We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money”
Review of Lloyd's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lloyd's Inn
Ranked #58 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A great small hotel with all the things a hotel should have. The beds were very comfy and I had a great nights sleep every night, despite jetlag. The room was clean and well presented. A nice addition was and outdoor shower which was a great experience. They also had a pool and a tea and coffee making area. Another little suprise was the daily occurence of small freshly baked cakes in my room. Good transport links to the city and right next to orchard road and sommerset MRT.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliewooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Charliewooding,

Thank you for your positive review of Lloyd's Inn. We're pleased that you found our beds comfortable for a good night's rest to ease away jetlag. We're also glad that you liked the small treats and the location of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Lloyd's Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    281
    75
    19
    13
See reviews for
75
432
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Staycation seems to be the only viable choice to spend our short break during June as my wife was approaching 3rd trimester.

We were deciding between a normal standard room in one of the 5 star hotels or the sky room in Lloyd.

Finally,we decided on Llyod's Inn as we do not want to stay in a conventional standard room of a hotel.
Llyod's Inn offered something more exciting for us. From the reviews and images from the website, we were keeping our fingers crossed in case it is a disappointment.

When we arrive at the hotel, t just proved that we made the right choice!

The place is a gem in the mist of the busy town. We were able to relax in the natural greenery. The room is brightly lit with natural light, clean and the amazing outdoor bathroom is as impressive as u see it on the website. The entire design of the hotel is well thought out. It has a loft study area with a long stretch of window for u to admire the greens outside. Your whole mood simply becomes at peace and the body becomes so relax naturally.

After checking in, we took a short 3 min stroll to Kilnney road where there are plenty of delicious snacks (baos, curry puffs, biscuits, etc). We bought a few nibbles then continue to The Central where we start our GSS shopping!

We shop our hearts out and ended our day with a late night movie. Without the need to pay mid night charges, we took a stroll back to our hotel.
Overall, the hotel has a god location and the design is definitely very good, modern unlike other conventional hotel. It is also value for money as well. I will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDaveSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your positive review of Lloyd's Inn. We're glad that you and your wife enjoyed your staycation at The Big Sky Room. Its good to hear that you managed to do some GSS shopping too while you were in town! Do check out another of our 8 rooms next time. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pros: good location (10 minutes walk from Somerset station but close from both Orchard and Clarke Quay), quiet environment, nice pool, modern room
Cons: breakfast is not available in the accommodation (we have to walk for 10 minutes to have breakfast), coffee machine is not maintained for 24 hours, poor level of service (the receptionist named Nas kept surfing in the internet and did nothing while I sought his support.), the room cleaner just did bed making and changed towels, but did not 'clean'.
Overall: a bit overrated, will use again if it is 33% cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manabu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Manabu K,

Thank you for your review and feedback. Lloyd's Inn does not house an F&B establishment, but by providing complimentary tie-ups with the cafes a short walk away, we hope to provide travellers with an authentic Singaporean breakfast experience.

We're pleased to know you liked the location and environment of Lloyd's Inn. We note your pointers on our pros and cons and rest assured we take all feedback into consideration as we strive to improve the Lloyd's Inn experience. We're extremely sorry to learn about the level of service you experienced during your stay. This is not the level of service we seek to provide and rest assured the staff has been briefed. We're also apologetic that the room cleanliness was not up to your standard - again, staff have been briefed to ensure an optimum level of cleanliness.

We appreciate your feedback and review. Thank you for choosing Lloyd's Inn on your visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staycation at the Big Skyroom - Room No. 5.

The official check-in time is 3pm. We arrived at the lobby at 3.30pm and the reception said that the room was not done and required an additional 20 min. The room was only ready at 4pm. The receptionist who checked in for us kept greeting me, Mr April. The salutation was wrong in the booking form but I'm fine with that. However, when he called out "Mr April", I went up to the desk and he still addressed me as MR. April. It is disappointing to know that the staff didn't know how to adjust according to situation. But I noticed that it was only that male staff. When we checked out, Ms Shakira attended to us and quickly addressed me as "Miss April".

Room - Very clean. Huge windows with a loft desk. The baht tub was large enough for 2 persons. Initially, the water wasn't hot enough. Called the recept and was once again greeted as MR. April, the service was prompt.

Sound proofing is not so good. When we were soaking in the bath tub (located outside the room), we could hear chattering and even the sound of running water from the tap. We could also hear the banging of the other doors. TV was less than idea. It's 32 inch but the screen is poor for a $228++ a night stay. We visited other same price category hotel range, many have HD TVs as the basic.

Comfort level - Bed is awesome. The bed was Serta Royal Pillow Top. One of the best beds that I've ever slept on (have not tried Heavenly Bed yet). The room was very serene at night. Surrounding neighbourhood is very quiet but heavily guarded. Behind Lloyd's Inn stayed a politician with 4 guards in and outside of the residence. Safety definitely not an issue.

Location - Superb! 7 minutes walk to either Somerset or Douby Ghaut.

All in all, I think it is an above average stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilngern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Miss April (hope we got it right this time!),

Thank you for your review of Lloyd's Inn on Tripadvisor. We value your feedback and rest assured we'll take all into consideration for improvements. We're extremely apologetic about the wrong salutation (we definitely agree that no female should be called "Mr"...) and we have briefed our staff to take note of this in future rather than be too focused on his tasks at hand. We're also apologetic about the external noise and will try our best to improve on that point.

Aside from this, we're pleased to know that you found our hotel clean and the bed comfortable for a good night's sleep. We're also glad that you were assured of safety and you found the environment serene and peaceful. Thank you for your feedback, and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn.

Regards,
Joan
Owner Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location, just a 5 mins walk from Orchard Road but peaceful and quiet, on a backstreet in a beautiful surrounding. Very modern and minimalist. I loved the open air shower! Super comfortable after long shopping day or sightseeing. I'm glad that I found this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdaHCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear MagdaHCMC,

Thank you for your positive review of Lloyd's Inn. We're delighted to know that you found our rooms really comfy, and we're delighted that we managed to provide the tranquil experience that all travellers deserve after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Also glad to know you enjoyed our open concept bathroom and minimalist approach to design. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A quite and comfortable place close to the hustle and bustle of Orchard Road.
Outside courtyard bathroom rooms are great!
Breakfast is a choice of two cafés close by. Not sure the extra $7.00 for the bakery is worth it though. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nkbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear nkbarker,

Thanks for your review of Lloyd's Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed our open concept bathrooms. Noted on your feedback and we will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back at Lloyd's Inn on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lloyd's Inn is a quaint and lovely establishment in the heart of bustling Orchard Road, with a unique entrance and ambience. We stayed in the Big Skyroom, which I believe is the largest and most expensive room in this boutique hotel. It was quite a long walk from Somerset MRT station, however, once you knew the route, it was a rather breezy walk. There are no indicators on the main road to lead guests to the hotel, but Google Maps should provide the accurate directions, as we used the inbuilt Maps app on iPhone 5. :) The staff who served us was really friendly, and showed us the amenities of the room before leaving us to it. The room was spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. The outdoor bathtub was lovely, with a tailored made awning right above it to provide shade from the glaring sun during the day. With a minimalistic design resonating throughout the entire establishment, Lloyd's Inn is a really wonderful hotel to consider for accommodation in the heart of bustling Orchard Road :)

The only downside, was the alarming amount of ants we found crawling around the minibar area, floor, a few on the sheets (when we have not even laid on it), and the wall along the door. No other insects or weird creepy crawlies, just ants! It was a huge turn off for both my partner and I, as we were looking for a relaxing stay at this fairly new establishment. Instead, we spent quite a bit of time killing those ants, but they just never seem to stop sprouting out from god knows where. :( Maybe it was only this room, maybe it was our bad luck! Either way, it was really quite upsetting.

If ants don't put you off, Lloyd's Inn will be certainly a wonderful choice of accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Neo Y,

Thank you for your review of Lloyd's Inn. We're extremely apologetic to learn about the ants in the room, rest assured that this is not normally the case and we have briefed the team such that this problem is rectified (all food areas to swept and kept clean and tidy). This is definitely not the standard that your Lloyd's Inn experience should entail and we apologize for it.

We're glad that we didn't warrant an overtly negative review from you and that you appreciate our friendly staff service, bathtub, room design, and plushy bed. We look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn (minus the ants, of course).

Regards,
Joan
Owner Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#56 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Little India
Mayo Inn
Mayo Inn
#183 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#63 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd's Inn

Property: Lloyd's Inn
Address: 2 Lloyd Road Lloyd's Inn, Singapore 239091, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lloyd's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyd's Inn is a 34 room boutique hotel in the heart of Orchard Road Singapore that offers travellers a tranquil sanctuary within an urban city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lloyd's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd`s Hotel Singapore
Lloyd's Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing