We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing weekend in peace and tranqulity”
Review of Lloyd's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lloyd's Inn
Ranked #58 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“relaxing weekend in peace and tranqulity”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

stayed at Lloyds for 2N. Overall the stay was pretty good, the bed was nice and comfy and the room smells clean and very new still. The outdoor bathroom was an interesting concept. Loved the toiletries made available, esp the shower gel. smelt fantastic, had wanted to ask the front desk what brand it was, but forgot about it.

I liked the proximity to food places and a 24h supermarket for late night snacking. One downside is the choice of tv programmes available, guess there could have been more options.

It was overall nice and quiet and had a lovely time. Would consider coming back again for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of the daily grind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flim30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear amblingalp_sg,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We're extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed the rain shower experience, and your stay at Lloyd's Inn overall. Good that you managed to get that well deserved break away from the hustle bustle. We look forward to seeing you back again.

P.s. The shower gel is a customized scent with white tea fragrance ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    284
    76
    19
    13
See reviews for
75
438
62
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I lived in Lloyd's Inn for 4 nights with my friends. It's located at a very convenient place thus quiet and peaceful. 5min walk to the MRT, lots of restaurants just a few steps away, watson, 24h supermarket...u name it.The staffs there were very polite and helpful. The room was fantastic, with modern design and beautiful outdoor rainshower. One of the best I've been to.The pool was very small but I loved it because no one would disturb u there.
There r so many things I like about it. Will definetely live there again when I go to singapore! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaFeiWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear DonnaFeiWang,

Thank you very much for your positive review! We're immensely glad to hear you enjoyed your 4 days with us. We're also glad you enjoyed the comfy beds and rainshower. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel to celebrate my 21st after reading so many good reviews about it and my expectations was high of this place. My fiancé called in to enquire if we could check in earlier although we understand that standard check in time will be at 3pm. Nasri was the one who picked up the phone. He gave us a one word answer and hang up on my fiancé. And because he hates to be hung up on, he called the hotel again and told nasri that he is not done talking but nasri just replied with an 'okay' instead of being rather apologetic. So he email lloyd inn to complain but nasri replied and didnt even sound very apologetic. His reply was rather insincere. His hotel manager kelvin took over the matter.
We arrived at about 1pm because we wanted to meet the manager to let him know we were not happy about what happened earlier but unfortunately kelvin was busy handling another guest. Upon check in, nasri was the one who attended to us and he knows that we were the one who complained but not even the word 'sorry' came out from his mouth. Not even a smile! But when other guest came in, he was being very attentive and helpful. I wonder if its just double standards.. We didnt even find fault with him in the first place why cant he treat us equally?
Soon after, Kelvin came to our room. He was kind enough to apologize and extend our late check out complimentary. But although all the staff knew that it was my birthday, none of the staff actually wished me. When i saw the reviews from other guest, they actually gotten gifts from the hotel but i didnt even get anything at all.. Which was very disappointing. Because i picked the hotel to celebrate my birthday when i could have chosen other hotels. It is the simple gestures of just wishing Happy Birthday will definitely make my day but unfortunately i didnt receive any.
Well, one thing i cant deny is that the hotel is very lovely but the service is not there. I dont blame them because the hotel is relatively new. But its really unfair when they do double standards. The hotel should treat every guest equally.
Upon check out, Fifi apologized to us on behalf of nasri and it did make me feel a lot better.
I will come back again because of the rooms but not because of the service. It was a terrible disappointment because i really expected my birthday to be well spent at the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank nrfrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear nrfrna,

We are terribly sorry to hear of your less than satisfactory experience at Lloyd's Inn. We apologize for the poor level of service you received and admit that we could have done better. We also apologize on behalf of the staff that served you; we agree that the staff could have been more attentive. Despite this, we would like to thank you for your feedback and assure you that actions have been taken to improve on this aspect.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A great small hotel with all the things a hotel should have. The beds were very comfy and I had a great nights sleep every night, despite jetlag. The room was clean and well presented. A nice addition was and outdoor shower which was a great experience. They also had a pool and a tea and coffee making area. Another little suprise was the daily occurence of small freshly baked cakes in my room. Good transport links to the city and right next to orchard road and sommerset MRT.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliewooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Charliewooding,

Thank you for your positive review of Lloyd's Inn. We're pleased that you found our beds comfortable for a good night's rest to ease away jetlag. We're also glad that you liked the small treats and the location of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Lloyd's Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Staycation seems to be the only viable choice to spend our short break during June as my wife was approaching 3rd trimester.

We were deciding between a normal standard room in one of the 5 star hotels or the sky room in Lloyd.

Finally,we decided on Llyod's Inn as we do not want to stay in a conventional standard room of a hotel.
Llyod's Inn offered something more exciting for us. From the reviews and images from the website, we were keeping our fingers crossed in case it is a disappointment.

When we arrive at the hotel, t just proved that we made the right choice!

The place is a gem in the mist of the busy town. We were able to relax in the natural greenery. The room is brightly lit with natural light, clean and the amazing outdoor bathroom is as impressive as u see it on the website. The entire design of the hotel is well thought out. It has a loft study area with a long stretch of window for u to admire the greens outside. Your whole mood simply becomes at peace and the body becomes so relax naturally.

After checking in, we took a short 3 min stroll to Kilnney road where there are plenty of delicious snacks (baos, curry puffs, biscuits, etc). We bought a few nibbles then continue to The Central where we start our GSS shopping!

We shop our hearts out and ended our day with a late night movie. Without the need to pay mid night charges, we took a stroll back to our hotel.
Overall, the hotel has a god location and the design is definitely very good, modern unlike other conventional hotel. It is also value for money as well. I will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDaveSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your positive review of Lloyd's Inn. We're glad that you and your wife enjoyed your staycation at The Big Sky Room. Its good to hear that you managed to do some GSS shopping too while you were in town! Do check out another of our 8 rooms next time. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pros: good location (10 minutes walk from Somerset station but close from both Orchard and Clarke Quay), quiet environment, nice pool, modern room
Cons: breakfast is not available in the accommodation (we have to walk for 10 minutes to have breakfast), coffee machine is not maintained for 24 hours, poor level of service (the receptionist named Nas kept surfing in the internet and did nothing while I sought his support.), the room cleaner just did bed making and changed towels, but did not 'clean'.
Overall: a bit overrated, will use again if it is 33% cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manabu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Manabu K,

Thank you for your review and feedback. Lloyd's Inn does not house an F&B establishment, but by providing complimentary tie-ups with the cafes a short walk away, we hope to provide travellers with an authentic Singaporean breakfast experience.

We're pleased to know you liked the location and environment of Lloyd's Inn. We note your pointers on our pros and cons and rest assured we take all feedback into consideration as we strive to improve the Lloyd's Inn experience. We're extremely sorry to learn about the level of service you experienced during your stay. This is not the level of service we seek to provide and rest assured the staff has been briefed. We're also apologetic that the room cleanliness was not up to your standard - again, staff have been briefed to ensure an optimum level of cleanliness.

We appreciate your feedback and review. Thank you for choosing Lloyd's Inn on your visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staycation at the Big Skyroom - Room No. 5.

The official check-in time is 3pm. We arrived at the lobby at 3.30pm and the reception said that the room was not done and required an additional 20 min. The room was only ready at 4pm. The receptionist who checked in for us kept greeting me, Mr April. The salutation was wrong in the booking form but I'm fine with that. However, when he called out "Mr April", I went up to the desk and he still addressed me as MR. April. It is disappointing to know that the staff didn't know how to adjust according to situation. But I noticed that it was only that male staff. When we checked out, Ms Shakira attended to us and quickly addressed me as "Miss April".

Room - Very clean. Huge windows with a loft desk. The baht tub was large enough for 2 persons. Initially, the water wasn't hot enough. Called the recept and was once again greeted as MR. April, the service was prompt.

Sound proofing is not so good. When we were soaking in the bath tub (located outside the room), we could hear chattering and even the sound of running water from the tap. We could also hear the banging of the other doors. TV was less than idea. It's 32 inch but the screen is poor for a $228++ a night stay. We visited other same price category hotel range, many have HD TVs as the basic.

Comfort level - Bed is awesome. The bed was Serta Royal Pillow Top. One of the best beds that I've ever slept on (have not tried Heavenly Bed yet). The room was very serene at night. Surrounding neighbourhood is very quiet but heavily guarded. Behind Lloyd's Inn stayed a politician with 4 guards in and outside of the residence. Safety definitely not an issue.

Location - Superb! 7 minutes walk to either Somerset or Douby Ghaut.

All in all, I think it is an above average stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilngern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydsInn, Owner Representative at Lloyd's Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Miss April (hope we got it right this time!),

Thank you for your review of Lloyd's Inn on Tripadvisor. We value your feedback and rest assured we'll take all into consideration for improvements. We're extremely apologetic about the wrong salutation (we definitely agree that no female should be called "Mr"...) and we have briefed our staff to take note of this in future rather than be too focused on his tasks at hand. We're also apologetic about the external noise and will try our best to improve on that point.

Aside from this, we're pleased to know that you found our hotel clean and the bed comfortable for a good night's sleep. We're also glad that you were assured of safety and you found the environment serene and peaceful. Thank you for your feedback, and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at Lloyd's Inn.

Regards,
Joan
Owner Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#57 of 312 in Singapore
333 reviews
Little India
Mayo Inn
Mayo Inn
#180 of 312 in Singapore
171 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 312 in Singapore
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#95 of 312 in Singapore
805 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 312 in Singapore
6,375 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#47 of 312 in Singapore
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd's Inn

Property: Lloyd's Inn
Address: 2 Lloyd Road Lloyd's Inn, Singapore 239091, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lloyd's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyd's Inn is a 34 room boutique hotel in the heart of Orchard Road Singapore that offers travellers a tranquil sanctuary within an urban city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lloyd's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd`s Hotel Singapore
Lloyd's Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing