We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Ranked #62 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 24 January 2010

So pleased we chose this property to stay at. Excellect location and a very secure place to be with a family. Liang Court is the attached shopping mall with lots of speciality shops, small department store and supermarket. Lots of fast food eating places for the teenagers and restaurants for us. Apartment was very clean and comfortable with internet access. Cooking facilities came in very handy. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The property is being refurbished and the work is being done between 9am and 6pm. We didn't have a refurbished room, but honestly we couldn't complain about the condition of the apartment at all. Linen was crisp and beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast is served at the Residents Lounge. Selection is limited, but tasty and adequate.
Location is a $4-$7 taxi ride or $1 per person bus ride away from the Orchard district .
Clarke Quay restaurant district is about a 5minute walk with heaps of restaurants along the river.
If you are booking Day Tours, then the pick up point will be from Novotel Clarke Quay which is around the corner .
We are very happy we stayed at this location and would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happychappies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    203
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
302
20
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Our family of 4 adults stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in Nov 2009. Trying to find reasonably priced accommodation in Singapore is a challenge.

For 2 room mid-range accommodation, Somerset proved value for money. We booked trough Agoda.com, which was cheaper than booking direct with Somerset (they told us so).

Staff & Service friendly & efficient.

Apartment clean, but a bit tired, though renovations were underway, so this should improve. Showers could benefit with a demoulding. Cooking facilities & washer/dryer a bonus.

Pool a real plus: big, clean & plenty of shaded chairs and lounges.

Breakfast was included in the price and was adequate (tea, coffee, juice, pastries, cereal, corn soup, eggs, toast).

Excellent Location, next to Clark Quay and walking distance to MRT.

For the price & location, it woud be difficult to beat. It served us well and we would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fraser97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed at a 2 Bedroom Executive apartment at Somerset Liang Court for 8 days with family – 4 adults and 1 child. The property is quite decent and exceeded our expectations in many areas. Was quite jittery at the start as their global reservation booked us on another property and took some time to revert when we pointed out. Their response time was also quite slow. Though they did respond to all queries.

But the staff at the property was very efficient and cheerful. We were to land at 730am and the checkin time was noted at 2pm. Not only did they allow us complimentary early checkin but also allowed us complimentary breakfast! Before arrival, I had indicated that I may not have enough S$ to pay their entire due at checkin. They allowed me to pay by end of day 1, which I think was very nice. Ofcourse, I had provided them with my credit card details as back up. The rate that we paid was less than half of what we would have otherwise paid on a 5 star property in Singapore – and that too without breakfast. So it did exceed our expectations in terms of what we paid for their services.

The property sits pretty on the Singapore River overlooking Clarke Quay, which is ‘the’ place to dine and party in Singapore. The location is quite central to wherever one would want to go. It cost just 20 cents to reach the hotel from Clarke Quay MRT via bus, if one would want to avoid the 15 min walk to reach there! Its about S$25 to go the Zoo, S$5 for the Botanical Gardens and S$17 to Airport. Orchard Road, Chinatown are 3 bus stops away. Funan is walking distance.

The building appears old but is well maintained. The lobby is smallish but neatly done. It also has a small table providing free internet access. Entry at each point is via smart cards. The rooms either face the ‘Singapore River’ or the peaceful ‘Fort Canning Park’. The hotel shares its large swimming pool with neighbour Novotel (or is it the other way round?). Both the hotels appear similar in their look and feel from a distance.

The rooms were quite spacious and had plenty of space to move around rather than on the confines of a bed - which is the case with most hotel rooms. The 2BR executive apartment has 2 bedrooms - one with a double and the other with a twin bed. Both the rooms are separated by way of a sliding door (though the latch on this door didn’t quite stick in our room). The apartment has all that one would need for a comfortable stay – right from – a 21” CTV (sorry, no LCD’s), DVD stereo system, satellite TV, telephones, tea maker, toaster, rice maker, utensils, cutlery, cork opener, washing machine, oven, microwave oven, refrigerator, weighing scale, torch, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, in-house safe, ACs in all rooms, alarm clock etc., giving comfort like staying in your own home. They also have hot & cold jacuzzi, steam, sauna and gym for guests. Daily newspapers can be read either in the residents lounge (breakfast area) or at the reception lobby. Note that they advise you of joint inspection of the room during checkout. The apartment has plenty of storage space. Only catch is…that the rooms are not quite what the postcard looks like….they are much simpler. The master bedroom and the dining room - both have a small balcony. A big plus of service apartment was having 2 bathrooms – with the master room having a bath tub.

After reading previous reviews, I was quite concerned about the breakfast – it was nice and filling – but after the third/ fourth day, one would like to see variety. It did begun to get monotonous. The breakfast closes at 10ish on weekdays and 1030 am at weekends. There is no room service, though we did dial in for re-filling of some coffee, sugar sachets and were asked ‘how many?’, but were promptly replaced. Caution: Do not expect birthday cake if you happen to celebrate it when you are here!

Retaining a star for their breakfast variety and on look and feel of the bedrooms. Bottomline, would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sanjay_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

stayed for 3 days recently, all you would expect of an apartment in Singapore. But beware - major renovation works were happening in the day time, supposed to stop at 6pm but went on into the night. Check if this is still happening when you book.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
245 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Had a brief stay in 2 bed 2 bath apartment on way back from KL. Apartment space and facilities were good especially a washer/dryer. The view we had from balcony was excellent. If you want to stay around Clarke Quay this is a reasonably priced place to stay with adequate breakfast. Apartment certainly gives more space than a hotel room. Place undergoing refurbishment which will make these apartments more appealing. Pool area very spacious. Had previously stayed nearer to Orchard Road which to me was preferred location but Hop on -off bus stops outside, short walk to MRT station, bum boats rides just at the river and plenty of nightlife and restaurants around Clarke Quay that are operating every night. So recommend if you want to stay in this location

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Somerset Bencoolen
#112 of 312 in Singapore
226 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Fraser Suites Singapore
#26 of 312 in Singapore
378 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 312 in Singapore
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Liang Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Property: Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Address: No 177B River Valley Road, Singapore 179032, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#56 Business Hotel in Singapore
#57 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Liang Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience and the trendy buzz of riverfront living. Somerset Liang Court is near many historic sites and scenic locations from Fort Canning Park to Boat Quay. Just minutes from the Singapore River, the residence is surrounded by unique and diverse riverside attractions. It is located above a shopping mall and just next to the gastronomic Clarke Quay restaurant and entertainment hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Liang Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Liang Court Hotel Singapore
Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing