We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great quick getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Daulat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Daulat Hotel
Ranked #149 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great quick getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed at The Daulat 3 times and found it wonderful every time . We stayed in the superior room twice and once in the Deluxe Balcony. Checking in was smooth and we were personally shown to our rooms. The rooms were clean, the beds were super comfy and the rain showers were fantastic. The free flow of soft drinks was a bonus. We have yet to sample the breakfast ( reluctant to leave the bed ). The noise from the club was audible but it's nothing compared to 3 bickering kids at home. Food and shops are very accessible as the location is near Tekka market and Mustafa Centre is about 10 mins walk away. The staff were warm and friendly and a special mention must go to Mr Amin who always makes you feel welcomed. Overall a very classy place and worth the amount you pay for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank josephx01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    80
    23
    8
    12
See reviews for
13
115
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a pity this cute well run boutique hotel has a loud bass thumping nightclub next door that thumps away until after 4a.m. Add this to paper thin internal walls & a good nights sleep is not guaranteed. Our superior room was tiny, not recommended for more than one person, we had to turn sideways to squeeze past each other in the narrow corridor that constitutes the room, you are either on the bed which is alcoved between 3 walls necessitating climbing over your partner to exit, or in the tiny bathroom, no other space exists, however the room was nicely appointed & care had been taken to make it comfortable, fine for one occupant. We really enjoyed the small lap pool & outside area, which although small was a great place to relax & the breakfast was basic but adequate, the staff were friendly & helpful, however the owner needs to address the noise issue from next door, even earplugs didn't help as the bass was so loud at 4a.m. that the bed was vibrating. After complaining on the first morning we were told we could pay to upgrade to a ground floor room which was less noisy, not good enough as we considered the price a little on the expensive side to begin with. A nice place spoilt by noise issues.

Room Tip: We were on second floor room 204, apparently ground floor rooms are larger, quieter, but more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Overnight in Singapore...24hours. The Daulat was the perfect boutique hotel away from Orchid Road and the Quay.
Great for the female traveler traveling on her own. Great rooms and facilities.Close to train station and areas of interest.
$9 (Singapore) shuttle bus from the airport dropped me off at the hotel door close to midnight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Burbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at The Daulat - not really sure what I would get, except a place under $200/night in Little India. I must say that I was thrilled. A great breakfast (included), Free WiFi, Air-conditioning that worked (and not limited to a minimum of 22C), cupboard space, drawers, a large Flat-Screen TV, friendly and helpful staff (all of them). The list of positives just goes on and on. Negatives? - they could have had an English movie channel on the TV. However, there were Sports channels, News channels, general entertainment channels as well as Russian, German and Asian TV channels. We were worried that the rooms might be a little small but after settling in, the room was great. Yes, yes, the room can always be larger, the TV bigger, the amenities better. But then, if you don't want to pay more than $400/night, this is as good as it gets. Free soft drinks and water was a bonus. Oh, and being able to have a shower on the day of our check-out at 5pm (yes 5pm) was the final flower in the bunch. If you want to stay in an area that is full of life and character, stay in Little India and if you want quality at an affordable price in Little India, stay at The Daulat.

Room Tip: Stay in the Loft Room - worth the extra money but still under $200/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilla_Gorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A lovely small hotel. The room are small, that is very true but they are well designed with the facilities you expect in a hotel and a very comfortable bed. The included breakfast was good, the omlettes were delicious. Staff were very helpful. Little India is quite a contrast to other parts of Singapore with its narrow crowded streets and stalls. We loved the food in this part of the city too! We used the MTR to get around - the Little India station is only 5 minutes from the hotel and on arrival from Malacca, we were surprised that we were able to walk to the hotel from the Queens Rd bus terminal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie991181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HONG KONG
Level Contributor
1,323 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had a nice stay. Daulat is situated in Little India, it's 5 mins walk to the closest Little India MRT station. It's 3 mins walk to the Tekka market where I had most of my meals. The Daulat staff are nice and friendly. Inside the hotel, there is strong, free WIFI and a nice swimming pool on the second floor. I would definitely go back to Daulat if I will travel to Singapore. Last but not least, Daulat provides free breakfast, I really like it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Service was impeccable and the staff were all extremely pleasant. The rooms were also amazingly decorated with attention to detail and most importantly, the place was really clean. The complimentary mini-bar was also a very nice touch.
If I had to nitpick, the only fault I could find was that the room was a little on the small side (We stayed at the loft room). This wasn't much of a downside for me because I found it really cosy! I also appreciated how the room was designed to maximize the limited space.
All in all, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donkeyphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#95 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#126 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#154 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sultan
#176 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Hotel Kai
#121 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
#148 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daulat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daulat Hotel

Property: The Daulat Hotel
Address: 16 Madras Street The Daulat, Singapore 208413, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#74 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Daulat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors for the first time, The Daulat is a boutique hotel, which caters to both business and leisure travelers with an amalgamation of modern contemporary design and a rich architectural history. With an emblematic interior design across all its 16 rooms, it aspires to accommodate our guests with a unique experience during their stay. The Daulat is located less than 500 meters from Little India MRT station and resides in the heart of Singapore’s foremost Indian enclave. Little India is one of the most vivid, colorful places with an agglomeration of flower vendors, spice stores and Indian fashion wears. Little India historically was part of the Chulia Kampong area. In the initial plans of Singapore by Raffles which, was originally a division of colonial Singapore where Indian immigrants would reside under the British policy of ethnic segregation. The district eventually flourished and evolved to become, what is now known as Little India. Under the British colonial rule the architecture of the buildings then were symbolic of the British influence. The buildings were characteristically known as shophouses. Retailers ran their business from the first floor and their living quarters was the floors above the shop. These designs of the shophouses in Little India range from the Early 1840 to 1900.The fusion of a rich historical installation with modern contemporary facilities and design is what The Daulat cites as general theme for their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Daulat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daulat Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing