We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much.....”
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chinatown Hotel
Ranked #197 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not so much.....”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Yeah, booked this hotel, THEN read TripAdvisor reviews (note to self: read these reviews prior to booking any hotel in future). The reviews you'll find are spot-on. Speaking of spots, the hall carpet had more spots/stains than a connect-the-dot. Aroma's were, ahhh, interesting.

Hotel staff nice. I read the reviews, so I was expecting sub-par, and you know, traveling is an adventure....Singapore was great and I look at it this way. The small yucky room just encouraged me to spend as much time exploring the city as I could, and spent little time in the room. Not enough to stress about, just would never stay here again. Live and learn.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    28
    25
    19
    16
See reviews for
12
22
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

1. Extremely small room, even without window.
2. No ventialtion in toilet. Smell stayed in the room.
3. Room stinked. Carpet stinked.
4. A big hole in the ceiling. Creepy.
5. Receptionist lied about full occupancy as an excuse not to change our room. I saw people wlaked in and got their rooms.
6. Their one and only one computer was down, The receptionist asked me to fix it for them.
7. If you are travelling in tight budget and this hotel is your only choice, I highly recommend you to cancel your trip. My colleague and I preferred to wander in the hot streets instead of taking rest in our prison-like rooms.
8. Their room rate is not cheap at all compared to many other options in Singapore. The only advantage of this hotel is easy to book.
9. Toilet is so small that you have to shower on your toilet.
10. Internet connection is not free and not cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wokingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

The worst hotel the world has ever seen! there were hairs in the beds where they obviously haven't been changed. it was hugely noisy so you couldn't sleep. it was filthy filthy dirty where it has never been washed and it looked like it was falling apart from the inside out!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Great location, but thats about it. Place should have been painted about 5 years ago. Walls stained, carpets ripped. No window in room, breakfast, toaster and a teabag.
Two nights stay was two nights too long.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

The location in Chinatown is perfect and it is really close to the MRT so getting around the rest of the city is very easy. The room had no window, but I did not stay for the views anyway. Other than that, the room is clean even though the interior has definately seen better days (the carpet is old and the room smells a bit old). The breakfast is completely ridiculous, only a toaster and white bread and coffee powder. Good thing is that there is a 7/11 close by and there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. So it is not a luxury hotel but the staff was friendly and I only wanted a bed and a room in a good location in Singapore and this fitted the purpose.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#272 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#259 of 312 in Singapore
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#172 of 312 in Singapore
346 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#119 of 312 in Singapore
245 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#128 of 312 in Singapore
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Property: Chinatown Hotel
Address: 14 Teck Lim Road #12-16, Singapore 088388, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chinatown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing