We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended to stay”
Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strand Hotel
Ranked #149 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Kajang, Malaysia
1 review
“Recommended to stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights. Rooms were clean and good. The location of the hotel was the best and the nearest mrt is Bras Basah. Limited choices for breakfast but the food was still good.
Recommended to stay and will come again to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    206
    120
    31
    17
See reviews for
178
94
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. Rooms were clean , walls were old but painted. staff were good,staff at desk were great. I only didn't like kitchen staff(didn't see any bad thing). Sheets and towel were so clean. bathroom water was good but no toiletries , just toothbrush. no drier. And there was only one shampoo that you had to use for hair, body and hand!
Coffee and tea and kettle were in room but no complimentary water.
Breakfast was served and there were a little choice, I can't say it was bad because they served a plate with scrambled egg, bean, bacon and sausage.
Location was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickynicky62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The family room we got was very good. Spacious and clean with sheets and towels changed everyday. Great location, just a few minutes walk to the MRT. There's a 24-hour Kopi Tiam and 7/Eleven across the street. Friendly and helpful staff. Daily free breakfast was also good, though not much variety.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank madmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayan Lepas, Penang
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Every time when i go Singapore, either for leisure or business, Strand Hotel is my preferred choice because:
Location - It is just walking distance to Bugis Junction (around 15mins walk) and 7mins walk to the Douby Ghuart MRT Station.

Eateries - Plenty of choices around the hotel area. There is a Kopitiam center just across the road

Room - When you go into the room, the 1st thing you will notice is how big the room is. It is very comfortable and extremely quiet. I always had a good night sleep there.

Breakfast - Simple breakfast. Breakfast is 1 western breakfast set & all you can eat toast, cereals, some fried noodles. The breakfast set has generous portion of bacon, eggs, sausages and you will definitely be full by the time you finish up the breakfast

Do note that taxis are hard to get by due to current construction in front of the hotel. Thus, the taxis are unable to drive-in or out. Sometimes the taxis will drop you a distant away from hotel. So, book a cab first or walk a distance to hail a cab.

Despite all the hassle, do i still want to go back staying in this hotel? Absolute yes ... for the price, i got a comfort and good night sleep. I think that is well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. However limited amenities - only shampoo and body shampoo. So bring your own too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yeap76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We chose Strand hotel because it is one of the very few hotels in SG that offers a family room for as big as 6pax/rm. We booked two rooms, ours accommodated 3 pax - including our young daughter who shared our bed (S$160) and the other for 5 pax (S$280) nett per night. Location is good, breakfast is decent (nothing special though); a 7/11 & hawker food center just across the street. Walking distance to nearest MRT stations (Dhoby Gaut & Bras Basah). Bathroom supplies includes only liquid soap and 2 sets of toothbrush.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson-Tina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at very short notice due to a change in plans. We booked a family room for 2 adults and 3 children aged 13,12 and 8. The room was an L- shape and more like an apartment ( tip - there are two larger rooms on each floor, ask for one) the room was immaculately clean, spacious and had free wifi.

The staff were friendly and efficient, helping us with booking a taxi to the airport and with any other questions we had.

Breakfast was included. It was a small buffet as well as a plated of bacon, eggs and beans served to us. Whilst it was simple it was good and plentiful. The fruit was especially delicious.

The location is fantastic with Orchard Road a short five minute walk away. We walked to China town and caught a cab home.

The one negative would be the building works outside. I say negative in that other travelers may need to know but I couldn't believe how quiet it was in the building and we faced directly in to the work! There is some light from the window at night and I would say a pull down blind would help during this time as the work is expected to continue for some time.

However, don't let that put you off as its a great little find for a family at a great rate in what can be a very expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As soon as we stepped into the room, we knew we had made the right choice for a hotel to stay in for 5 nights. The room looked almost brand new and was big enough for 2 queen beds and a single, perfect for a family of 5 adults. It was really clean ( a must for us!)

Someone had put his/her thinking cap on when designing the bathroom and came up with the idea of putting up a wall between the toilet and the shower so that the two could be used separately. Brilliant!

The downside: The construction right outside the window. We got the corner family room on the 2nd floor and so got some of the noise. But kudos to the construction company, their work is the quietest I have ever heard! Thankfully they don't work at night. Other reviewers suggested getting a higher floor or one that faces the back.

Also, because part of the Bencoolen Road is blocked for the construction, many taxi drivers did not know how to access the hotel from the back road. One ended up having to make a 3-point turn on a deadend and another drove round and round (Tell them to look out for the huge orange directional signboards. Otherwise tell them to drop you at Kopitiam which is just opposite.)

Also, there was some miscommunication among the hotel personnel regarding our charges and I ended up having to argue with the lady at the reception at checkout. Note to self: ensure that the reception enter any changes into their computer system at checkin.

Room Tip: One on a higher floor or one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#116 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#162 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Canning Lodge
#156 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Hotel Kai
#113 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Summer View Hotel
#102 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Property: Strand Hotel
Address: 25 Bencoolen Street Strand Hotel, Singapore 189619, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing