We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere”
Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strand Hotel
Ranked #153 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel in 2 queen rooms. The bathroom has a glass full length window separating it from the lounge / bedroom..this means that when you take a shower the curtains in the lounge room need to be pull and even then everyone in the room has a full view of what you are doing. If you want to use the toilet in privacy make sure the bathroom / shower curtain is pulled or you will be sitting on the throne in full view! The hotel needs a full make over the carpets are lose in every room and are a tripping hazard. Our bathroom door was held together with Gaff tape! We rang down to house keeping on our first night for an extra pillow only to be told they had no spare pillows. Breakfast is good but seating is limited. While the hotel is close to everything there is major construction going on at the front of the hotel which will continue till mid 2015 which makes it difficult for taxi's and also can make it noisy in the rooms...ask for a high up room if possible. I'd look elsewhere...be aware also that the hotel policy is to pre charge the first nights accommodation in advance then on booking in they will charge the total cost ( including the night already held in advance). When we questioned them on the fact that they had in effect charged us the first night twice we were advised that this is hotel policy and the original charge would be returned to our credit card 15 days after we checked out! Our bed was a queen size bed and it was made with double bed sheets and a double bed thin blanket ( no doonah or comforter) which meant that either our feet were cold if we pulled the blanket up or our chest was cold if we kept the blanket on our feet...they told us they were the only sheets & blankets that they had!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor towards the back..better still if you can just choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea32112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    214
    123
    33
    18
See reviews for
185
98
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Location wise, a few steps to the nearest MRT station. Big room, accommodating staff, basic room amenities. With free daily breakfast. I made the right decision in staying there.

There's an ongoing MRT station construction in the area the reason the road is closed. Other than that the place is recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Place is very close to MRT stations and to bus stops. Taxi stand is very closeby. There is a huge construction site in front of hotel due to tube expansion but we asked for a room on back side which has no side impact at all. Breakfast was very basic and needs to be improved. Rooms/hotel interior is well designed but definitely worn out and needs to be renovated. Overall Strand has everything it needs but if renovated to levels of HI express it can give a run to other hotels in that area. Lets accept the reality of singapore - every hotel brand is more expensive than USA/UK so if you are looking for a good balance of cost, location and service this is a good place to choose.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharatMendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was the worst place to stay... don't read "location" there are hundreds of hotels near the same area where all the attractions are in Singapore.
The room we had was painted in grey with a freaking bed conected with the ceiling colored in fucsia color. It was very humid and the AC very loud and impossible to live. Thank God we were in the hotel only night time to sleep, day time we were in the city.
DON'T go for breakfast there!!! is horrible.
Staff never smiles and we had the feeliing that we are bothering them when asked for something.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 911 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

There are two MRT stations, which are near the hotel (Doby Ghaut and Bras Basah). We find the location of the hotel very convenient since we used the Metro a lot in exploring Singapore. Aside from the MRT stations, there are also 2 bus stops that are just few walks away from it. I also appreciate their fast reply to your booking inquiries. I haven’t had a hard time booking a room with them via e-mail. No complaints about the room. Our family room is very spacious and is always clean. Cheers also to the staff. They are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SCLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We arrived at the Hotel last Saturday (26 April, 2014) at 2:30am
and checked out on Monday (28 April, 2014).

The Receptionist Staff (Male) is very accommodating.
Hotel allowed us for a late check-out until 2:00pm.
The Bell Boy (Probably in his 70's) is very helpful to carry our luggage bags but we refused.
Staff at least try to please guests. I can say that this is a plus point for this Hotel.

Hotel is old and poorly maintained.
Room is spacious compared to other Hotels in Singapore (same price range).
Bed is not comfortable with thin blankets and 3 pillows.
Aircon gets hotter in the middle of the night.
The carpet is dirty with so many black stains around!
Equipped with a small work desk, 32inches LCD Tv - No mini bar but with small refrigerator.
Commendable service for cleaning the room everyday by the Hotel's Cleaning Staff.

Toilet is covered with glass wall (no privacy) and there is not much space to move around.
They only provide a free toothbrush+toothpaste, shampoo/liquid soap (all in one) - smelly.
Better bring your own soap and shampoo.
Wifi is free but it disconnects us from time to time.
They do not have other amenities except for the free usage of computer/s at the Lobby.

Breakfast is limited. It is available from 7:30am to 10:30am only.
They serve the same breakfast everyday:
Only that it will change if it is a bacon or a hotdog + 2 fried eggs and hash brown
+ extra buffet for bread with spreads (margarine, fruit jams), sometimes they have a pancakes and one type of fried noodles everyday.
Coffee, tea, juice (one type everyday - apple tea or four seasons) and water is unlimited.
Restaurant is very small - it gets very crowded. Better be there earlier to get a good seat.
Food served was cold. Maybe the Hotel can improve on this area.

Location is accessible but not for taxi. In front of the Hotel building is a huge construction area for the future Bencoleen MRT Station (Blue Line) and it will be finish only in 2017. For the mean time, I do not like the location. Near to Bus Stop (Rendezvous Hotel) and Bras Basah MRT Station. There is also a 24 hours Kopitiam, 7-11, Pub (Irish Pub - they serve great food here! Must try!), Coffee Shops and Nearby to Museums (walking distance).

To summarize everything:

Customer service - Average
Room - Poor
Breakfast - Average
Location - Very Good but because of the construction, I'll rate it Average

Overall, I love the Staff of the Hotel. But I will not come back here again until they renovate everything plus until they finish the construction of the MRT. Hopefully, they can also improve the interior of the Hotel. It is crying out for a major renovation. Rendezvous Hotel looks more enticing plus they have their own drop off point Lobby at the back unlike Strand Hotel. Very troublesome to get your own cab back to the Airport. Better to take Bus No. 36 to Changi Airport instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to be safe. Not sure if lower floor rooms is affected of the on going constru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iTextSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It took me weeks and sleepless nights searching for a hotel in Singapore that will fit our ideal location, at the same time wouldn't burn our wallets and has more or less good reviews from previous customers, as well. After nth times of checking Google Maps and reading the reviews of each and every hotel nearby the Orchard Road area, I found an article raving about the Strand Hotel that helped me out.

Here is the link: http://www.pinoyroadtrip.com/2011/11/strand-hotel-best-budget-hotel-in.html

I quickly checked out other Strand Hotel reviews and knew it was the PERFECT choice for us.

I e-mailed them a request for reservation and they weren't so quick with their replies (compared to my experience with other hotels) that I also had to contact them through their website. I had to resend every e-mail I sent them to secure an immediate answer.

Now on to other details...

We stayed in Singapore for three days in February 2014. We were a group of three people booked in a triple room with three single beds. When we arrived Singapore from KL, we rode a taxi and it took him a while to navigate around the area BECAUSE the street where Strand Hotel is located, Bencoolen St., is partly closed due to an undergoing construction. Therefore, all taxis had to go through the street right behind Strand Hotel/Rendevous Hotel. Prior to our trip, my brother warned us about this undergoing construction when he booked at Hotel Bencoolen. He went to Singapore for over a year now and well it's still there.

Arriving the hotel, we were IMMEDIATELY assisted by the hotel staff. I felt quite uncomfortable seeing an old man diligently carrying our luggage, since in Asian culture people 'should' always give high regard to the elderly and young people should be the ones assisting them. I insisted that we should carry the luggage instead, but the old man insisted he'd do it and he even seemed quite happy about it. We were checked-in right away and was assisted upstairs by the same old guy who carried around our luggage.

As we entered the room, he reminded us to make use of the WiFi connection by pointing out the password written on the hotel card cover and that we should not forget to avail of our free breakfast in the morning too. Since we weren't sure if the tap water was safe to drink, we asked him that, and he filled up our electronic kettle and said that the tap water's clean and also added that the coffee and powdered milk tea will be replenished everyday for free. So far so good, service has been very friendly and accommodating. He sure deserved a big tip.

The room that we got was a standard looking hotel room. It was located at the back of the hotel with the back side of Rendevous Hotel and an office building as our view. Two single beds plus one extra folding bed, carpeted floor, flat screen TV, fridge and phone (I can't remember if there was a safe). Bathroom was very plain. There was a shampoo/shower gel dispenser and toothbrush+toothpaste packs inside.

For tech freaks, WiFi connection was fair enough to upload photos on Facebook and check e-mail. No, it wasn't a slow connection.

Breakfast was at the Blabber's Cafe and Sandwich Bar located at the lobby area. You have to get your breakfast stub at the reception everyday. It was comprised of hash browns, sausages and egg. There is a small buffet of toast/pancakes, jam, cereals, some kind of Asian noodle, and of course, coffee, juice and tea. If you are going to stay there for a couple of days, you'd probably get tired of the breakfast, since they'll serve the same thing everyday.

Location-wise, well, Strand Hotel is just right behind the Rendevous Hotel, which is located along the Bras Basah (main) Road. Therefore, a couple of steps ahead from Strand Hotel is a convenient bus stop, which we only got to use for the City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour (a very disappointing bus tour, by the way, since they never lived up to their promise of a bus arriving every 15 mins! It took us 45 mins or more waiting for that stupid bus...so not worth it...FYI). I can't really say much about how close the area is to the other tourist places, since all through out our trip, we just used the tour bus and opted to ride the taxi than walk around in the heat and humidity.

Some FYIs, a Kopitiam (food court) and 7-11 is just in front of the hotel. I saw a Subway Sandwich Shop somewhere further on the other side of Bras Basah Road.The Rendevous Hotel has also a yummy lunch buffet (with quite a few Durian dessert selections), if you plan to splurge a little more. A foreign exchange is also nearby, just turn left when you come out of the lobby and walk a couple of meters ahead.

Not far from Strand Hotel is Bugis Street. Just walk down Bencoolen St. and somewhere along the way you'd have to turn right and go straight ahead. Oh yeah, you can get a free map from the reception and check it out. It's like a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. We spent a lot of time there, shopping for take home gifts and trying out Singaporean street food. Items/products are fairly priced that you can't haggle that much.

Again, here is the link I found from the internet with a much more detailed review and description of the Strand Hotel.

http://www.pinoyroadtrip.com/2011/11/strand-hotel-best-budget-hotel-in.html

For a budget hotel, they really try to give you more than just 'budget'. A truly great value for money in the most expensive city in the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank e_ilse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
V Hotel Bencoolen
#159 of 312 in Singapore
1,292 reviews
Hotel Kai
#110 of 312 in Singapore
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#115 of 312 in Singapore
997 reviews
Summer View Hotel
#99 of 312 in Singapore
457 reviews
Bayview Hotel Singapore
#190 of 312 in Singapore
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Property: Strand Hotel
Address: 25 Bencoolen Street Strand Hotel, Singapore 189619, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing