We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we did this”
Review of The Changi Museum

The Changi Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$43.66*
and up
Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour
More Info
US$271.01*
and up
Private Tour: World War II Introduction on Singapore
More Info
US$247.67*
and up
Battle of Singapore in World War II Full-Day Shared Tour
Ranked #20 of 817 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum honors POWs who endured the Japanese occupation of Singapore in World War II. Their stories are told with an impressive collection of personal artifacts and news coverage. A British internee returned to the museum decades after the war to recreate the murals he’d painted on the walls of the original chapel – a moving insight into how those held prisoner found hope and comfort in any way possible.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So glad we did this”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very moving and interesting reflections on such a tragic event. I highly recommend getting the audio tour as is makes it all the more personal. We caught a taxi out to the museum which was about $25. We thought it was well worth it if you are short on time. Give yourself a couple of hours if you want yo have a really good look and listen to all the audio. I found it a very memorable and sometimes emotional experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,082
    606
    154
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Well laid out and very informative. Makes one realise how much we were not taught at school. A very balanced look at things and the longer term effects of the occupation,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank abar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,086 reviews
454 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 990 helpful votes
“Story well told”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We took the MRT to Tanah Mesah (on the line to the airport) and then the number 2 bus outside to make this very easy journey. This is a free exhibition however would recommend paying for the fabulous audio commentary which accompanies the story boards and artefacts. Very interesting and moving.
Thanks for the vote if you found this helpful. Happy travels.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A moving experience”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was an important visit for us as Australians and is accessible by train and a bus which stops out front. The older children understood the significance of the visit but probably not suitable for children under school age. You are unable to take photos inside the museum and you need to pay a small fee for the audio tour which is worth listening to. It is a quiet and solemn place and certainly opens ones eyes to the tragedies experienced by those involved.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A moving experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A good depiction of the occupation of Singapore and the POW's.
I really enjoyed this. The audio was a good way to hear about everything, although it did not always match with the stations.

A great look at history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Changi Museum also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Changi Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing