We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“tropical forest walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacRitchie Nature Trail

MacRitchie Nature Trail
Ranked #15 of 787 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A short trip from the city center lies the serenity of MacRitchie Reservoir, part of Singapore’s water catchment system that captures rain water to help supply the island’s growing population. Trails surround the park, which has an upgraded visitor’s center featuring a café, restrooms and information station. The best views are from the TreeTop Walk, a 250-meter suspension bridge across the rainforest canopy, which can be accessed along the seven-kilometer Venus Loop. Wear hiking shoes and bring water.
around the world
Level Contributor
215 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“tropical forest walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

for forest junkies, it's one of the places where you can still hear the cricket's sound of a tropical island

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice_the_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    471
    60
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“great to get back to nature from the hustle of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My 12yo son and i headed to this park to check out a different side of singapore and walked the macritchie trail, which took us about 5 hours (we are not athletes...LOL). The trail was well signed, mostly dirt/rocky track with some boardwalk areas and some great opportunities to enjoy the rainforest type landscape, wild monkeys, lots of lizards and squirrels as well as the actual reservior. It is a pretty strenous track in some places, compounded by singapore's hot and humid weather. Take plenty of water, we only came across one spot during the 12km walk where we could refill our bottles. Avoid taking food as the monkeys will be attracted to you/the food. This was great spot for the day!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice place for a jog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Meet my Singaporeans friends for a morning jog on Sunday. The air was fresh, and this beats the treadmill at any time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RKJ_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
247 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene running trails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I go running and am always pleasantly surprised with the flora and fauna and not to mention Animals I see on the various trails. Something very peaceful running admits trees and water bodies. Great way to unwind in the evening

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful nature in a crowded city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The McRitchie trail and tree top walk are an oasis of nature and tranquility with a hectic city.
Walking the trail you find yourself walking in what feels like actual jungle, beautiful plants and trees, monkeys, monitor Lizards, turtles, birds everything is there!
Also accessible for a short walk but if you have the time to spare walk the complete trail around the reservoir including the TreeTop Walk and Jelutong Tower, it´s about 15km total.
Don´t forget to take enough water, your camera and dress light especially if you are accustomed to the warm Singapore weather like me. ;-)

One of the most beautiful walks I made until now!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacRitchie Nature Trail also viewed

 

Been to MacRitchie Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing