We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

1919 Waterboat House
Ranked #1,170 of 10,676 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$30 - US$70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Marina Bay
Description: 1919 Restaurant & The Rooftop Bar Located at the entrance to the Singapore River and adjacent to the Merlion Park the waterboathouse was built in 1919. Various historical items are displayed on tables and the walls as a connection to the history of the building and location. Entry to the restaurant is up the original staircase to the first floor, and on the rooftop directly above 1919, is the zsister establishment- The Rooftop. The Rooftop offers a more initimate perspective on the roofttop drinking experience. Located on the open air rooftop of the heritage listed The Fullerton Waterboat House, the prime harbourfront location presents unobstructed views across both the Singapore CBD skyline and the new developments around Marina Bay. The menu features contemporary interpretations of European dishes-using fresh seasonal ingredients. The Rooftop serves from a Drinks and Bar Bites menu, with the food being prepared in the kitchen of 1919 Waterboathouse Restaurant one floor below. Drinks offered include Signature Cocktails- muddled infusions of fresh tropical ingredients without artifical sugars such as "The Orhcard"- vodka, apricot, apple, cinnamon & lemon; and the "Merlion Punch" -vodka, passion fruit, white peach & pineapple. Other refreshing cocktail specialities include Cuban Mojitos- Classic, Berry Twisted, and Lychee. Premium spirits and a selection of NV and vintage champagnes are avaialble by the bottle, draught beers are Heineken and Erdinger, and a range of specialty beers are imported exclusively from Japanese artisan brewery Baird Brewing.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The place is well located but we were inside the restaurant so did not enjoy any special view. The food was fine but I cannot tell it was special. The service was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nguyen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kader_Maideen, Assistant Restaurant Manager at 1919 Waterboat House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Nguyen D

Thank you for sharing your dining experience with us and our service and culinary ambassadors have taken note of your honest feedback + compliments, which will serve to improve our standards for the future.

We are definitely looking forward to your patronage in the near future.

Have an enjoyable and blessed week ahead:)

Warmest Regards,
Mohamed Kader
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    46
    12
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Subtile ambiance on waterfront”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very pleasant atmosphere with music background and views of marina bay
Delicious cuisine
Good choice of fish but a bit limited for meat
Affordable wines
Attentive and convivial service
Best to park at Six Battery Road

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jet18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kader_Maideen, Assistant Restaurant Manager at 1919 Waterboat House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jet18

Thank you for sharing your dining experience with us and our service and culinary ambassadors have taken note of your honest feedback + compliments, which will serve to improve our standards for the future.

Also, we are very much appreciative of your recommendation for future patronage and look forward to serving you soon!:)

Warmest Regards,
Mohamed Kader
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great menu, excellent service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Thank you boathouse for the lovely meal you have provided for my wife and myself.
Love your lunch menu. Its very value-for-money and the steak was very very nicely prepared. Seldom do restaurant deliver medium-rare as good as this.
Would like to compliment Kader and team for your outstanding service in menu recommendation and the special birthday surprise.
Would certainly visit boathouse again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PingLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kader_Maideen, Assistant Restaurant Manager at 1919 Waterboat House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear PingLeong

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Boathouse. We are elated to read your beautifully articulated review and we are extremely delighted that we were able to make you happy. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our food and service. We are definitely looking forward to see you and your wife in the near future!:)

Have an enjoyable and blessed week ahead:)

Warmest Regards,
Mohamed Kader
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great service, Great ambience, Great location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Made a booking for 50pax for a company event. We had the 5 course set meal that was customized with the option of fish or steak. Despite the short preparation time for the food and to cater to a sizeable crowd, all the food came out hot and taste great. Scallops and foie gras were the key highlights of the meal.

The service team that night was fantastic handling our request promptly. The smile on their faces made the whole experience complete. Little steps were taken to ensure no stone unturned.

The icing on the cake was heading to their rooftop bar with a view of the Marina Bay area, having drinks there with great company made the night special.

Highly recommended, you must make a trip there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kader_Maideen, Assistant Restaurant Manager at 1919 Waterboat House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Gabriel500

Thank you for choosing Boathouse & Prelude as your preferred company corporate venue and we are certainly glad that you guys had an awesome time. Your positive feedback about the food and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

Also, we are very much appreciative of your recommendation for future patronage and look forward to serving you soon!:)

Warmest Regards,
Mohamed Kader
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Service & Amazing Food!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I made a reservation for 7 people on the 30th of May 2014 and arrived at the boathouse for a celebratory graduation dinner. I ordered their 3 course meal, consisting of the seafood soup, Steak and the chocolat desert. Their soup was tasty, their steak well marinated and their chocolat desert was amazing! They had the pop candy in it, you know the type you used to eat as a kid? My desert even came with a "happy graduation" in chocolate on the plate to congratulate me!

I absolutely loved the service and the food there. I will definitely come back! personalized service :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Callyooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kader_Maideen, Assistant Restaurant Manager at 1919 Waterboat House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Callyooo

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Boathouse. We are elated to read your beautifully articulated review and we are extremely delighted that we were able to make you happy. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our food and service. We are definitely looking forward to your patronage in the near future!:)

Have a great week ahead!

Warmest Regards,
Mohamed Kader
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Boathouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1919 Waterboat House also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to 1919 Waterboat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing