We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Price, Good Ambience and Nice staff (Done by a Vegetarian)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aromas of India

Aromas of India
Ranked #208 of 10,496 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Little India
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent Price, Good Ambience and Nice staff (Done by a Vegetarian)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This review is done by a Vegetarian, hence we had no idea what the Non Negetarian food is like.
The place is nice and decent and was not so full when we visited even on a Friday 8pm dinner time. The crown already there was just everyday people and did not seems like tourists which we saw in race course road in other Curry Resturants.
Anyways we ordered Paneer Butter Masala (below average), Veg Jhalfrezi (below average) and both were with tomoato /onion gravy and Yellow Dal (decent). The bread we ordered were just ok. Overall food was not so spicy and not greasy, so people who do not want Paneer Butter Masala to e greasy maybe they can try out here :-)
Averag place with lovely Gulab Jamun (Dessert). The pricing of the resturant is very reasonable as well as meal for 2 costed us around $40 which is without Dessert and Drinks. So it should come to approx $30 per head

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tntdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AromasOfIndia, Manager at Aromas of India, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Sir ,

Thanks for choosing us for dinning and reviewing us . We have rightly noted down on your points and we will surely bring this up to our galley food . Its pleasing to know that you enjoyed our non-oily and less greasy food which is not very normal for Indian restaurant .

Our pricing is one of the cheapest for any fine dining restaurant in the lane as we wanted more people to enjoy our food without worrying much about their pocket .

Best Rgds
Management Aromas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    54
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
590 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great Food at Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Aromas of India - Superb Indian Food.

For some years I have been patronizing Kashmir Restaurant a few doors away and was surprised to find it had shut shop :(. Having arranged dinner with a colleague who was just about to arrive I hastily went up and down the strip of restaurants looking at menus and seating comfort. Decided on Aromas of India.

With hindsight I congratulate myself on the choice. Beautiful fresh smell in the restaurant. When we arrived it was not so busy n waiting staff were keen to help us with our selection. Had fish tika n chicken tika between two us. Fish was succulent - excellent and the chicken equally good. For mains we ordered masala eggs - don't always see eggs on menu so I was delighted to see it - tasted excellent to. We had lamb rogan josh and a veggie side dish. Service impeccable - excellent meal.

Good selection of wines and beer.

Prices quite reasonable!

Would return anytime - a great place.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AromasOfIndia, Manager at Aromas of India, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Nigel ,

Firstly thanks for choosing us for dinning , and you must congratulate yourself as you just discovered a hidden gem ( that’s what our patrons call us ) .
It’s always very pleasing to know if we are able to convince someone who has been patronizing other restaurant .

Our prices are very reasonable comparing the ambiance and service provided by us .

It will be good to see you again in our outlet .

Best Rgds
Management Aromas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
543 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I enjoyed everything about this restaurant--the quality of the food, options on the menu and service. Don't be thrown off if the restaurant is more than half empty. There are just so many options for Indian food in Little India, it must be hard to consistently generate a crowd. There were only two other tables full during my visit, but both parties were locals. Everything my table ordered for lunch was very good. The waiters were also good about giving recommendations about what dishes might suit our tastes. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AromasOfIndia, Manager at Aromas of India, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam ,

It is very pleasing to know that you enjoyed your meals and our service , which we always strive hard to keep high .

You rightly pointed out on the reason for less crowd but we actually deliver island wide and a lot of our customers prefer to get food delivered so that’s why we relative have lesser in house .

Hope to see you again soon so try some more our interesting dishes .

Best Rgds
Mangament Aromas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Almost empty on Sunday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Top 20 restaurant on TA, only 1 table occupied. Thought went into the wrong restaurant because the signboard has changed. Don't look like the old logo. Wonder how they sustain the business. Banana leaf next door is full packed.

Service was top notch. Food was average. Lamb kebab was great. The rest of the curry very mild. Loving fish curry. They do serve basmati rice here. No kick at all. Lots of the Indian restaurants in Asia don't use basmati rice.

Do serve wine and beer here. Fantastic! Had a bottle of Australian red. Packaging for Indonesian market.

Next table bought food from banana leaf next door consumed in the restaurant. Apparently is alright.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daymondyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AromasOfIndia, Manager at Aromas of India, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sir
Thanks for reviewing us , not sure which sign board are you mentioning about our all sing boards are in good order . Perhaps you might have mistaken it .

Great to know you noticed about our service which is very rare to see in Singapore . Usually we don’t restrict people from bringing in outside food we are very flexible with our customers , we wanted to treat them like a family and wanted to feel warm .

Best Rgds
Management Aromas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful food with smiling service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I went to this place after seeing so many positive reviews and it really stood upto the expectation. We ordered vegetarian food and it was really tasty and hot. Other than that the person who was serving had smile on his face and made us feel at home. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Prateek_Vashistha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AromasOfIndia, Manager at Aromas of India, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good Day Sir ,

A big thanks to TripAdvisor and all the reviewers who took out their valuable time to review us and this eventually came into great help for you , We liked you subject “Wonderful food with smiling service” this is something we are striving hard to achieve and there are very few restaurant in Singapore who provide this .

Thanks once again for your review .

Best Rgds
Management Aromas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aromas of India also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Aromas of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing