We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great looking hotel, service could improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL on Pickering
Ranked #24 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great looking hotel, service could improve”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at Parkroyal on Pickering for 4 nights recently. It is a great looking hotel, very modern rooms, great views and very good breakfast. Great location and a very green hotel with lots of plants. Pool was great, as the hotel was not busy at this time of year, the pool was a good enough size. Infinity pool and huts were very special.

Our only criticism was the staff. Most of the staff were really helpful. Although there were a few staff members who were not doing a good job. We had problems when we asked the desk and concierge staff to make a booking for us at a nearby restaurant. They forgot to book it for us and then spun a few stories as to the reason why, rather than simply just saying "sorry we forgot"

However, one staff member, Rolando, fixed this problem for us very quickly. He was a very nice person, very sincere and extremely helpful. He got a reservation for us at the restaurant and ensured we enjoyed the rest of our stay at Parkroyal. Even sent a complimentary bottle of French champagne to our room. Very nice thing for him to do.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gino-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jennifer Z, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. While it appears thant you enjoyed the overall visit, I was disappointed to hear of the experience with the restaurant reservation. We will certainly look into your comments and take corrective actions to address the service shortfalls. I appreciate your patience and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    766
    197
    52
    41
See reviews for
460
1,207
137
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Pros:
1) Location - next to Chinatown, close to Boat/Clarke Quay (so plenty of food around)
2) Breakfast - Extensive from western continental to local asians (try dumplings, soup noodle and congee)
3) Furnishing & Design - new and contemporary

Cons:
1) Verandah - There are 3 towers, if your room is not in the middle tower, then you have to take the lifts from the middle tower and walk over to one of the other towers via an open verandah
2) Rooms - covered in timber furnishing all the way to ceiling means room feels small (the rooms are literally small too) and dark, bathroom walls can be slide open or closed, leave it open because the room is already small, closing it will make it feel even smaller and confined

Also found moulds on the joint between bathroom sink and mirror

3) Entrance - Steps to the front entrance has no ramp, if concierge is busy, and you need to pull your own suitcase, expect to lift up the stairs

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pan Pacific Hotels Group

Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gino-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Edgar C, thank you so much for the review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the guestroom, breakfast selection at Lime and convenience of our location. I have also noted your comments on the verandahs. While it might take time and effort to move from one point to another, some of our guests absolutely love it as it gives them the opportunity to admire the lush vertical garden walls along the external corridors. I will definitely share your feedback with the team for their necessary action. Thank you for your patience and I look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL on Pickering in the future for a more successful experience. Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

this is the 4th time stay there wiv my family members. Quite a suprise when they free upgrade my room to junior suite where my booking is premier room. Overall very satisfy wiv this hotel & definitely my ultimate choice stay in S'pore.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pan Pacific Hotels Group

Helpful?
Thank JJ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gino-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear JJ N, it is always a pleasure to hear from our regular guests. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with your family and hope to welcome you back for a fifth visit some time soon. Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 7 days and I really enjoyed it. The room was so nice and the bed was so great big space and soft one and I sleep nicely all staff are great very friendly and helpful.. especial mention to bellman Aaron and Arvin .. the Concierge team Sitti and Rolando ..thank you very much guys for naking my stays very memorable one .. walking distance from Chinatown for food and shopping I definitely comeback to this wonderful hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rolando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gino-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Rolando A, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. It’s always rewarding to hear from our happy guests and we hope to remain your hotel of choice during your next visit. Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work and loved this hotel and everything about it. The location, the staff, the beautiful rooms. I was upgraded to a junior suite when I arrive and it was stunning.

The view was absolutely amazing. I can't wait to return, the small disappointment is I was there for work not pleasure so didn't get to use all the facilities.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gino-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Aussie_Ox, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and I hope you will get the chance to use some of our wellness facilities the next time you visit the hotel. Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our first trip to Singapore, and if the Park Royal on Pickering is anything to go by it won't be our last! This hotel is located in a fantastic spot- easy walking distance to Clark Quay, Boat Quay and Chinatown. We opted for Club Room, and were not disappointment with this choice. All staff members are extremely professional, friendly and most helpful. Our room was lovely, clean, and all we need for a short 3 night stay. Club Room really is the way to go here - breakfast, free wifi, afternoon tea, and drinks and nibbles between 6-8 at night - we didn't dinner after that and all the staff members on the 16th floor were just lovely, attentive, and went out of their way to please us - we felt very special. We loved the location - we could walk everywhere we wanted to visit (except the zoo!) and we would have no hesitation staying here again. Keep up the good work guys! (special mention to James in the bar - he's a lovely, engaging young man and we wish him well)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nads68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gino-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Nads68_13, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent experience at our hotel-in-a-garden. It's even more rewarding to know that you will be back to stay with us again. Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our PARKROYAL people. James, in particular was very excited to know that he has left such a positive impression. The team and I will most certainly look forward to your next visit. Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely hotel - garden in the city. We stayed for just 2 nights and had a lovely time. Like with most things in life - it is easy to find hotels especially in singapore where there are many great hotels. The thing that differentiates your stay is the service and in Parkroyal Pickering that made our stay comfortable and perfect. Check in was fast and friendly. the rooms were good - especially the fact that its black out blinds so you can sleep soundly and the fact that its so quiet despite being right smack in chinatown is bliss! And everything seems close by from the hotel - Chinatown MRT, clarke and boat quay....everything!

The amazing service we received everywhere and esp at the Orchid Club and that gorgeous outfits was special.

A special thanks to Paru at concierge who waited on us so patiently with all our request and booking us for dinner into Kudeta! that was a spot on choice!

Thats what we say service with a smile! Try it!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Vas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gino-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Princess_Vas, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed a restful stay during your recent visit. Thank you so much for the wonderful review and in particular for highlighting Paru from our Concierge team. Other than being a visually stunning property, our brand promise is about connecting guests to the local experiences as a ‘’trusted local companion". I'm very proud of the team for delivering on that promise. It will be my pleasure to welcome you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future. Gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 315 in Singapore
7,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 315 in Singapore
1,051 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 315 in Singapore
2,229 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL on Pickering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL on Pickering

Property: PARKROYAL on Pickering
Address: 3 Upper Pickering Street, Singapore 058289, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#14 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#15 Family Hotel in Singapore
#24 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#25 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — PARKROYAL on Pickering 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARKROYAL on Pickering offers guests a luxury business hotel conveniently located at the gateway to Singapore’s central business district, near Raffles Place. Enjoy close proximity to key cultural, shopping and entertainment attractions. And take advantage of our spa, fitness centre, jogging path and pool – all conveniently located on the same floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PARKROYAL on Pickering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PARKROYAL On Pickering Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing