We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay, away from the hustles of Orchard Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lloyd's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lloyd's Inn
Ranked #58 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, away from the hustles of Orchard Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staycation at the Big Skyroom - Room No. 5.

The official check-in time is 3pm. We arrived at the lobby at 3.30pm and the reception said that the room was not done and required an additional 20 min. The room was only ready at 4pm. The receptionist who checked in for us kept greeting me, Mr April. The salutation was wrong in the booking form but I'm fine with that. However, when he called out "Mr April", I went up to the desk and he still addressed me as MR. April. It is disappointing to know that the staff didn't know how to adjust according to situation. But I noticed that it was only that male staff. When we checked out, Ms Shakira attended to us and quickly addressed me as "Miss April".

Room - Very clean. Huge windows with a loft desk. The baht tub was large enough for 2 persons. Initially, the water wasn't hot enough. Called the recept and was once again greeted as MR. April, the service was prompt.

Sound proofing is not so good. When we were soaking in the bath tub (located outside the room), we could hear chattering and even the sound of running water from the tap. We could also hear the banging of the other doors. TV was less than idea. It's 32 inch but the screen is poor for a $228++ a night stay. We visited other same price category hotel range, many have HD TVs as the basic.

Comfort level - Bed is awesome. The bed was Serta Royal Pillow Top. One of the best beds that I've ever slept on (have not tried Heavenly Bed yet). The room was very serene at night. Surrounding neighbourhood is very quiet but heavily guarded. Behind Lloyd's Inn stayed a politician with 4 guards in and outside of the residence. Safety definitely not an issue.

Location - Superb! 7 minutes walk to either Somerset or Douby Ghaut.

All in all, I think it is an above average stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilngern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Miss April (hope we got it right this time!),

Thank you for your review of Lloyd's Inn on Tripadvisor. We value your feedback and rest assured we'll take all into consideration for improvements. We're extremely apologetic about the wrong salutation (we definitely agree that no female should be called "Mr"...) and we have briefed our staff to take note of this in future rather than be too focused on his tasks at hand. We're also apologetic about the external noise and will try our best to improve on that point.

Aside from this, we're pleased to know that you found our hotel clean and the bed comfortable for a good night's sleep. We're also glad that you were assured of safety and you found the environment serene and peaceful. Thank you for your feedback, and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn.

Regards,
Joan
Owner Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    280
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
75
431
61
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location, just a 5 mins walk from Orchard Road but peaceful and quiet, on a backstreet in a beautiful surrounding. Very modern and minimalist. I loved the open air shower! Super comfortable after long shopping day or sightseeing. I'm glad that I found this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdaHCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear MagdaHCMC,

Thank you for your positive review of Lloyd's Inn. We're delighted to know that you found our rooms really comfy, and we're delighted that we managed to provide the tranquil experience that all travellers deserve after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Also glad to know you enjoyed our open concept bathroom and minimalist approach to design. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A quite and comfortable place close to the hustle and bustle of Orchard Road.
Outside courtyard bathroom rooms are great!
Breakfast is a choice of two cafés close by. Not sure the extra $7.00 for the bakery is worth it though. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nkbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear nkbarker,

Thanks for your review of Lloyd's Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed our open concept bathrooms. Noted on your feedback and we will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back at Lloyd's Inn on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lloyd's Inn is a quaint and lovely establishment in the heart of bustling Orchard Road, with a unique entrance and ambience. We stayed in the Big Skyroom, which I believe is the largest and most expensive room in this boutique hotel. It was quite a long walk from Somerset MRT station, however, once you knew the route, it was a rather breezy walk. There are no indicators on the main road to lead guests to the hotel, but Google Maps should provide the accurate directions, as we used the inbuilt Maps app on iPhone 5. :) The staff who served us was really friendly, and showed us the amenities of the room before leaving us to it. The room was spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. The outdoor bathtub was lovely, with a tailored made awning right above it to provide shade from the glaring sun during the day. With a minimalistic design resonating throughout the entire establishment, Lloyd's Inn is a really wonderful hotel to consider for accommodation in the heart of bustling Orchard Road :)

The only downside, was the alarming amount of ants we found crawling around the minibar area, floor, a few on the sheets (when we have not even laid on it), and the wall along the door. No other insects or weird creepy crawlies, just ants! It was a huge turn off for both my partner and I, as we were looking for a relaxing stay at this fairly new establishment. Instead, we spent quite a bit of time killing those ants, but they just never seem to stop sprouting out from god knows where. :( Maybe it was only this room, maybe it was our bad luck! Either way, it was really quite upsetting.

If ants don't put you off, Lloyd's Inn will be certainly a wonderful choice of accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Neo Y,

Thank you for your review of Lloyd's Inn. We're extremely apologetic to learn about the ants in the room, rest assured that this is not normally the case and we have briefed the team such that this problem is rectified (all food areas to swept and kept clean and tidy). This is definitely not the standard that your Lloyd's Inn experience should entail and we apologize for it.

We're glad that we didn't warrant an overtly negative review from you and that you appreciate our friendly staff service, bathtub, room design, and plushy bed. We look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn (minus the ants, of course).

Regards,
Joan
Owner Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the big sky room and had a wonderful experience. Everything is spot on.

Looking forward for a future visit soon.

The negative side:
Noise from the corridor.
5min Morning stroll for breakfast

The positive side:
Excellent location.
Room is very clean.
Friendly staff.
Excellent shower.

The rest is good job lloyd's.

Thx lloyd's inn.




  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yohantj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Yohantj,

Thank you for your review of Lloyd's Inn Singapore. We note your feedback (good thing the positive is more than the negative!) and rest assured we are constantly striving to improve. We're glad you enjoyed your Big Sky Room experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a very good experience with Lloyd's Inn. A bit of a bummer since I requested a queen/king sized bed but they gave us a twin instead. I was told that they were fully booked that time but me and my boyfriend were able to push those beds together so no problem with that. We could hear minor renovations going on, annoying but tolerable. Overall, it was an amazing stay and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. The location is a major plus. Away from the busy street, but accessible to a lot of places. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinCho246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Represenative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear ChinCho246,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of Lloyd's Inn. We're extremely apologetic about the minor renovation and that we were unable to accommodate your request for a double bed room on that day as our other rooms were fully booked. Great that you managed to improvise by pushing the beds together! We're glad to know that the location was a plus point, and that overall you would still recommend us to your friends and family, which means a lot to us. We too look forward to seeing you and/or your friends and family next time at Lloyd's Inn :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali,Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had a delightful stay at Lloyd's inn. Even though, i was initially disappointed since I expected an upgrade as i requested and was promised prior to arrival, but the room was full so i did not get it, I was still pleasantly surprised with the room. Aside from the whole design concept of the inn, Lloyd's inn also is excellent for someone looking for some peace and tranquility while still being in the centre of the city. I don't even mind that the breakfast was a bit of a walk because it was not only a nice walk but it was a better authentically Singaporean. Will definitely come back to Lloyd's!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Anoncat,

Thank you for your review. We're delighted to know that you had a peaceful and tranquil stay in the city - an experience we seek to provide to travellers. We're also glad that you enjoyed the complimentary authentic Singaporean breakfast. As much as you'd love to come back, we look forward to seeing you back here again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Little India
Mayo Inn
Mayo Inn
#180 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#11 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd's Inn

Property: Lloyd's Inn
Address: 2 Lloyd Road Lloyd's Inn, Singapore 239091, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lloyd's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyd's Inn is a 34 room boutique hotel in the heart of Orchard Road Singapore that offers travellers a tranquil sanctuary within an urban city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lloyd's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd`s Hotel Singapore
Lloyd's Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing