this property. We stayed in a two bedroom premier apartment on the 22nd floor. We had requested a higher floor to minimise the noise from construction of the adjacent MRT station. We did hear some noise and our view immediately below was of a construction site - however this didn't detract from our holiday, the kids loved watching the building progress!

The apartments are very spacious and we certainly made use the of kitchen for making snacks and also used the washer/dryer most days. The master bedroom was huge and bathrooms very nice. The staff were very friendly and the free internet in the reception area was a bonus. The pool area is shared with the Novotel but it was never crowded and we alway found beach chairs and shade, pool towels are provided. Note that the "shallow" end of the pool is 100cm deep so small children can't touch the bottom, however there is a small area of steps into the pool which the kids can walk into the pool before it gets too deep.

The continental breakfast was fine and we always found enough variety even after 8 days. Breakfast starts at 6.30am during the week and we found there was no crowd before 8.00am but after that it did get busy and there were delays in food being replenished. The was always extra seating available around the corner from the juice station which most people never found.

The Clarke Quay area was great with plenty of restuarants to choose from and it was about a 5 minute walk to the MRT station. The hotel is above a small shopping centre with a food court, McDonalds, Starbucks and supermarket so well serviced for immediate needs.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and found it perfect for travelling with a young family - we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Request high floor away from construction. 8th floor is where the breakfast room and pool is so can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lemonycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
222 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed before had a makeover since. Booked 9 nights 2 bed premier apartment. Requested high floor and away from construction noise which I read on trip advisor was a problem. Had doubts re been given premier apartment but got 25 th floor gr8 views with balcony but was on the side of construction site which operates 24 hrs. Req a move on check in twice but didn't happen so not real impressed! Apartments do have all you need and on a 25% special offer excellent value for money esp with 2 beds 2 bathrooms. Our apartment showed signs of damage and rough maintenance and expected higher standard from a Somerset branded hotel. They are serviced 6 days and breakfast is ok if you only want basic. Has a washer dryer which is essential for stays in humid Singapore. Also got room to move with a lounge dining area. I still think this place is worth considering as Clarke Quay is a happening place at night cheaper food options supermarket lots of food options in shopping centre under building, hop on off bus stops outside door, short walk to MRT, and can walk to Raffles city, merlion,river along side etc, all you want actually. Our only problem was the noise from building site....thank goodness for earplugs! It didn't spoil our holiday!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank philljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macae, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at liang court for 7 nights on business/ pleasure trip. Since we have visited Singapore earlier we knew what we were looking for. Anywhere you stay its never far unless u stay on east coast road. Clarke quay, orchard, business district are the key main areas within Singapore. We were looking for something quiet and relaxed but still close to the action invade we felt like. Don't get me wrong Clarke quay has all the colour to paint your night red, but you have Robertson quay on the other side, which is quieter and more relaxed and liang court is right at that junction. The property is centrally located and shares the pool with Novotel. The 7/11 and 24 hrs McDonald's really is a safe net for those late nights. The apartment lobby and the apartment itself is no jazz but the space you get is phenomenal.We paid the same amount for a 2 bedroom apartment with balcony what You would pay the same for a regular room at any hotel in Singapore. The view from the room is amazing as well, overlooking the marina sands and the river. The only drawback is that there is no room service etc, breakfast is included in the price but its just name sake. U rather get down and have Starbucks.... Yes its right under the apartment. The advantage of having Novotel in the same premises is that getting a cab is never a problem. The rooms are fairly small but doable. The mattresses and the bedsheet are certainly not egyptian count cotton but you surely will get a good night sleep. Try avoiding the 8th floor as that's the breakfast area and it could get noisy. The staff is extremely friendly and housekeeping is fab, make sure you buy 2 ltr water btls from 7/11 as the drinking water us not replenished, its once during your entire stay.
Overall we had a lovely stay at liang court. I would certainly recommend this property to all type of travellers

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nee0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I visited Singapore when my boyfriend was part of The Lion King Singapore Cast. This hotel though in a fast pace city setting, the environment and staff felt very homely. The apartment was on the 12th floor a two bedroom apartment, 2 baths a kitchenette a dining table and a lounge area with a balcony facing the Singapore Flyer which is an amazing view.

The apartment was spacious, modern and kept clean everyday except Mondays, the staff was very friendly and respectful especially Madeline ask for her :)

The master bedroom bathroom was a bit small compared to the shared bathroom. The bedroom if you needed that extra couple hours of rest the heavy curtain definitely helps you trick yourself that it is still night, I enjoyed that part a lot seeing that jet lag was an issue for me :)

The gym equipment were all well kept and functional, there's a jaccuzi and sauna I didn't try it though but i heard the cast definitely loved it to relax. The pool setting was an area for family and relaxers, it was good to take a swim from time to time and just relax reading a book.

The apartment building was on top a Subway,a grocery, other stores and a 24/7 McDonalds. Clarke Quay which is a popular nightlife spot was literally right next door which is a plus. There was a taxi spot right outside the building and was reasonable in cost seeing that River Valley isn't located far from the city nor the airport.

There is a breakfast time, I never tried it because I either left too early to explore the country or slept in too late to recover from jetlag. There isn't a room service seeing that it is run like apartments and not a hotel but with the amount of stores and restaurants around it was a big issue.

All in all this place made my trip that much more enjoyable because of the location, staff and the comfy feel about the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the side with the Singapore Flyer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieC2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. the room was alright but the bathroom in the master room was pretty dated and lighting was poor. Apartment comes with basic stuff but nothing to shout about since its quite pricey. LOcated jus nex to the mall n walking distance to clarke quay. Might consider other places the next time round

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margheritapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taipei
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had the 2 bedroom apartment. Great and rather spacious unit that came with a kitchen, washing machine and fridge/ freezer. There was also king sized bed and study table, 2 bathrooms. Furnished in a modern way. Came with large flat screen TV, stereo, cable TV and wireless internet. However, I should point out the stereo wasn’t that great and we tried playing DVD and CDs on it, and it kept skipping. Cable TV wasn’t that great - that was no access to demand TV (pay per view). When I asked the reception, they said it was not available and if I wanted it, I have to subscribe to it myself. Rather odd arrangement, I thought.

The negatives - sofa was dated looking. I don't think it was adequately cleaned. There were ants or bugs on the sofa so we kept getting bitten. The balcony looked old - that was because the serviced apartments are actually refurbished from what used to be a block of old residential apartments. That was probably also the reason why the 3 elevators were small. The main bedroom and living room also faced the construction of the MRT site (underground rail). So there was constant (24 hours!) noise coming from the construction, which was just across the road. We put up with it because we were on the high floor and did not want to change as changing could mean ending up with a unit facing the scorching afternoon sun (west). The staff manning the reception area did not look very welcoming - each time we walked past them, there would either be completely no greeting (they looked like they were perpetually occupied with something else) or if there was one, it would be muttered. They did not look like going the extra mile. They also used a weird smelling cleaning agent to clean the lobby area - strong stuff that smelled weird and annoying! Housekeeping staff should also not open the apartment's door on their own accord so soon after ringing the bell - they should allow some time for the occupants in the apartment to respond before opening the door on their own!

Daily continental breakfast was good though with enough daily variety and comfortable surroundings. Gym was also modern although small. Pool was shared with Novotel hotel next door (so there are pluses and minuses on that). The other good thing was the daily morning shuttle bus to the financial district - that saves a rather longish walk to the MRT station.

Great location for getting meals or drinks since there are loads of good restaurants and bars in the vicinity within walking distance. There are also 2 supermarkets in the area for groceries.

It is not plush but it is comfortable, modern, convenient and does its job. I visited 3 other properties under the same group of companies before and thought this was the best of the lot before our stay. I still think this is the case. Room for improvement but would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedigreebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Somerset Bencoolen
#123 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,183 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Liang Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Property: Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Address: No 177B, River Valley Road, Singapore 179032, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#56 Business Hotel in Singapore
#68 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Liang Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience and the trendy buzz of riverfront living. Somerset Liang Court is near many historic sites and scenic locations from Fort Canning Park to Boat Quay. Just minutes from the Singapore River, the residence is surrounded by unique and diverse riverside attractions. It is located above a shopping mall and just next to the gastronomic Clarke Quay restaurant and entertainment hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Somerset Liang Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Liang Court Hotel Singapore
Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing