We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and service”
Review of Gap Year Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gap Year Hostel
Mataram, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good quality and service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The place is good,.near from MRT station and from food court.
The staffs are nice and smiles a lot but they need to be more informative to guest. The upstairs bathroom is a little messy. the bed itself is comfy and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardiansyah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    27
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The staff are friendly and helpful, good location close to the MRT, Wi fi is good I managed to download some books and movies. Free coffee all day. Breakfast, toast, peanut butter, Nutela and some mornings even cheese. Dorm is good value for money, each bed has a locker and a bed light. Private rooms not worth it, would rather book into a hotel if you want privacy (still use shared bathroom).

Room Tip: Stay in the big dorm, smaller dorm looks a bit cramped
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Campbell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

friendly staff, good location,great value for your money. It would have been excellent if not for the shared bathrooms, but for the price, you get what you pay for. Also, its very close to an MRT station and good food stalls nearby. A very pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilsan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I'm not sure how this place ranked so high....it was hot, cramped, they don't change the bedsheets after guests, not around much. If the only standard you have is no roaches and lukewarm shower then this is perfect....well the nutella was good and the mac computer

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelinghoosier5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gap_Year_Hostel, Owner at Gap Year Hostel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
hi,

thank you for your feedback.

we changed bedsheets after all our guests leave and the air conditioner remote is in the room itself so you can adjust the temperature yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Staff here are warm, welcoming and a pleasure to be with. The reception area is chilled with free wi-Fi, tv, music and a great range of books. Staff are helpful and offer a shot of vodka in the evening too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomoNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I was really wary of staying in a hostel as I had not done so before Gap Year Hostel but I was really pleasantly surprised. The couple working there were super friendly and gave us a bottle of water each on arrival.
My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room which was a good size. It was simple but adequate. The showers and toilets were communal but clean. There were washing up facilities too and good wifi provided.
Location: 2 minutes from Little India. It's not my kind of thing but was an interesting experience. It's a couple of mins from the local MRT and you can pick up cabs from outside the hostel.
On returning from an evening out, we were offered a complimentary alcoholic drink and chatted with the managers for quite a while. They had us so many tips for our stay in Singapore which we were very grateful for.
We were leaving early the next morning to catch a flight so the owners left a telephone and taxi numbers out for us to use to book a cab.
The hostel also provides free tea and coffee for guests.
Altogether, this was an excellent stay. I would stay here again if was going back to Singapore. Singapore accommodation is very pricey so I was very happy to find this gem!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm, it was tiny. Not enough space to have your backpack on the floor and step out of bed safely..
Shower and toilet in same room.
Very basic breakfast. Have to do your own dishes.
Towels are not provided so make sure to pack your own!

Positives:
Good wifi connection available in rooms.
Had reliable and working air con and fan in my room.
Had a safe for each person.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle-backpacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Pillow Talk Backpacker's Hostel
#132 of 227 in Singapore
116 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Shophouse
The Shophouse
#78 of 227 in Singapore
264 reviews
60's Hostel
#83 of 227 in Singapore
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mori Hostel
#99 of 227 in Singapore
141 reviews
Traveller@SG
#59 of 227 in Singapore
170 reviews
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#27 of 227 in Singapore
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap Year Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap Year Hostel

Property: Gap Year Hostel
Address: 322 Lavender Street, Singapore 338821, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gap Year Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO air-con curfew, less than 5 min walk from subway, Nutella and snacks, clean, friendly staff, near to amenities and places of interest Inspired, designed and managed by backpackers, Gap Year backpacker hostel is a brand new design hostel located in a premium location. Renovated from a pre-war 2-storey shophouse with impressive floor to ceiling height, our 2800 sq feet hostel provides an unique and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gap Year Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap Year Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing